DS2x86 version 0.05 released!

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by Pate, Mar 6, 2011.

Mar 6, 2011

DS2x86 version 0.05 released! by Pate at 6:50 AM (3,699 Views / 0 Likes) 27 replies

  1. Pate
    OP

    Member Pate GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Country:
    Finland
    Version 0.05 released!

    The major improvements and fixes in this version are the following:

    - Preliminary support for high resolution EGA/VGA modes 640x200, 640x350 and 640x480 added. NOTE! Scaling does not work properly in these modes yet.
    - Implemented preliminary support for Mode-X mode 360x240 (for the Settlers game).
    - Implemented a lot of missing opcode variations, now a majority of the most common opcodes have been implemented, but many rare opcodes are still missing.
    - Increased the EMS memory size to 4MB, which allows Elder Scrolls: Arena to start up.
    - You can now switch between the configuration sections in the INI file on-the-fly, by clicking on the current configuration name.
    - Fixed a stack alignment problem in overlay loading, which caused an "Exception 5" error in some programs.
    - Fixed a bug in SETZ opcode, which caused Warcraft to hang when giving a command to dig gold. NOTE! It is recommended that you play Warcraft with "no sound", as the SoundBlaster emulation in DS2x86 seems to cause intermittent freezes and crashes.
    - Fixed a bug in division-by-zero interrupt handling, which caused Formula One: Grand Prix to fail.

    Please send me the debug logs from this version again, they are very helpful when I improve DS2x86!

    http://dsx86.patrickaalto.com

    Pate
     


  2. Sir_Voe

    Member Sir_Voe GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    318
    Country:
    United States
    Cool. From the handful of non-functioning games I keep on my card, Alien Carnage/Halloween Harry seems playable now.
     
  3. RisnDevil

    Newcomer RisnDevil Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Country:
    United States
    I know this is for the Supercard DSTwo, but can it really not be made to run on any other card? It seems really cool, and I am interested in trying it, just not sure if it is worth purchasing a second flashcard.

    Thanks,
    RisnDevil
     
  4. spinal_cord

    Member spinal_cord Knows his stuff

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,871
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nope, it requires all of the extra hardware that the DSTwo card has (394mhz processor, 32mb RAM). There is however a normal .nds version of dsx86, which is also very good, but it doesn't run as fast and may have lower compatibility than this version.
     
  5. boktor666

    Member boktor666 Gbatemp's official Solar Boy™ Is Back!

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    805
    Location:
    Holland, somewhere :D
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Kewl, one of the few (dont count gba emu+snes emu with it) homebrews wich actually are using the technical specs of the DS2.

    Can anyone reccomend some DOS games to test out. I like strategy rpg and platformers :3
     
  6. Killermech

    Member Killermech Cookie Monster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,809
    Country:
    Sweden
    Sounds awesome as always Pate! Haven't actually tried it yet, but looking forward to trying out Elder Scrolls Arena a bit later (although I've never played it and will probably end up being as confused as you were).
    I noticed you felt a bit discouraged with further working with ds2x86 since dsx86 allowed for faster testing. Hopefully this doesn't mean you'll be working less on it from now on, would make me a very sad panda [​IMG]

    Anyways, keep up the good work as always!

    EDIT: Just a tiny bug. When I decided to quit Warcraft directly to Dos while still being in mouse mode. The screen never switched back. But when tapping the bottom screen, it was still giving me the keyboard taps. As
    the keyboard layer overlapped over the main screen as an invisible layer. Hard to explain I guess =7.
     
  7. asiekierka

    Newcomer asiekierka Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Poland
    Country:
    Poland
    This is the first version on which Windows 3.0 works! (although no mouse, but it works!)
     
  8. mad008

    Newcomer mad008 Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Hire are my test results:

    Tomb raider: Loads, gives black screen.
    Little Divil: Works greed.
    Worms 97: Loads, gives black screen.
    Worms Demo: Works.
    Warcraft Demo: Works.

    Warcraft: Loads, gives black screen.
    Blood: loads, than gives “src\loadsave.cpp(501): File error #1 loading save file header.”
    GTA: log error.
    Warcraft 2: log error.
    Oddworld: Abe’s oddysee: log error.
    Theme Hospital Demo: “Failed to initialize VRES256 screen”.
    Command and Conquer: log error.
    Need for speed: log error.
    Destruction derby: log error.
    Blouse brothers 2: Loads, gives black screen.
    Elder Scrolls: Arena: Works, little slow down.
    Settlers: log error.
    Obelix: log error.
    Carmageddon: log error.
    Zool 2: Loads, gives black screen.
    Full throttle Demo: log error.
    Jazz jack rabbit: log error.
    Wolfenstein 3d: Works greed, 15fps.
     
