Gameshark Karabiner not working.

Discussion in 'GBA - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by Schlupi, Mar 14, 2011.

Mar 14, 2011
  1. Schlupi
    OP

    Member Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniac™

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Location:
    Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
    Country:
    United States
    SO I got a Gameshark Karabiner Cheat device for the GBA, and it won't work on any GBA. I tried the SP, Advance, and Micro no luck.

    Is it a contact issue? or does it need cleaning? I cleaned out the to-GBA contacts and the Nintendo logo show up, but then it white screens.

    It is strange, because if I turn the cheat switch off, the game starts normally and plays perfectly. but the cheat menu won't show up.


    Any way to fix this? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
     
  2. TwinRetro

    Global Moderator TwinRetro Don't start nothin', Won't be nothin'

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,181
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Country:
    United States
    My suggestion is to take it back to wherever you got it from.
     
  3. Schlupi
    OP

    Member Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniac™

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Location:
    Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
    Country:
    United States
    I WOULD, but I got it for a buck brand new so I don't care if I loose out anyways.

    I would just PREFER if it would work. [​IMG]

    Great suggestion though, don't get me wrong lol.
     
  4. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    Do you have a picture of it?
    Just curious as to what it looks like — it might be the same one as I got.

    I checked on Google already, but nothing that specifically mentionned "Gameshark Karabiner" except this thread, so I just want to be sure.
     
  5. Schlupi
    OP

    Member Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniac™

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Location:
    Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
    Country:
    United States
  6. Genowing

    Newcomer Genowing Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    CA
    Country:
    United States
    I have one of those myself. Don't have that problem, but I never tried to use it on my DS
     
  7. Schlupi
    OP

    Member Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniac™

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Location:
    Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
    Country:
    United States
    Huh. I know these 3rd party Gamesharks SUCK and have issues over time, but I wanted to know if anybody had any info or experience fixing these.

    I fixed an Action replay once before by readjusting the chip so the contacts would touch properly, but I can't seem to adjust this one, it is pretty flush.

    EDIT: Found somebody with the same problem through google.

    http://www.ihav.net/vb/games/how-can-i-get...me-1292167.html


    Nobody helped him, though.
     
  8. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    I have that too, except mine is white.

    I personally think it's awesome — it uses Codebreaker cheats BTW.
    Even now after all those years (Must have been at least 4-5 years since I got it) it still works perfectly.
    The only problems I've had with it is that nobody made ticket activator codes for FR/LG/E.

    The Gameshark menu isn't supposed to show up if the switch is turned off.

    When you say "to-GBA contacts", you mean the contacts that go into the GBA itself, or the contacts that connect to the game pak?
     
  9. CompC

    Member CompC GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    344
    Country:
    United States
    I used to have one of these, like FOREVER ago. It never worked. I bought an Action Replay and that worked fine.
     
  10. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    Funny you must say that, because the instant I got my hands on an Action Replay, I could never get it to work while my Gameshark worked perfectly.
     
  11. Schlupi
    OP

    Member Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniac™

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Location:
    Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, I mean the contacts to the GBA, not the game pak contacts.

    And I know it is not supposed to show up when Off, I was just saying that it DOES boot the game (meaning game pak contacts are working) but it won't load the cheat menu when On.
     

Share This Page