Evil virus need HELP!!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by ThatDudeWithTheFood, Oct 19, 2010.

Oct 19, 2010
  1. ThatDudeWithTheFood
    OP

    Member ThatDudeWithTheFood TRIANGLEZ

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,198
    Location:
    Illuminati
    Country:
    United States
    Need help

    My first plan of action was to close the process through Task Manager then use Avira Antivirus to get rid of the file.

    That doesn't work since the virus stops you from running Task Manager.

    My second plan of action was to edit the registry to get rid of the entries Security tool made.

    It blocks Regedit.

    I tried to download MalawareBytes it won't let me run the download.

    Is there a way to force kill the virus through command prompt or something?

    I found the place where the file is located so if I can kill the program and delete it and then run some other antivirus to make sure it gets rid of it I should be fine right?

    EDIT:Wont let me run command prompt.
     
  2. Salax

    Member Salax GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    265
    Country:
    United States
    Since you know where it is, try deleting it through a Linux Live CD which supports NTFS (Ubuntu does).
     
  3. .Chris

    Member .Chris Pffft.

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,182
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
  4. Bluelaserman

    Member Bluelaserman I shoot BLUE LASERS MAN!!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Location:
    The Land down under.
    Country:
    Australia
    Run your computer in Safemode then run an antivirus.
     
  5. zombielove

    Member zombielove GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    270
    Country:
    Australia
    You should have your files backed up. If not, back up any files you need then format the hard drive and reinstall the OS. Virus removal programs are useless.
     
  6. basher11

    Member basher11 GBAtemp's Official Vocaloid Lover

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,382
    Country:
    United States
    you could try renaming the malewarebytes setup to a different name and try running it.
     
  7. Bulit

    Member Bulit GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    293
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Start your pc in safe mode (with networking) by tapping F8 when your pc is booting up, then you should be able to run Avira from there.
     
  8. Bluelaserman

    Member Bluelaserman I shoot BLUE LASERS MAN!!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Location:
    The Land down under.
    Country:
    Australia
    Don't do this, its time consuming and backing up files may also carry the virus along with it.
     
  9. jceggbert5

    Member jceggbert5 Check out my hack, New Retro Mario Bros.

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    989
    Location:
    USA, Earth, MilkyWay
    Country:
    United States
    Get TweakUI. It might allow you to remove the Group Policy mods that are stopping taskmgr.exe and regedit.exe...

    After that, try MWB
     
  10. .Chris

    Member .Chris Pffft.

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,182
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
  11. Bluelaserman

    Member Bluelaserman I shoot BLUE LASERS MAN!!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Location:
    The Land down under.
    Country:
    Australia
    You could also try ComboFix. You'll have to run it from Safe Mode though.
     
  12. CrimzonEyed

    Member CrimzonEyed GBAtemp's Assassin

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,486
    Location:
    The Shadows
    Country:
    Japan
    Download: Dr Delete
    It will ad the file to be delete on reboot [​IMG]
    Never failed me.
     
  13. Bluelaserman

    Member Bluelaserman I shoot BLUE LASERS MAN!!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Location:
    The Land down under.
    Country:
    Australia
    Whats the virus' name? Or what does it claim itself to be?
     
  14. ThatDudeWithTheFood
    OP

    Member ThatDudeWithTheFood TRIANGLEZ

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,198
    Location:
    Illuminati
    Country:
    United States
    I restarted into safe mode and deleted the exe so far so good I will keep MalawareBytes working incase it reappears cuz its one of those viruses.
     
  15. monkat

    Banned monkat I'd like to see you TRY to ban me. (Should I try?.

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,268
    Location:
    Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    Run HaikuOS
     
  16. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    +1 on Safe Mode - there are very few viruses that can run in safe mode, so you'll be able to try Task Manager, RegEdit, MalwareBytes or any other program that can help you get rid of the files and threads.

    If you can't find the right timing to press F8, you can always reset the computer whilst Windows is loading to force the screen to select Safe Mode.
     
  17. ThatDudeWithTheFood
    OP

    Member ThatDudeWithTheFood TRIANGLEZ

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,198
    Location:
    Illuminati
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks guys the safe mode worked and malawarebytes purged the virus.
     
  18. Jemlee

    Member Jemlee GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    237
    Location:
    Arwing
    Country:
    Japan

    Malwarebytes ftw.

    Glad it was resolved [​IMG]
     
  19. Bluelaserman

    Member Bluelaserman I shoot BLUE LASERS MAN!!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Location:
    The Land down under.
    Country:
    Australia
    You might want to try another form of software. I remember having some "ANTIVIRUS 2010" virus that knew of malwarebytes and was able to evade its scan.
     

Share This Page