Extracting individual files from WiiWare WADs?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Vague Rant, Jan 21, 2009.

1. Vague Rant
    OP

Vague Rant Deceptively cute

Aug 7, 2008
    Melbourne
    So I have zero Wii hacking experience, but I can work a hex editor and command line crap just fine, so I've managed to decrypt the WiiWare game Maboshi's Arcade, which left me with a bunch of .apps and a few other things (.cert, .tik, .tmd, .trailer). What I'm looking for is the downloadable DS demo included in the game (I don't have a Wii at all, so I can't download it the "proper" way, and anyway I'd rather a ROM I can boot when I want), and was hoping somebody here might have some tips. .srl seems to be the "official" extension for NDS code, so I tried a simple ASCII search for that, and came up with several references to a "LZ77_mbs_dsEU.srl", which is kind of confusing, since it wouldn't really be an .srl any more if it's LZ compressed, but anyway, I was wondering if anybody could tip me off on where I'd locate that file.

EDIT: OK, I've been doing some more looking in hex, and it looks like 00000002.app is some kind of archive containing a number of files, at least according to some ASCII near the beginning of the file:

Code:
    home.csv.home_nosave.csv.Huf8_mbs.brsar.LZ77_mbs_dsEU.srl.LZ77_textureEU.tpl.LZ7
    _tex_ENG.tpl.LZ77_tex_FRA.tpl.LZ77_tex_GER.tpl.LZ77_tex_ITA.tpl.LZ77_tex_NED.tpl
    LZ77_tex_SPA.tpl.mbsSaveBanner.tpl.mbsSaveIcon.tpl.network.csv
    Looks like a file list to me, anyway, and almost immediately after the list is some ASCII that looks a lot like it might be home.csv:

Code:
    S.i.m.u.l.t.a.n.e.o.u.s.l.y. .p.r.e.s.s. $`. .a.n.d. $a.....o.n. .e.a.c.h. .W.i.i. .R.e.m.o.t.e. .i.n. .t.h.e.....d.e.s.i.r.e.d. .p.l.a.y.e.r. .o.r.d.e.r...