1. cherup

    OP cherup Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    Gambia, The
  2. midstor

    midstor GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2018
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    United States
    nand backups are console specific, u will be bricked if u restore another consoles nand.
     
  3. cherup

    OP cherup Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    that was not the intention. I want to install the firmware from scratch with my keys using the guide and would like to know if this will work with a new emmc.


    Gesendet von meinem SM-G950F mit Tapatalk
     
  4. midstor

    midstor GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2018
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    United States
    just use ChiorDejurNX or whatever
     
  5. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    16,635
    Country:
    United States
    If it's faulty, he might not be able to enter Horizon to do that.

    Following this guide should work if the problem isn't related to irretrievable console-specific files like prodinfo.

    What caused the system to be faulty?
     
    Last edited by Lacius, Aug 26, 2018
  6. cherup

    OP cherup Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    I bought a device which was not starting and it seems that this is because of an defect emmc (e.g. could not make a nand backup any longer).
    So would like to change the emmc and create all the partitions new with my keys... in the hope that the console will boot again after that...

    Gesendet von meinem SM-G950F mit Tapatalk
     
  7. midstor

    midstor GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2018
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    United States
    if its a faulty nand what would a nand img do for him
     
  8. cherup

    OP cherup Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    still not sure if a emmc can be exchanged in that way without a backup.
    Could not find too much on that. Any more experiences with that ?

    Gesendet von meinem SM-G950F mit Tapatalk
     
  9. bundat

    bundat ¿
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2018
    Messages:
    455
    Country:
    Antarctica
    cherup likes this.
  10. cherup

    OP cherup Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    thanks for the help. Once the emmc arrived I'll give it a try and will report back.



    Gesendet von meinem SM-G950F mit Tapatalk
     
  11. Tankz

    Tankz Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Very interested on how this goes, I have something like this, but the eMMC is dead, I know the port is ok, as I can swap another eMMC in to the board while in recovery and then read the drive, however unable to read the eMMC thats attached to the board.. I guess I cant do anything with that. However I do have another Switch that wont boot, and id like to try to rebuild the drive to see if I can get that back to life.
     
  12. Canna

    Canna Bad Ass Poisonous Mushroom
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2018
    Messages:
    1,379
    Country:
    United States
    Sounds to me like the nand had been corrupt by sxos anti crack, or another bad payload that bricks nand like one of my buddys used isnt that right @Mat37 :D, worse case is that it corrupt your prodinfo. And i think your well and truly fckd if it was that, all tho there maybe a solution im unaware of

    you cannot change emmc modules without patching the prodinfo, and because each emmc module has a id ...
    It is possible but takes alot of work and i do not wish to go into it, and you defiently do not want to either trust me..

    May i suggest that you use memloader payload and hacdiskmount and backup what you can that way, by dumping each partition....

    Then make a new image with choirdujour from systems files nx 4.0/5.0 etc

    And then enter your system keys into new files and upload..


    Backup first within hackdiskmount,
    also recommend When you have a dump, you use the fw version finder tool so you know what system version to restore

    I have ... and i have done it via remote connection fixing member @Mat37 Switch With hacdisk method
     
    Last edited by Canna, Aug 28, 2018
    Witalka_Shelby likes this.
  13. cherup

    OP cherup Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    I was not able to dump anything. I could backup Boot0/1 but when trying to backup other partition Hetake crashed - so I was thinking that emmc cannot be read any longer.
    I have all biskeys saved from the original emmc.

    Now hope I can replace the emmc with a new one and use the original device keys with hackdiskmount.

    That's my hope at least.

    Gesendet von meinem SM-G950F mit Tapatalk
     
  14. Canna

    Canna Bad Ass Poisonous Mushroom
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2018
    Messages:
    1,379
    Country:
    United States
    i just told you you cannot do that , listen to what i am telling you....

    Use hackdisk mount and run the memloader payload .... to backup your partitions
    Does not use hekate this may or may not work

    Or pm me and were use a remote desktop app and il bloody do it
     
    Last edited by Canna, Aug 28, 2018
    ajd4096, Stone-D and Witalka_Shelby like this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - exchange, without, having