1. sks316

    sks316 Pokémon XD: Gale of Darkness remaster activist
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,771
    Country:
    United States
    I'd definitely buy a Tempy plush.
     
  2. smileyhead

    smileyhead This is definitely not a robotic component!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    4,300
    Country:
    Hungary
    Mods, make this a thing.
     
    shaunj66 and sks316 like this.
  3. Lia

    Lia C Dev and Guide Writer
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,996
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just something, when someone also comments on a status, it's missing a space;
    "Useralso commented on your status"
     
  4. Yepi69

    Yepi69 Jill-sandwiched
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,854
    Country:
    Portugal
    After switching to Tempstyle 2 dark it automatically asked me to allow notifications.
     
  5. SirNapkin1334

    SirNapkin1334 Renound Aritst
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2017
    Messages:
    1,665
    Country:
    United States
    Some of the messages are far too vague, like "[user] made a new post." Rather than "[user] replied to the thread [thread]." It makes it hard to tell where it's even from.
    EDIT: Or, when sks just liked this post, it just said, "sks136 liked your post!" instead of "sks316 liked your post in the thread GBAtemp Push Notifications now enabled!"
     
    Last edited by SirNapkin1334, Feb 23, 2018
    Localhorst86 and sks316 like this.
  6. Localhorst86

    Localhorst86 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    2,343
    Country:
    Germany
    Since tapatalk push notifications for gbatemp.net have stopped working a while ago I wanted to test these notifications. However, I am not able to find the settings in Firefox for Android. The site won't ask me for permission to send notifications and there are no settings available in the site settings. Anyone got an idea?

    Edit: well, it looks like that's by design on Firefox for Android. You can only enable the setting via the popup from the site, there seems to be no way to enable this manually. So once you answered the dialogue box with "No" you're not able to enable push notifications, ever.
     
    Last edited by Localhorst86, Feb 25, 2018
  7. SirNapkin1334

    SirNapkin1334 Renound Aritst
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2017
    Messages:
    1,665
    Country:
    United States
    upload_2018-3-12_8-35-32.png
    It bugged out and forgot the space. Also, it wasn't my status. It was his status which I commented on which he then commented on (I had asked a question and he replied)
     
  8. Dionicio3

    Dionicio3 The Skiddo
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Messages:
    3,772
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I got this a few times too, I got really confused on how someone I wasn't following commented on my status
     
    SirNapkin1334 likes this.
  9. VinsCool

    VinsCool Persona Secretiva Felineus
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    13,843
    Country:
    Canada
    I noticed that the Status and Profile Post strings in this feature may be inverted.
    Consistently, my own status updates are shown as "Profile Post" and any profile post I make on someone's profile will show as "Status"
     
    SirNapkin1334 likes this.
  10. zacchi4k

    zacchi4k GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,378
    Country:
    Italy
    Uhm, is there a way to reprompt the dialog asking if you want notifications? I think I accidentally dismissed jt
     
  11. smileyhead

    smileyhead This is definitely not a robotic component!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    4,300
    Country:
    Hungary
    You should be able to enable it manually from your browser settings or the lock (or i icon) in the URL bar.
     
  12. zacchi4k

    zacchi4k GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,378
    Country:
    Italy
    It is enabled, but I don't get jotificatinot. I'm not referring to Chrome's dialog, I'm referring to GBATemp's one
     
  13. smileyhead

    smileyhead This is definitely not a robotic component!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    4,300
    Country:
    Hungary
    AFAIK Temp's dialogue just triggers the browser dialogue. It should work if you've enabled them in your browser.
    Try closing and re-opening the window.
     
  14. zacchi4k

    zacchi4k GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,378
    Country:
    Italy
    I've also eebootrd my phone
     
  15. zacchi4k

    zacchi4k GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,378
    Country:
    Italy
    So I've tried clearing the website's data, and after logging back in, GBATemp's dialog showed, but after allowing that, Chrome didn't ask anything :glare:
     
  16. jt_1258

    jt_1258 Stuck
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2016
    Messages:
    2,701
    Country:
    United States
    Well I did finally figure out why notifications won't work. You have to have tempstyle 2 light/dark enabled to get the option. It also has remain enabled or it will stop sending notifications. Talk about one hell of a way to enforce getting a feature even if it doesn't change the previous temp style. Though I honestly don't care for how it says "so & so posted a new message" rather than "there was a reply on so & so thread/blog/profile post"
     
    SirNapkin1334 likes this.
  17. ry755

    ry755 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Messages:
    532
    Country:
    United States
    I'm trying to enable push notifications on my phone, but there's no option in the Site Settings, and I've tried clearing the cache and cookies. I also can't seem to find any options relating to push notifications in Alert Preferences. Am I missing something here?

    [​IMG]
     
  18. smileyhead

    smileyhead This is definitely not a robotic component!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    4,300
    Country:
    Hungary
    Weird. As far as I can tell, the prompt is the only thing that triggers the permission. If it doesn't appear, neither will the option to toggle the permission on/off.
    Seems pretty flawed imo. There should be a permanent button somewhere (like in Alert Preferences) that triggers the permission. We shouldn't rely on a message that might or might not appear; just like it didn't appear for you.

    @shaunj66
     
    ry755 likes this.
  19. Minox

    Minox Thanks for the fish
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    6,702
    Country:
    Japan
    Are you sure that you actually cleared all site preferences and cookies when you cleared browser data? Because my experience has been that after clearing all browser data and logging in again I always get asked whether or not I'd like to enable push notifications.
     
  20. ry755

    ry755 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Messages:
    532
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, I cleared everything except saved passwords and autofill form data.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - notifications, Feedback, GBAtemp