Frogger DS

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by .:Crimonite:., Aug 1, 2009.

Aug 1, 2009

Frogger DS by .:Crimonite:. at 5:19 AM (1,672 Views / 0 Likes) 20 replies

  1. .:Crimonite:.
    OP

    Member .:Crimonite:. GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    153
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Country:
    Australia
    I've been searching around for a Frogger DS. I know there are official releases (i.e, Frogger: Helmet Chaos) but i really just want the arcade classic. Considering i don't have the slightest clue about how to make DS homebrews, i was wondering if anyone that does know how to make them could possibly give it a try?

    Cheers,
    .:Crimonite:.


    EDIT: Well, after all the help I recieved i finally managed to get frogger on my DS =)

    If you want it too, go to the following sites.

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?download=6115 (Lameboy DS v0.12, the Emulator you will need on your DS)

    (Soz, if you want the roms you'll have to find them yourselves. I'm not condoning downloading roms, i'm just saying if you want them i can't stop you.)
     


  2. ChuckMcB

    Member ChuckMcB GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    373
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How about looking for a DS Emulator that can run it? What system did frogger run on?

    A quick Google seems to think thjat MAME is the way to go try MarcaDS
     
  3. Pliskron

    Banned Pliskron Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,276
    Country:
    United States
    That game's not on marca. I've played the mame version on my GP2X. I suppose that doesn't help you though.
     
  4. ChuckMcB

    Member ChuckMcB GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    373
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Makes it seem that it is.
     
  5. VatoLoco

    Member VatoLoco Don't crush that dwarf, hand me the pliers.

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,261
    Location:
    Ya Cant Get There From Here
    Country:
    United States
    I Just checked it out, and yes, frogger does run on MarcaDS with sound (im playing it right now=P)
     
  6. ChuckMcB

    Member ChuckMcB GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    373
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for confirming.
     
  7. .:Crimonite:.
    OP

    Member .:Crimonite:. GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    153
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Country:
    Australia
    Ok, well, i'll give that a try then. Post back soon with the results =)
     
  8. .:Crimonite:.
    OP

    Member .:Crimonite:. GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    153
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Country:
    Australia
    Ok, well, i got MarcaDS, and as far as I know, its working fine. I also downloaded 'frogger.zip', but all thats in the file is a bunch of random files. the following all start with 'frogger' and the extensions are '.26, .27, .606, .607, .608, .609 and .610' there is also a 'frsm3.7' file and a 'pr-91.6l' file. what do i do with all these?
     
  9. ChuckMcB

    Member ChuckMcB GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    373
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As per these MarcaDS instructions, just copy the .zip file (do not use compression on the .zip file) to your card, run MarcaDS and browse to the .zip of the game you want to play.
     
  10. djshok

    Newcomer djshok Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    There is also a version of Frogger for the Sega Game Gear.

    You can get a very good Game Gear emulator called Apprentice Minus DS, made by the same guy that made jEnesisDS. It comes bundled in the .zip file with jEnesisDS, whcih you can get from his site here: http://www.workingdesign.de/projects/jenesisds.php

    It's a fantastic emulator, as far as I've tried it it's had 100% compatibility with Game Gear games.
     
  11. Hadrian

    Former Staff Hadrian Better than Craigslist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,978
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Frogger 1 & 2 for the GBC were actually very good (Frogger 2 especially) so get an GBC emulator.
     
  12. Overlord Nadrian

    Banned Overlord Nadrian Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,671
    Location:
    Riviera
    Country:
    Belgium
    [​IMG] I always thought I downloaded the wrong files when I unzipped those arcade games. (Didn't read the MarcaDS instructions cause of a lack of time...) Thanks for the info guys! [​IMG]
     
  13. DrOctapu

    Member DrOctapu Magnificent Bastard

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,207
    Location:
    Hell.
    Country:
    United States
    I'd try the Platdude Retro Collection by Jayenkai, it has that, space invaders, and more.
     
  14. .:Crimonite:.
    OP

    Member .:Crimonite:. GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    153
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Country:
    Australia
    Hmmmmm...... Got Platdude's Retro Collection. Very good, but not quite what im looking for. I'm looking more for the Frogger where you dodge the cars and cross the river and jump into a cave...

    I'll try the GB\GBC games now...

    Post back later tonight, have to go out now.
     
  15. .:Crimonite:.
    OP

    Member .:Crimonite:. GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    153
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Country:
    Australia
    Yay, got the frogger/s i want!!!

    Playing Frogger 2 and about to play Frogger 1 (both the GBC versions).

    Thanks all for the help, got all the things i need.

    Cheers again,
    .:Crimonite:.
     
  16. PettingZoo

    Member PettingZoo yesss

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,707
    Location:
    in the trap
    Country:
    Australia
    :/ Now I want to play frogger.
     
  17. .:Crimonite:.
    OP

    Member .:Crimonite:. GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    153
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Country:
    Australia
    Well, if you want ill spend the next 5 mins getting you a bunch of hyper links =)
     
  18. .:Crimonite:.
    OP

    Member .:Crimonite:. GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    153
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Country:
    Australia
    ok, well, im just about to post all the links anyway, so whether you do or not, there there anyway.

    look at the first post for links.
     
  19. PettingZoo

    Member PettingZoo yesss

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,707
    Location:
    in the trap
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks man, I already have the emulator. Also remove those ROM links, it's illegal! D:
     
  20. .:Crimonite:.
    OP

    Member .:Crimonite:. GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    153
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Country:
    Australia
    Ooops, soz, didn't realise.

    Got rid of them just then.
     

Share This Page