1. Wolvenreign

    OP Wolvenreign Transhuman Satanist Furry Technocrat
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    740
    Country:
    United States
    Hello, everyone. Me and my friend have been working on his computer for a while. He had it built not too long ago (Summer 2017), but oddly enough, the BIOS doesn't seem to detect the liquid cooling solution he has in place. It says "N/A" next to the AIO in the BIOS. We updated the BIOS to the most recent version successfully, but the problem persists.


    Here's the specs...

    CPU
    Intel Core i7 7700K @ 4.20GHz 36 °C
    Kaby Lake 14nm Technology
    RAM
    16.0GB Dual-Channel Unknown @ 1466MHz (15-17-17-35)
    Motherboard
    ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. TUF Z270 MARK 2 (LGA1151) 31 °C
    Graphics
    U28E590 ([email protected])
    3071MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti (NVIDIA) 53 °C
    Storage
    465GB Samsung SSD 850 EVO M.2 500GB (SSD) 38 °C
    931GB Western Digital WDC WD10EZEX-08WN4A0 (SATA) 38 °C
    232GB Seagate FreeAgent Go USB Device (SSD)

    Enermax LIQMAX II 240 Liquid CPU AIO CPU Cooler (Speccy doesn't see it, so I posted it individually.)

    Do you guys happen to know what the source of the problem might be? His CPU and GPU are running rather hot just playing one game (Just Cause 3), with his CPU running at half temperature and his GPU running at 3/4ths temperature.

    Thanks in advance for your help!
     
  2. TotalInsanity4

    TotalInsanity4 GBAtemp Supreme Overlord
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    10,811
    Country:
    United States
    What do you mean "not detected in bios?"... It should present exactly the same as any other CPU cooler would, supposing it plugs into the CPU fan header. Can you snap a picture of what you think is wrong and post it?

    Also, an AIO shouldn't affect the temps of the GPU AT ALL, unless they're running something like the EK Aluminum kits, but that's technically not an AIO
     
  3. Wolvenreign

    OP Wolvenreign Transhuman Satanist Furry Technocrat
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    740
    Country:
    United States
  4. TotalInsanity4

    TotalInsanity4 GBAtemp Supreme Overlord
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    10,811
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, see if there's a special AIO header anywhere around the CPU socket, or maybe towards the bottom or right side of the board. Functionally I doubt it'd be any different than the CPU fan header, but I guess if it exists then use it

    Shouldn't really make a different in temps, though, unless there's some sort of special power curve the AIO setting uses. Assuming he can hear the pump running (indicating that it's at least letting liquid flow), I can almost guarantee they will be identical either way. If your friend thinks they're high for the game he's playing, you might want to remove the AIO from the CPU, wipe both the contact plate and CPU down, and re-apply (better) thermal paste

    Edit: Also, unrelated, but I don't think that the RAM sticks are in the correct slots. Have him check the manual and make sure they're installed in the correct order, and have him turn on XMP as well
     
    Last edited by TotalInsanity4, Mar 23, 2018
    lampdemon likes this.
  5. Wolvenreign

    OP Wolvenreign Transhuman Satanist Furry Technocrat
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    740
    Country:
    United States
    Well, he says he does hear the pump operating, so maybe it's just configured in an odd way.

    When I turned on XMP, saved and exited, it gave a fan error and wouldn't boot to Windows. This had happened before, so I knew what to do and turned the fan speed monitoring off. The rest of the settings involved with XMP work fine after I turned the CPU Fan Speed to "Ignore" instead of "Monitor", though.
     
  6. nero99

    nero99 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,974
    Country:
    United States
    How does your friend have a 3GB 1080 TI? That's not even possible.
     
    lampdemon and TotalInsanity4 like this.
  7. Wolvenreign

    OP Wolvenreign Transhuman Satanist Furry Technocrat
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    740
    Country:
    United States
    I dunno, that's just what Speccy spit out.
     
  8. Plstic

    Plstic Guru Meditation Error
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,082
    Country:
    United States
    My 360 says N/A too but I have zero issues with cooling. Does he have the fan profile setup correctly?
     
    TotalInsanity4 likes this.
  9. Futurdreamz

    Futurdreamz GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2014
    Messages:
    2,224
    Country:
    Canada
    Is it one of those counterfeit cards from ebay?
     
    TotalInsanity4, NutymcNuty and Joe88 like this.
  10. NutymcNuty

    NutymcNuty Don't drink too much!
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015
    Messages:
    501
    Country:
    Canada
    possibly, but i had problems with speccy seeing my old amd cpu's temperature properly (said it was like 100 degrees Celsius but we all know thats bs) i'm not OP but just saying speccy is weird sometimes
     
    Last edited by NutymcNuty, Mar 24, 2018
  11. Joe88

    Joe88 [λ]
    Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    12,504
    Country:
    United States
    I dont really know how that detection works, if its only for ones that connect via usb for software control
    there are also switches on the fan them selves to change the rpm
     
    TotalInsanity4 likes this.
  12. Retik

    Retik Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Germany
    Do did it work because I have the same Problem my Computer shows for the AIO N/A
    my build is:
    i7 7700k (CPU)
    Asus strix Z270F Gaming (Motherboard)
    GTX 1080 Ti (GPU)
    Arctic Liquid Freezer 240 (AOI Cooler)
    I don't know what to do I already opend it and cleaned it but it still shows up 90 to 100 °C and I also put new thermal paste. And when I'm trying to start the Computer it shows "CPU OVERHEAT ERROR" I don't know what to do I need Help.
     
  13. Joe88

    Joe88 [λ]
    Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    12,504
    Country:
    United States
    Your pump is probably dead if it overheats almost immediately
     
  14. Spadezilla

    Spadezilla GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    139
    Country:
    United States
    get a new friend
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - detecting, computer, Friends