gba with m3 and expansion

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by teH XeRO, May 23, 2009.

May 23, 2009

gba with m3 and expansion by teH XeRO at 3:26 AM (991 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. teH XeRO
    OP

    Member teH XeRO GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    316
    Country:
    United States
    i noticed when i play gba roms with my m3 real/expansion (running original sakura hacked english firmware -- i know i've been too lazy to update haha) a lot of times the gba game will get scratchy sounding audio and the game freezes in the middle of playing. the m3 seems to detect the expansion fine at startup with no errors as sakura is booting, my question is this, does anyone know if this is normal (maybe gba compatability works much better with newer sakura?) or do you think there is something wrong with the expansion pack? any feedback would be appreciated. this does not happen when loading nds games.
     
  2. justinefremlouw

    Member justinefremlouw GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    254
    Location:
    Chi Town
    Country:
    United States
    well, why don't you update to the latest firmware and find out? seeing that there's really no reason for you not to update anyways
     
  3. revoman

    Newcomer revoman Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    You will never know.....
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    gba games work well in sakura so as justin said you should update and try. Let us know if it still has problems
     
  4. teH XeRO
    OP

    Member teH XeRO GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    316
    Country:
    United States
    so i finally got around to updating the firmware and played wade hixtons counter punch for like an hour and it didnt happen (happened while playing that game the last time when i had original hacked eng. sakura). so far seems to be good, it just bothered me cus i didnt remember it ever giving me a problem but then again maybe i didnt play gba all that often to know it was an issue. i was just afraid something was wrong with my expansion pack. if i get any further problems i will post here. thanks for the responses.
     
  5. aphirst

    Member aphirst "Aren't girls with pee-pees just men?"

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Location:
    Augsburg
    Country:
    Germany
    I can duplicate this if I remove, or excessively apply pressure to the GBA expansion while playing. Check that the expansion is fully, and firmly, in your DS (and that the PCB is aligned in the expansion's case). Oh, and ensuring that the contacts are clean would do a world of good. [​IMG]
     
  6. teH XeRO
    OP

    Member teH XeRO GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    316
    Country:
    United States
    thanks for the advice. i checked the pcb alignment and snugness in the slot. also cleaned the contacts today; so far so good since updating the firmware as well..thanks for the responses. im just glad that so far it doesnt seem as tho there is anything wrong hardware-wise with my expansion pack.
     

Share This Page