DS mode cannot see wireless.

Discussion in '3DS - Nintendo Network' started by pokefloote, Jan 19, 2012.

Jan 19, 2012
  1. pokefloote
    OP

    Member pokefloote GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,670
    Country:
    United States
    My router works for my brother's DS Lite, my Wii, computer, and the 3DS in 3DS mode. But when I try to connect with a DS cart in the 3DS it doesn't see the signal. I'm in the wi-fi connection settings and it just says no access point in range. I'm right next to it.

    I've already tried resetting my 3DS. What can I do?
     
  2. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    What game is it? Is it a flash cart?
     
  3. CrimzonEyed

    Member CrimzonEyed GBAtemp's Assassin

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,486
    Location:
    The Shadows
    Country:
    Japan
    I had the same problem with my brothers 3DS.
    Turns out my router was broadcasting on channel 13, I tried to lower it to channel 7, after that It worked.
     
  4. qdog82

    Member qdog82 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    139
    Country:
    United States
    I think your router is maybe in G or N mode only, i had the same problem once.
    Look what it is set to, and if it is, set it to B or mixed mode.
     
  5. pokefloote
    OP

    Member pokefloote GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,670
    Country:
    United States
    I noticed it when I tried my flashcart, acekard 2i, but then I tried a legit Mario Kart DS and the same thing happened. Also tried in the 3DS settings for Nintendo DS Connections.

    Mine was on automatic, but mine only goes up to 11. I changed it to 6 , then 11 but it still doesn't see it. :/
    It's mixed, b/g/n
     
  6. pokefloote
    OP

    Member pokefloote GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,670
    Country:
    United States
    So, I found out that it's not my router, it is the 3DS.

    It seems like in DS mode the wireless on my 3DS doesn't work, like it's not even on. The yellow light on the side is on, doesn't blink or anything.

    I got my brother's ds lite and tried the "transfer" of wifi settings, went to download play (ds mode) and it doesn't find anything there, either. I did some searching online and found something that said to try changing the date or the ds mode message and stuff like that, but that didn't work either... :/

    I don't want to go without ds wifi. :/
     
    1 person likes this.
  7. chaozboi

    Newcomer chaozboi Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Well since your brother's ds lite works, it's not the router's problem. I think your problem is that you didn't set up your ds connection. Under the internet settings on your 3ds there should be connection settings and nintendo ds connections. Connection settings are for 3ds games and nintendo ds connections are for the wifi for ds games. Just add your router information to nintendo ds connections and you should be able to go online.
     
  8. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,274
    Country:
    Chile
    I had some of those issues. It's related to Mario Kart DS poor wireless coding. I know how it feels to do the EXACT same steps like you'd do on any other DS game, and it stil wouldn't work.

    I fixed it by rebuilding the router's config. You need:

    B mode only, WEP key 64-bit ascii (5 words), channel lower than 9, beacon intervals 85 (60 by default on most routers), and I've heard there are some *youknow* dumps missing or including corrupt wireless libraries
     
  9. pokefloote
    OP

    Member pokefloote GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,670
    Country:
    United States
    I know for a fact that its a problem with the 3ds. The wireless light never even blinks and DS download play doesn't even work either. I'm thinking a format is the only way to fix this, but I'm going to wait until I can system transfer to my brothers 3ds that's coming.
     
  10. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,274
    Country:
    Chile
    So you say it's not working ANY of the Wireless features of your 3DS? We're talking about DS Mode, DSi Mode & 3DS Mode. Also, the light will blink sometimes anyway, unlike DSLite or DSi did.
     
  11. pokefloote
    OP

    Member pokefloote GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,670
    Country:
    United States
    3ds mode works fine, only DS mode. The light is on but it never blinks even when searching for access points
     
  12. chrisluna413

    Member chrisluna413 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    Messages:
    341
    Location:
    East Brunswick, New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    S
    Soooo...?
     
  13. pokefloote
    OP

    Member pokefloote GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,670
    Country:
    United States
    Why did you bump this topic?

    I sent it to Nintendo, and indeed it was a problem with the 3DS that they could not fix without replacing the whole system. They transferred my eshop account but not my saves or information/friend code. This was well over a year ago, though.
     
  14. chrisluna413

    Member chrisluna413 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    Messages:
    341
    Location:
    East Brunswick, New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    wanted to know how things went because my DS games arent identifying my wifi either, the difference is that my yellow wifi light is on though.
     
  15. pokefloote
    OP

    Member pokefloote GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,670
    Country:
    United States
    Ah. My yellow light was on as well, it just wouldn't blink when it was supposed to be searching for access points. I had unsecured connections and everything. If you're sure that it isn't a problem with your router or access point, I'd see about sending it in for repair.

    I still have no idea what caused it, but it never worked from day one that I bought that system. After I got the new one it worked fine. (:
     
  16. SuzieJoeBob

    Member SuzieJoeBob NOT a New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    524
    Country:
    United States
    Glad to hear that your issue was fixed. By the way, you did try the game again on the new 3DS, right??? lol
     
  17. pokefloote
    OP

    Member pokefloote GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,670
    Country:
    United States
    Yep, it really was something wrong with the DS mode on a system level, not user settings. All games worked after I got a replacement system back. :)
     
    SuzieJoeBob and Coto like this.
  18. 13ds
    This message by 13ds has been removed from public view by raulpica, Sep 20, 2013.
    Jul 27, 2013
  19. pokefloote
    OP

    Member pokefloote GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,670
    Country:
    United States
    That was not the problem, since I had tested a DS lite and it worked. Also, local wireless between two 3DS systems (playing Zelda: Four Swords) did not work, my system wouldn't send out or receive a signal for DS/DSi games.

    But that could be useful if anyone else has a problem and happens upon this topic. :)
     

Share This Page