Hacking Emunand on New3DS ?

UraKn0x

Official senpai
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2014
Messages
370
Trophies
0
XP
715
Country
France
Hello everybody, today I tried to create emunand on my N3DS. It creates the 2GB partition just fine, but I have a problem : when I try booting into emunand to update it, the system settings screens shows "Ver. 9.0.0-20E" where it should be "GW3D 9.0.0-20E".
Has anyone experienced the same problem, and how do you think I can fix that?
I already tried changing my MicroSD card but nothing changed... Thanks in advance!
 

MichiS97

"Leftist snowflake milennial"
Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2011
Messages
1,765
Trophies
2
Age
25
Location
Munich
XP
3,167
Country
Germany
Hello everybody, today I tried to create emunand on my N3DS. It creates the 2GB partition just fine, but I have a problem : when I try booting into emunand to update it, the system settings screens shows "Ver. 9.0.0-20E" where it should be "GW3D 9.0.0-20E".
Has anyone experienced the same problem, and how do you think I can fix that?
I already tried changing my MicroSD card but nothing changed... Thanks in advance!
You need to use a smaller SD Card, every SD bigger than 4GB messes up this display
 

MichiS97

"Leftist snowflake milennial"
Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2011
Messages
1,765
Trophies
2
Age
25
Location
Munich
XP
3,167
Country
Germany
Can I update it safely? I am really afraid of updating my SysNAND...

Your best bet is to set EmuNAND up on the 4GB SD Card that should have come with your N3DS then updating it and moving it to your bigger SD card afterwards, here is a tutorial on how to do that: http://gbatemp.net/threads/how-to-transfer-emunand-to-another-sd-card-working-on-new3ds.383684

Some people have stated that they updated their emuNAND on a bigger SD Card without the GW3D being displayed but I wouldn't take the risk
 

thorasgar

Checkout my evil Soon-in-ator™
Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
3,783
Trophies
1
XP
2,493
Country
United States
Use emunand tool to transfer the updated emumand to a larger SD or use the method described in the thread on that subject.

Yes, lots and lots of people are having that problem including me.
 

thorasgar

Checkout my evil Soon-in-ator™
Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
3,783
Trophies
1
XP
2,493
Country
United States
I was communicating
EmuNAND tool supports the 2GB-sized NAND now?
I was communicating with n1ghty last night and he thinks he has it working now. it worked for backups but the inject was not working. He forgot to uncomment some lines. I haven't tested it yet. Was up late and need more coffee. :)

Check the release and support thread for the latest

Yes it does, but I'm using Linux so I do not need EmuNAND Tool ^o^
My biggest problem now is to find a 4GB MicroSD card I guess...
How about the one that came with your 3ds?
 
  • Like
Reactions: UraKn0x

UraKn0x

Official senpai
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2014
Messages
370
Trophies
0
XP
715
Country
France
Huh, even with a 4GB SD that shows "Ver. 9.0.0-20E", but after formatting the emunand to separate it from the sysnand I set different languages for both, so I can tell whether I am in EMU (French) or SYS (English) - NAND. When I start the system settings in emunand, it is correctly displayed in French, so can I assume that I am safe with updating it?
 

Suthek

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2015
Messages
193
Trophies
0
Age
38
Location
EH, BC
XP
170
Country
Canada
Huh, even with a 4GB SD that shows "Ver. 9.0.0-20E", but after formatting the emunand to separate it from the sysnand I set different languages for both, so I can tell whether I am in EMU (French) or SYS (English) - NAND. When I start the system settings in emunand, it is correctly displayed in French, so can I assume that I am safe with updating it?

That's pretty smart. I don't know if it's safe but using the language settings to identify is genius in my books.
 

UraKn0x

Official senpai
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2014
Messages
370
Trophies
0
XP
715
Country
France
That's pretty smart. I don't know if it's safe but using the language settings to identify is genius in my books.

Haha thanks! I guess I'll give it a try, I'm pretty scared but that would be a good pretext to do a NAND mod on that new 3DS if that fails (lol I don't even know if anyone has successfully done it before but nevermind :P)

EDIT : Definitely safe =D
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
    AncientBoi @ AncientBoi: you bad person you :rofl2: