dslinux for internet!

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by dysan, Jan 18, 2011.

Jan 18, 2011

dslinux for internet! by dysan at 4:58 PM (1,163 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. dysan
    OP

    Member dysan GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    577
    Country:
    Greece
    as the title says,I'm thinking of using dslinux on my DS just to use its "supposedly" faster internet connection...dunno if that's true though.

    is it true that dslinux can go up to speeds of 100kbp/s?
    how easy is it to use?

    I want it JUST for greater internet speed and nothing more! [​IMG]
     
  2. monkat

    Banned monkat I'd like to see you TRY to ban me. (Should I try?.

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,268
    Location:
    Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not sure exactly how fast it goes, but it does go faster than the "standard" libraries allow, IIRC.
     
  3. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Yes. The Wifi library that DS Linux uses can go up to about 100kb/s... But there's 2 catches:
    1). You need a RAM expansion pack, any of them should work (Official browser, M3 Real RAM pak, EZFlash 3-in-1, etc).
    2). They are text-based browsers without a GUI and do not display images.
     
  4. dysan
    OP

    Member dysan GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    577
    Country:
    Greece
    lol well thanks for that.

    1.) don't have one of those
    and even if I did
    2.)that sucks
     
  5. ninjaapple

    Newcomer ninjaapple Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    Trinidad and Tobago
    Actually, there is an option on DS linux to allow images.
     
  6. fgghjjkll

    Member fgghjjkll GBATemp MegaMan

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,040
    Country:
    Australia
    EDIT: nvm
    Here's how you do it.
    http://www.installlinux.org/linux-videos/d...h-graphics.html
     
  7. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Meh, no real tutorial needed. All you have to do is type "links -g" instead of standard "links" or "retawq" to launch the browser. That said, you typically do need slot-2 RAM if you want to even connect to Wifi without crashing.

    Just for the hell of it, here's a wifi script that someone made ages ago. Put it in your /linux/usr/bin/ folder. I honestly don't remember the syntax for it, but one of the options sets up your default wifi connection, one attempts to connect using said default connection, one scans for open connections and manually connects, one scans for open connections and automatically attempts to connect, and one manually connects to the SSID of your choice using manual settings.

    It's been useful for me, at least.

    http://www.zumodrive.com/share/9ZE9ZWEyMD
     

Share This Page