Getting an upgrade

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Sao Mortel, Dec 21, 2009.

Dec 21, 2009

Getting an upgrade by Sao Mortel at 9:02 PM (1,021 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. Sao Mortel
    OP

    Member Sao Mortel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    533
    Location:
    Montreal
    Country:
    Canada
    Ill be upgrading my computer in the next couple of days and I need to know what I can buy.
    I have a Dell dimension c521 with AMD sempron 3400+ at 1.8ghz

    Now, I want 2 to 4 gb of ram and I have 2x 512 mb of DDR2 PC2 5300U clocked at 667 mhz

    And I want 1 to 1.5 TB hard drive from what looks like sata2 (see picture below)

    http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_MqsO6LnFgHU/Sy_h...-h/100_5378.JPG

    http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_MqsO6LnFgHU/Sy_h...-h/100_5379.JPG

    Ill be buying from tigerdirect.ca (probably)
    tell me please what I can buy ask if you need more info
     
  2. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    To start with it'll be a waste getting 4gb of ram as you are running a 32bit OS. I would recommend something in the region of 3gb as max. Windows just won't be able to access the entire 4gb, unless you use a 64bit OS.

    The hard drive does indeed look like a sata. More then likely sata 1. Sata 2 drives are backward comaptble, so not much to worry about.

    Not much of a choice when it comes to older type ram from tigerdirect. It also seems very expensive... This is what I got.

    As for a hard drive. Maybe something like this. From what i read of your desktop's case, it is very limited in the bay area. It can store just one hard drive and a card reader. You'd have to remove the card reader to store another drive.
     
  3. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,805
    Country:
    Antarctica
  4. Sao Mortel
    OP

    Member Sao Mortel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    533
    Location:
    Montreal
    Country:
    Canada
    Exactly the kind of info I needed thanks a mountain.
    Ill be just ditching the other HD so this is perfect.

    Now I want to know about ram can I use 5400? Is it better if I just change for a new set or should I keep the 1 gb I got (2 slots left) Thanks again

    BTW newegg is great ill be checking it out
     
  5. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    I believe the max your board supports is 5300 type ram. Personally I would keep the 2 sticks you already have (assuming they are 512MB each) , and just get two other 512MB sticks of ram to fill up the two other slots. Try and get the same spec ram. It shouldn't matter if it's from a different manufacturer once they are similar.
     
  6. Sao Mortel
    OP

    Member Sao Mortel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    533
    Location:
    Montreal
    Country:
    Canada
    great stuff thanks Edhel ! I am sure you are right.
     
  7. Sao Mortel
    OP

    Member Sao Mortel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    533
    Location:
    Montreal
    Country:
    Canada
    I googled my ram this is what i got
    Micron MT8HTF6464AY-667 512MB PC2-5300 DDR2 SDRAM Non-ECC 240 pin 1.8V 667MHz Unbuffered DIMM Memory
    now theres no mention of dual-channel
    still not sure what to get here
    http://www.newegg.ca/Product/ProductList.a...ion=PC5300+DDR2

    id like 2x1gb to have 3gb is that possible or good
     
  8. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
  9. Sao Mortel
    OP

    Member Sao Mortel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    533
    Location:
    Montreal
    Country:
    Canada
    I got my ram today It runs really well I got the PNY brand. Great stuff. Newegg suck because they only ship with UPS and UPS sucks. Oh well I am happy now
     
  10. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    Good to hear it's working fine. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page