Gigabit Device Mixed with 100Mbps connection

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware, Devices and Accessories' started by LockeCole_101629, Jan 20, 2013.

  1. LockeCole_101629
    OP

    Member LockeCole_101629 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    276
    Country:
    New Zealand
    So is it work individually for each port on switch?
    or switch/router with Gigabit connection will automatically slowing down following the lowest speed like it use to be with 10mbps connection over 100mbps Switch?

    My modem port is 100mbps
     
  2. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    Well, for me I have a RT-N16 router. My main PC uses Cat6a which gets Gigabit ethernet. My other two computers use Cat5e and get 100 Mbps instead.

    I think it is individually.
     
  3. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,745
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Question 1) Is it a piece of consumer hardware? If yes then all bets are off as to what happens when you get close to a saturated connection (read I will be shocked it if can handle more than about 70% of max throughput for any length of time).

    Theoretically though most modern routers should use all ports at the highest speeds possible for the combination of ports on the router and ports on the machine it is going to.
     
  4. LockeCole_101629
    OP

    Member LockeCole_101629 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    276
    Country:
    New Zealand
    I think it is consumer hardware
    at least I'm expecting better transfer rate than regular 100mbps speed.

    RT-N16 is what I had in mind.
    Otherwise I'll either pick RT-N12 or TPlink MR3420
    I just need 1 port tough for my Fileserver, since I move all my pc document into it & create network drive and stream from it instead, actually it's been done since 2007 with regular 100mbps connection and it was fine, mainly because the other device is connected with wireless.
     
  5. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    Get RT-N16 and optionally flash it with TomatoUSB (Toastman build).

    Make sure to use shielded Cat6 or Cat6a Ethernet cable. A lot of people will tell you that Cat5e is enough, but it is not. See Cat5e specification calls for Gigabit Ethernet but final certification that a lot of Cat5e cable went through does not test for Gigabit ethernet. Hence a lot of Cat5e cable fail at Gigabit speed.
     

Share This Page