ROM Hack failed to install cia.

ThemBats

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 16, 2014
Messages
65
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
181
Country
Failed to install cia
Result Code: 0xD8E0806A
Level: Permanent (27)
Summary: Invalid Argument (7)
Module: AM (32)
Desc: Cert signature or hash check failed (106)

Can somebody help me with this. Trying to install SMT 4 Apoc. (EUR) on a eur 3ds.

using fbi 2.4.14
 
Last edited by ThemBats,

doctorgoat

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2015
Messages
685
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
527
Country
United States
Finish the guide to installing cfw before attempting to do things that require cfw. You do not have signature checks patched.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
7,292
Trophies
2
XP
5,886
Country
United States
Did you originally build this .cia file from a .3ds using GodMode9 v1.5.0?

How big is the .cia file in megabytes/gigabytes? What does FBI says about its estimated install size before trying to install it?
Is the CIA file size comparable or about the same then what FBI's finalized install size?
 

ThemBats

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 16, 2014
Messages
65
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
181
Country
Did you originally build this .cia file from a .3ds using GodMode9 v1.5.0?

How big is the .cia file in megabytes/gigabytes? What does FBI says about its estimated install size before trying to install it?
Is the CIA file size comparable or about the same then what FBI's finalized install size?

1. No.
2. The size is 1.68Gb, it's the same as "installed size"(info before installing).


"That error also occurs when it's a bad/corrupted CIA. Try a different one."

I did try a bunch but they might be from the same source but I don't think I'll be able to find more...
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
7,292
Trophies
2
XP
5,886
Country
United States
You can check your files are the same by their hash. Right click your CIA and check under CRC SHA. Pick CRC-32 for the most basic hash.

If that isn't available in your right click list, you can archive all the CIA files into winRAR. Do store or fastest compression as this is for temporary checking. Opening the archive should have a list of ther CRC32 hash on the right column.

Edit - Have you tried installing a much smaller CIA, like a Virtual Console game? To check if FBI is working for you if this is your first time using it on that system.
 
Last edited by TurdPooCharger,

ThoD

GBATemp Addict (apparently), but more like "bored"
Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2017
Messages
3,631
Trophies
1
Age
26
XP
3,016
Country
Greece
1. No.
2. The size is 1.68Gb, it's the same as "installed size"(info before installing).


"That error also occurs when it's a bad/corrupted CIA. Try a different one."

I did try a bunch but they might be from the same source but I don't think I'll be able to find more...
You can try CIAngel or Villain3DS if you necessarily want it as a CIA to install or just use FreeShop directly to skip the CIA if it's not needed for anything other than the install... And it's most likely just your CIA that's bad.
 

ThemBats

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 16, 2014
Messages
65
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
181
Country
I've installed CIA's before

You can try CIAngel or Villain3DS if you necessarily want it as a CIA to install or just use FreeShop directly to skip the CIA if it's not needed for anything other than the install... And it's most likely just your CIA that's bad.

So you can get games using these apps?
What about DLC and game updates?
 

ThoD

GBATemp Addict (apparently), but more like "bored"
Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2017
Messages
3,631
Trophies
1
Age
26
XP
3,016
Country
Greece
I've installed CIA's before



So you can get games using these apps?
What about DLC and game updates?
You should be able to get the DLCs as CIA for a lot of games with CIAngel. FreeShop downloads and installs games straight away saving valuable space, meaning it doesn't make a CIA of it, but it does allow you to install all DLCs for MOST games (VERY few ones aren't on there but could be added anytime). Same for updates, all updates with FreeShop, most with CIAngel.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: https://www.operanewsapp.com/us/en/share/detail?news_id=3dab7b2419e0a4719ae30b1b4441e20a&news_ent...