Freezing issues

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Originality, Aug 5, 2012.

Aug 5, 2012

Freezing issues by Originality at 12:59 PM (340 Views / 0 Likes) 4 replies

  1. Originality
    OP

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My friends computer has an issue where it would randomly lock up. The entire system just stops responding. Mouse freezes too. Seems it happens more often when playing civ 5. Need to track down why. Currently we think it's due to faulty RAM, so we've got memtest running.

    Any ideas?

    Additional info:
    Sometimes when it freezes, The mouse still works for a lil while then stops. Also it seems the USB devices lose power at this point.
    No crash dump is generated.
    CPU is core i3, 8GB corsair XMS3, H61 MSI MoBo, HD4870 graphics, Antec PSU.
    Only a few months old.
    Has a new WD HDD and an old SeaGate HDD as secondary.
     
  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Could be PSU issues? I've seen momentary drops in supplied power cause stuff like this.
     
  3. Originality
    OP

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Memtest turned up no errors.
    Disk check found some errors and corrected them.
    PSU is a 620W Antec, so power droops shouldn't cause that much instability.

    Gonna try disconnecting the old HDD. See if that makes it more stable.

    EDIT: just crashed when trying to set up a civ 5 game. USB devices all lost power and the headphones started making very weird noises. Kinda like electronic noises, not static, not buzzing, kinda like data. It's weird, and I've never heard of it happening before.

    Think it could be a problem with the motherboard?
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Assuming the audio is onboard, sounds likely.
     
  5. Originality
    OP

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As an update, Scan tested the MoBo and found "no fault". Going to replace the PSU next, but really... I've never seen a brand new PSU from a well known brand like Antec to cause so many problems before. After a couple years maybe, but not brand new.
     

Share This Page