1. jimtastico

    OP jimtastico Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Hi,

    I recently picked up a Gateway and have followed the installation instructions, but I'm missing something and am wondering if someone could please help and answer me a couple of questions?

    I followed the guide at SCMods to install and update the red card. At this point, if I pressed select, I could see the multirom menu. Then I went through the EmuNAND setup.

    Now, when I start my 3DS, my FW is shown as GW3D 10.3.0-28E. But if I press select from the home menu, nothing happens (and there's no Gateway branding within the menu, which I think I saw before I installed EmuNAND). I also tried launching Gateway Mode from the browser, but again, nothing happens when I press select.

    Silly question, but when this installation is completely, presumably you can access the multirom menu without having to open Gateway Mode from the web browser every time you boot?

    Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thank you.
     
    Last edited by jimtastico, Dec 20, 2015
  2. Just3DS

    Just3DS GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2015
    Messages:
    440
    Country:
    Put latest launcher.dat file from GW site to your console SD card.

    By the way as soon as you going to exit from Settings app it will reboot back to sysNAND (I assume you know that already)
     
    Last edited by Just3DS, Dec 20, 2015
  3. Heran Bago

    Heran Bago Where do puyo come from?
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,096
    Country:
    United States
    Make sure your sysnand menu and gateway menu look different (theme, icon layout). When you go into system settings at all and exit, it exits to sysnand menu. Make sure roms or .3ds homebrew are on the gateway card.
     
  4. Hayleia

    Hayleia GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,485
    Country:
    France
    No, you have to go through that menu every single time (through web browser or MSET, whatever as long as you get in that GW mode). And yeah, as others said, if you went to Settings and went back, you're no longer on GW mode so you have to get into GW mode again.

    Or if you want your 3DS to be in emuNAND at boot, use a CFW. The only downside (which some people don't see as a downside) is that it only supports .cia files and not .3ds/.3dz ones.
     
  5. jimtastico

    OP jimtastico Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Thanks guys.

    I just cracked it - I was using GW 3.4.1 and just needed to upgrade to 3.5.1 beta. Apparently there was a bug with launching multirom from the latest EmuNAND in 3.4.1 :)

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Ultimately, I want to make this as straightforward as possible for a kid - if I install MSET, will that boot the 3DS straight into Gateway mode (or make it easier than accessing the web browser every time?)
     
  6. Hayleia

    Hayleia GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,485
    Country:
    France
    There is currently no way to have GW work at boot. MSET is currently the best way since it allows you to just go to GW mode by navigating in some menus in your 3DS without an internet connection.

    But if what you want is something that works just by booting the 3DS, as I said you can use a CFW. Once it's installed, just turn the 3DS on and it's on emuNAND. Not only this is easier but it also prevents kids from updating sysNAND (since they are never in sysNAND).
     
    Last edited by Hayleia, Dec 20, 2015 - Reason: possible misunderstanding with the word "better", replaced with "currently the best way"
  7. jimtastico

    OP jimtastico Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Got ya - thanks Hayleia :)
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - questions, Gateway, please