FF: Echoes of time

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by nezkeys79, Mar 28, 2009.

Mar 28, 2009

FF: Echoes of time by nezkeys79 at 4:07 PM (3,599 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. nezkeys79
    OP

    Newcomer nezkeys79 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Im using R4

    why cant I save?
     
  2. hacker07

    Banned hacker07 Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    168
    Location:
    1tb harddrive
    Country:
    Antarctica
    How fare are you in this game?
     
  3. nezkeys79
    OP

    Newcomer nezkeys79 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The very start. Right after the moogle tells me about the save crystal I try to use it but it says I cant save and must reinsert game card

    must be another anti piracy measure I guess?
     
  4. nezkeys79
    OP

    Newcomer nezkeys79 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I already added a cheat code to bypass the recent roms that would stop at various places or not load at all etc...Chrono Trigger, DQ5 so if its anti-piracy again its so annoying
     
  5. nezkeys79
    OP

    Newcomer nezkeys79 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Which cheat do I need to bypass the save piracy in this game?

    I downloaded cheat.db but that did nothing and then I had to leave the internet cafe.

    I already have a cheat.dat file for the other roms that previously wouldnt even start. If I update that it wont affect the existing roms I am playing?

    or do i download usrcheat.dat or one of the other cheats listed?
     
  6. tuddy666

    Member tuddy666 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    somewhere in the UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You need to apply a copy protection bypass code. Obviously, since I don't know which region ROM you're using (or if you know how to use a cheat code editor), I can't say "yeah, you need to insert this code into your usrcheat.dat". Instead- go to "the Unofficial Cheat Compilation Thread" ( http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=142609 ) and download their latest usrcheat.dat. That has the bypass code you need and a few other cheats.

    Enjoy your game [​IMG]
     
  7. nezkeys79
    OP

    Newcomer nezkeys79 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    so I now have a cheat.dat file and a USRCHEAT.DAT file but what do these cheats do?

    CHEATS.xml
    cheat.DB
    user.evoCHEATS
    EDGEcheats
    EZARCODE
     
  8. nezkeys79
    OP

    Newcomer nezkeys79 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I just downloaded the USRCHEAT.dat file and extracted it to my system folder.

    The cheat option doesnt show up on FFCC:Echoes of time though. What am I doing wrong?
     
  9. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,074
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    They're cheat files for different flashcards.
     
  10. nezkeys79
    OP

    Newcomer nezkeys79 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    so which cheat do I use then for this game?

    i downloaded usrcheat.dat and extracted the file to my system folder (where the cheat.dat already is) but the cheat option on the Y button never appeared for ff:echoes of time.
     
  11. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,074
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just the CHEAT.dat alone will be enough. It's probably worth noting that cheats for the (E) version of this game have the wrong game ID and will not show up. Curley knows about this and has assured us it will be fixed in the next update. Until then you can use R4CCE to fix it yourself.
     
  12. Draganta

    Newcomer Draganta Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    you should only use one of the two (cheat.dat OR usercheat.dat)

    Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles: Echo Of Time (E) - CFIP bdf2859f

    Anti Piracy Bypass Code
    020CAE64 E3A00000
    020CAE68 E12FFF1E
    020CB1CC E3A00000
    020CB1D0 E12FFF1E
     
  13. sweenish

    Member sweenish GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    704
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    that won't happen. took him like three weeks to upgrade his firmware. r4cce will make his head explode
     
  14. nezkeys79
    OP

    Newcomer nezkeys79 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    si should I replace my cheat.dat? i only puty it on there a week or 2 ago for DQ5 and chrono trigger. will it affect my other roms if I replace it? and will ff echoes of time work if I put a new cheat.dat on my card now?
     
  15. nezkeys79
    OP

    Newcomer nezkeys79 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    my echoes of time rom is (U)
     
  16. nezkeys79
    OP

    Newcomer nezkeys79 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    okay the cheat.dat(UE) file I have in my system folder works for my DQ5(E) and Chrono Trigger(E) roms but not my FFCC: Echoes of Time(U) rom.

    Does using an UE cheat on a (U) rom not work? If that is the case does that mean whatever cheat you download all your roms have to be for that region?

    I can download a fresh FFCC rom but this time a UK version not American but somehow I feel it wont make a difference?

    Or should I try USRcheat.dat instead?

    I've just put th following 3 files in my system folder seperately and on all 3 occasions the cheat option does not show up for my FFCC rom. All 3 files are from the massive cheat compilation database updated march 2009.

    1. CHEAT.DAT
    2. CHEAT.DAT(UE)
    3. USRCHEAT.DAT

    Iv also tried all 3 files together in my system folder even though I had an incline that may not work as someone on here said dont put cheat.dat and usrcheat.dat together.

    So should I download a fresh rom?

    downloaded fresh (E) rom and tried all the cheat codes with that one but same again no cheat option appearing.
     

Share This Page