  9. Killermech

    Member Killermech Cookie Monster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,809
    Country:
    Sweden
    It has actually been playing fine for me. Beaten three campaign levels so far (really don't want to play it till I can fully enjoy it with sound, but so hard to resist [​IMG]).
    Make sure to disable sound as he described.
     
  10. Freezer6

    Member Freezer6 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    166
    Location:
    Brooksal
    Country:
    Germany
    THX for your work,enjoied it many times!

    Giving me back old school Times...... [​IMG]
     
  11. Master_Thief

    Newcomer Master_Thief Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yet another batch of games now playable in this version (the first 3 probably being the most important improvements) [​IMG]

    Alone In The Dark 3 - Playable - Works, though framerate is inconsistent, also no sound.
    Arena - Playable - Works though is a little slow, no sound either.
    Betrayal At Krondor - Playable - Works, no sound though.
    Blake Stone 2 - Playable - Works perfectly.
    Bust A Move - Playable?? - Now gets to title screen, couldn't get the menu selections to work though.
    Death Gate - Playable - Works, though no sound.
    Depth Dwellers - Playable - Works, though no sound.
    Frontier: Elite - Partially Working - Now gets ingame, but give continous "unsupported opcodes" (which can be skipped).
    Hardball 4 - Playable - Works perfectly.
    Lemmings 3 - Partially Working - Now gives an "unsupported opcode" error after selecting your level.
    Sensible World Of Soccer - Playable?? - Gets to menu, but arrow keys don't work (can't reassign them in setup).
    Terminator - Playable - Works, no sound though.
    Tie Fighter - Playable - Works, a little laggy in places though perfectly playable, no sound though.
    Warcraft - Playable - Works, unstable with sound enabled though.

    Full list of games tested
     
  12. DSman59

    Newcomer DSman59 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    Riga
    Country:
    Latvia
    Now Worms demo works with CPU opponents enabled, but the only thing they can do is move to the left and wait until their time runs out.
     
  13. The Phantom

    Newcomer The Phantom Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    I can't get the sound working on this. Any ideas on enabling sound?
     
  14. Pate
    OP

    Member Pate GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Country:
    Finland
    Sadly, I haven't yet had time to focus on the sound support, so there is only rudimentary SB digital audio support, and even that seems to cause more trouble than what it is worth at the moment.

    My plan is to first improve the opcode support so that most games have a chance of working, and then start improving the sound emulation.

    Oh, and to Killermech, I don't plan to stop working on DS2x86 for a while yet, so no worries. :-) I just probably work a bit more with the DSi version of DSx86 first, and then get back to improving DS2x86 again.

    Pate
     
  15. ferofax

    Member ferofax End of the World

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,564
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    ...assuming i get around to getting a SupercardDSTwo for this specific version, will it be powerful enough to run Master of Magic? I'm a pretty big fan of 4X games, and this particular title was one of my favorites, along with Lords of Magic and recently, Stardock's Elemental:War of Magic (it seems Stardock's one of a few that makes 4X games). So yeah, me wants this and SCDS2 if it works.
     
  16. Killermech

    Member Killermech Cookie Monster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,809
    Country:
    Sweden
    At some point, it should be able to run Master of Magic (Maybe even works now, haven't actually tried it). Maybe with some slight lagging as its minimum requirements is a 386.
     
  17. StarWolf3000

    Newcomer StarWolf3000 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    Germany
    Which "The Settlers" did you test? "The Settlers" (1) or "The Settlers 2"?
     
  18. Net_Bastard

    Member Net_Bastard GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    United States

    Why the dick would you expect games like Tomb Raider, Need For Speed, and Carmageddon to work?
     
  19. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    Tests for the sake of testing. There are various nubs out there that would ask why "it don't work", so why wouldn't you test them as well and provide a slightly more complete list of what is working and what isn't o.0...
     
  20. Net_Bastard

    Member Net_Bastard GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    United States


    Ah, that's a good idea actually.
     

Share This Page