DS won't Boot with AceKard 2!!!

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by ShamusHand, Oct 17, 2008.

Oct 17, 2008
  1. ShamusHand
    OP

    Newcomer ShamusHand Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    I got the Acekard 2 about 2 months ago, and today when I unplugged from the charger and turned the DS on, all it does is play the animation halfway through and freeze. If I take out the AceKard, or put in a different game, the DS boots up normally. What should I do? [​IMG]
     
  2. Joey90

    Member Joey90 Not around any more

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    703
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Try cleaning the contacts and/or putting a little bit of paper behind the card to help the connection.

    Usually this should work, as defective AK's mostly cause errors after loading the AK. However there is a possibility of it being defective...
     
  3. dewback

    Member dewback GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    224
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    had the same problem with a real cart. That one I just had to eject it and put it back in and it worked. might have been a connection issue.
     
  4. mysticwaterfall

    Member mysticwaterfall Streamforce Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,868
    Location:
    Right behind you
    Country:
    United States
    My old AK started doing this after a FAT error. Nothing I did would fix it, and I tried for a bit. So, you might have a bad one there. 1-2 months is the usual timeframe.

    Returned it to seller and got a new AK2.1, no problems with that.
     
  5. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    as already said take it out, put it back in.

    you should also try to format the msd and drop on the firmware again. it could be the contacts, the kit itself, or the msd has corrupted or died.

    goodluck,
    -another world
     
  6. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,617
    Country:
    Sweden
    Sounds like bad contact between the Acekard and the DS to me, try putting a little piece of paper on the back on you Acekard and see if it helps.
     
  7. ShamusHand
    OP

    Newcomer ShamusHand Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    It doesn't have anything to do with the SD card, because even if I remove the SD card, the exact same thing happens.
    I tried shoving a piece of paper in Slot 1, and no dice...

    I contacted costumer service by email at acekard@gmail.com, and I'll wait for a reply...
     
  8. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    the paper has to go behind the pcb. you need to open the shell for the flash it and put a small wedge behind the pcb so it sticks forward a bit.

    -another world
     
  9. cepheus

    Member cepheus GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    224
    Location:
    Ottawa - THE CAPITALLLLLL!!!!!
    Country:
    Canada
    is this the paper trick people are talking about?
     
  10. ShamusHand
    OP

    Newcomer ShamusHand Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    Took the card apart, and and I kept folding the paper until the AceKard barely fit in the DS. Nothing...

    I'm still waiting on their Costumer Service...
     
  11. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    you have an ak2 not a 2.1? sadly it could be a bad unit! if you purchased from a legit store they will return it with no questions asked. i do believe the ak has a 1yr warrenty from the team for any retailer who has issues. i know i read that somewhere, but please don't quote me on it. if your retailer won't give you the new 2.1 or refund your money contact the team. they are usually willing to help out, they are good people

    -another world
     
  12. m3rox

    Member m3rox GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,673
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    That's what I'm thinking as well.

    I sometimes have that problem with my DS (it's an old 2005 model), it's just a connection issue, you need to just work with the game card and the DS to try to get the system to recognize it. I personally (when the DS is off) eject the game card, then push it down and hold it down as far as it'll go, then, while still holding it I boot up my DS. Sometimes I have to let the game card rise up a little (not to the point where it clicks though) before powering on the system.

    Try that.
     

Share This Page