1. Android150

    OP Android150 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Saint Helena
    Hi guys so i think I've really messed up.
    i'm no CFW expert but i love to experiment. I've been running GM9 and Luma for a while (about 6 months) on my old 3ds. Now for some reason the 3ds boot is going crazy. if i pres the power button it goes to the GM9 menu - except that if i press any buttons it just cycles through the menus and i cannot input anything - sometimes the back-light goes and i cannot even see what i'm doing - the only command that work is R+START to shut it down.

    I tries the L+R+Dpad UP+A to start into recovery mode and that booted it to the home screen but then if i try and open anything it crashes back to GM9 and the screen cycling continues.

    I have a horrible feeling that the system updated recently - maybe thats messed up something in GM9 or LUMA?

    thanks in advance for any advice you can give
     
  2. KleinesSinchen

    KleinesSinchen GBAtemp's Backup Reminder + Fearless Testing Sina
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    2,013
    Country:
    Germany
    What happens booting:
    • without SD?
    • with a FAT32 formatted SD containing Luma3DS (boot.firm) and nothing else?
    Updates with B9S/Luma are safe (and the known crashing problem with the recent update is easily solved by updating Luma).
     
    fmkid likes this.
  3. Android150

    OP Android150 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Saint Helena
    So without the SD i get the same issue, but with an SD with just Boot.frim on it, it boots to Luma3DS configuration - however the system is unresponsive and is not accepting any input.
     
  4. KleinesSinchen

    KleinesSinchen GBAtemp's Backup Reminder + Fearless Testing Sina
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    2,013
    Country:
    Germany
    Provide a SD:/luma/config.bin (assuming you're using the latest version of Luma):
    https://3ds.eiphax.tech/config.html
    to bypass settings.
    =========

    Normally I would say not reacting to buttons is permanent touch input (dirt, badly arranged screen protector, defective touch panel)… but that only applies to Home Menu and not Luma settings or GodMode9.

    No idea then. Sorry. Maybe somebody else knows.
    ==========

    If the system boots to GodMode9 without holding (Start) and without SD this can have some reasons:
    • Installed FastBoot3DS and configured it like that
    • Installed GodMode9 in FIRM0
    • boot.firm on CTRNAND is not Luma but GodMode9
     
  5. lone_wolf323

    lone_wolf323 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3,843
    Country:
    Canada
    Porbably ask about what kind of experiments they like to do to their 3ds consoles and if they got a fully clean cfw nand of before it all happened.
     
  6. Android150

    OP Android150 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Saint Helena
    So i did this:

    - get latest luma (v10.2.1, boot.firm - your SD card if it isn't already there
    - get config.bin and place it in /luma/, replacing the old one if it exists - try to boot

    it booted fine, went into the TWiLight menu++ - it loaded with a weirdly small screen - so i quit out to home and it went back to the Home menu - i did a reboot to test and its booting (slowly) bak to home so i think the main issue is fixed. now justy gotta work out why some software isnt working properly (for example FBI launcher wont boot and the TWiLight menu++ has the screen thing)
     
    KleinesSinchen likes this.
  7. KleinesSinchen

    KleinesSinchen GBAtemp's Backup Reminder + Fearless Testing Sina
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    2,013
    Country:
    Germany
    Sounds like permanent input on (Start) and/or (Select) ––– most likely (Start):
    • Explains why loading GodMode9 without pressing (Start)
    • Explains the small picture for DS software (holding one of the two (Start), (Select) will load DS software pixel perfect which means smaller picture)
    • I can't do anything on Luma settings while holding both buttons (releasing them boots normally)
    • Edit: FBI does a silent exit when (Start) is pressed (FBI splash → Home Menu)
     
    Last edited by KleinesSinchen, Dec 5, 2020
    fmkid likes this.
  8. Android150

    OP Android150 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Saint Helena
    Amazing and thanks for all the help :) - at least i know what to try and fix now - i assume its a take the console apart job to fix?
    EDIT: i have used some testing software and it does show the START button is permanently pressed
     
    Last edited by Android150, Dec 5, 2020
    fmkid likes this.
  9. TurdPooCharger

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    7,292
    Country:
    United States
    Disassemble the o3DS, clean the underside of the (START) button, rubber pad, and switch with 70% isopropyl rubbing alcohol and q-tip.
    If required, replace worn parts.
     
  10. Android150

    OP Android150 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Saint Helena
    Thanks for all the help everyone - fixed the start button and the 3DS is running again as normal. :) :)
     
  11. dwain12435

    dwain12435 GBAtemp's EarthBound Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2020
    Messages:
    295
    Country:
    United States
    If you install GodMode9 to FIRM0, it defaults to bootloader mode and the system will boot normally.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - GodMode9, cannnot, crazy