Flashcart for N64?

Discussion in 'Other Consoles & Oldies' started by NES SNES V.B. N64 G.C. Wii WiiU, Jan 18, 2012.

Jan 18, 2012
  1. NES SNES V.B. N64 G.C. Wii WiiU
    OP

    Member NES SNES V.B. N64 G.C. Wii WiiU Now with extra redundancy!

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    859
    Location:
    The EoF
    Country:
    Australia
    Wondering if I should pick up an N64 for retro-gaming, but the games are WAY overpriced anywhere I could find them so I'm looking for a good flashcart. (Otherwise I'll just emulate them...)

    What would be a good, *CHEAP* flashcart for N64?
     
  2. BlueStar

    Member BlueStar GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,094
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    "Cheap" is subjective. Contempory devices like the CD64 and Z64 are increasingly rare and can be clunky and unreliable. A modern cart like the 64drive or NeoMyth is going to set you back 200USD

    Here's a review of the 64Drive.

    http://gbatemp.net/t309492-64drive-review
     
  3. spinal_cord

    Member spinal_cord Knows his stuff

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,871
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No such thing as 'cheap' for consoles other than the DS. Flash carts on other systems never got popular enough to push down production costs. So you could probably buy most of the games you want to play cheaper than a flash cart.
     
  4. BlueStar

    Member BlueStar GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,094
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeh, I'd suggest investing in a good condition N64 pad, a usb convertor and just emulating to be honest.
     
  5. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,278
    Country:
    Chile
    Everdrive64 is the cheapest flashcard I found available. $100 or so

    http://shop.retrogate.com/

    While I was about to get one, it's much better to get original cartridges, also, the screen resolution isn't that good unless you do a hardware mod.
     

Share This Page