Emunand on USB Loader GX

Discussion in 'Wii U - Hacking & Backup Loaders' started by G0R3Z, Aug 12, 2014.

1. G0R3Z
    OP

G0R3Z Just Can't Be Bothered

Aug 12, 2014
    Newbie here,

I currently run a softmodded vWii, homebrews CIOS etc and I currently use USB Loader GX to play Wii Backups as well as GC backups, but.... how does it work for Wiiware?

I've looked around and i'm still left with questions. I don't want to mess anything up and brick my WiiU somehow, so I thought i'd ask. I know that using an Emulated Nand is much safer than installing Wads directly, but I'm not entirely sure of the process to do it using USB Loader. Are there any guides to creating a Emulated Nand around somewhere? How simple is it to do; can I use a Fat32 SD card for my Wiiware as well as a USB drive for Wii and GC games?

2. G0R3Z
    OP

Aug 12, 2014
    /bump

3. SuperrSonic

SuperrSonic GBAtemp Advanced Fan

Dec 9, 2011
    In USB Loader GX, go to options, features, look for an option that dumps NAND, then in custom paths, set your path for the dumped nand. After that you can use install wads in the features option or on your computer ShowMiiWads in nand mode can install them.

Yes to the last two questions.
    Note that you can either get 100% compatibility with the SD Card Menu or about 60% compatibility with emunand.
    So to avoid eventual issues stick with the official method.

4. G0R3Z
    OP

Aug 12, 2014
    I don't really understand that last part. Using the Sd card menu or less compatibility with emunand?

Do you mean that properly installing wads on the vwii is more compatible than using Emunand?

5. SuperrSonic

SuperrSonic GBAtemp Advanced Fan

Dec 9, 2011
    Yeah, the SD card menu copies the game temporarily to the internal memory to assume 1:1 compatibility, same on Wii and vWii.