Hacking emunand vs sysnand wifi settings

aofelix

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2013
Messages
1,036
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
1,219
Country
is there any way on n3DS to disable wifi for sysnand but enable it for emunand? The settings seem to carry over if I enter them in emunand.
 

aofelix

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2013
Messages
1,036
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
1,219
Country
I've just checked and its to format sysnand right? I've read some reports of emunand not playing nice. Is it worth the hassle or shall I just remember to toggle off wifi when I exit emunand?
 

davhuit

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2005
Messages
994
Trophies
0
XP
550
Country
France
You need to go to sysnand settings, go to format option, and remove the SD Card from the 3DS before formatting. Then, the 3DS will reboot, put back the SD Card in and reconfigure it, 3DS will create another folder for the sysnand and so, emunand and sysnand won't share the same folder anymore.

Sysnand format won't change anything to sysnand so you don't really have nothing to lose by doing it. It'll be required if you use cia files, or you'll have to unwrap them each time you start the system if you don't unlink them.
 

VerseHell

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2014
Messages
3,070
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
1,573
Country
France
Create 3 dummy connections on your sysnand, like that your emunand's connections won't be transfered on your sysnand.
 

thorasgar

Checkout my evil Soon-in-ator™
Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
3,783
Trophies
1
XP
2,493
Country
United States
Thanks, are there any risks or problems associated? I read someone couldn't access the e-shop.
Just make sure you have your NNID set up and working in emunand before unlinking. I have formatted sysnand at least a half dozen times to get rid of the update nag. No issues.
 

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,715
Trophies
4
Age
44
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
15,421
Country
France
Why not edit SysNAND wifi setting AFTER emuNAND wifi setting?
no need to format, and it's not like you are editing emuNAND setting every day, are you?

I have emuNAND setup to use Wifi, and SysNAND to use proxy to block wifi. If I need wifi on SysNAND I edit the proxy setting (or launch the proxy on my computer to allow internet access).
 

thorasgar

Checkout my evil Soon-in-ator™
Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
3,783
Trophies
1
XP
2,493
Country
United States
Why not edit SysNAND wifi setting AFTER emuNAND wifi setting?
no need to format, and it's not like you are editing emuNAND setting every day, are you?

I have emuNAND setup to use Wifi, and SysNAND to use proxy to block wifi. If I need wifi on SysNAND I edit the proxy setting (or launch the proxy on my computer to allow internet access).
I agree but the work Proxy makes any non techies head spin. :) but it is a subject I need to get back into, it has been to many years since I have messed with them. :)

In my case I have two young boys and you never know where they are going to need wifi. Grandparents house, friends houses etc. They need sysnand wifi for the browser exploit. Young and old minds can be careless. :) That's why I like to keep sysnand completely clean so it is a simple 10 minute process when we F up.
 

Datalogger

Seeking to explain the IOSU for everyone to enjoy
Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2009
Messages
415
Trophies
0
Location
Maui
XP
638
Country
United States
Just so I understand this correctly..


On my N3DS, I created and updated my emuNAND when 9.5.0-23U was current.
That means on the emuNAND, I'm stuck with whatever network settings I had when I made it.

There is no way to change something like the proxy address on an existing emuNAND, and now that 9.6.0-24U is out and doesn't work with Gateway I can’t make another emuNAND at 9.5.0-23U with new settings.

Correct?
 

Tokiopop

Caffeine fiend
Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2009
Messages
1,833
Trophies
0
Age
28
Location
UK
XP
446
Country
How many of you replying actually have a n3DS?

If you turn wifi off in sysnand or emunand the same applies to the other, regardless if they're linked or not.
 

Datalogger

Seeking to explain the IOSU for everyone to enjoy
Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2009
Messages
415
Trophies
0
Location
Maui
XP
638
Country
United States
How does this even make sense? What are you trying to tell us? Of course you can change the EmuNAND WiFi-settings.

If my emuNAND and sysNAND are un-linked, the question: can setting be made that only apply to the emuNAND , or does it not matter?

It was just a question, sorry I asked...
 

Tokiopop

Caffeine fiend
Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2009
Messages
1,833
Trophies
0
Age
28
Location
UK
XP
446
Country
If my emuNAND and sysNAND are un-linked, the question: can setting be made that only apply to the emuNAND , or does it not matter?

It was just a question, sorry I asked...

I don't know if others were just assuming unlinking would work, but personally unlinking sysnand and emunand did not change how the wifi setting worked. If it's on in one, it's on in the other, even if they're unlinked. For New 3DS consoles, that is.

I can, however, have different connections whilst unlinked. So what I did is make 3 fake connections in sysnand, and have my real connections in emunand. That way sysnand can never connect to the internet and grab a system update.

So unlinked nands can have different connection settings, yes.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Datalogger

Nephiel

Artificer
Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2002
Messages
169
Trophies
0
XP
381
Country
I have a New here, NANDs unlinked, with a single WiFi profile on emuNAND and none on sysNAND.
WiFi is enabled for both NANDs, but only connects on emuNAND.
 

Datalogger

Seeking to explain the IOSU for everyone to enjoy
Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2009
Messages
415
Trophies
0
Location
Maui
XP
638
Country
United States
I don't know if others were just assuming unlinking would work, but personally unlinking sysnand and emunand did not change how the wifi setting worked. If it's on in one, it's on in the other, even if they're unlinked. For New 3DS consoles, that is.

I can, however, have different connections whilst unlinked. So what I did is make 3 fake connections in sysnand, and have my real connections in emunand. That way sysnand can never connect to the internet and grab a system update.

So unlinked nands can have different connection settings, yes.

I wasn't sure but before I started testing I just wanted to know what the answer was.

That said, I was able to setup a proxy on my emuNAND that was different than my sysNAND and all is well!
(To be safe, I unplugged my internet connection while I did it because I do not want to get the nag...)

Thanks for the helpful answer!
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    CupheadtheCritic @ CupheadtheCritic: Ello +1