Gaming Ds lite bottom screen doesn't work

Phoenixier

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Sep 28, 2020
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
22
Country
Turkey
I want to change the bottom screen of ds lite but when i plug the screen flex cable the display is distorted like that. I tried with 3 different screens but result is same.

What is the problem here ?
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20200928_150306.jpg
    IMG_20200928_150306.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 187

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
33,902
Trophies
2
Website
trastindustries.com
XP
22,665
Country
United Kingdom
It is unlikely those three screens were all broken in the same way. Slightly curious that it is every other line (for a TV that is nothing, see interlacing, but I do not necessarily expect that on a handheld).

To that end best initial guess/most obvious thing is either the cable is messed up or the connector to it is messed up. You can try pressing on connector bit and pins behind it to see if it gets better. Do also check the pins inside the connector.
 
  • Like
Reactions: IC_

Pk11

A catgirl with a DSi
Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2019
Messages
353
Trophies
0
Age
20
Location
米国
Website
pk11.us
XP
1,725
Country
United States
Another thing it could be is the VR1 and VR2 potentiometers being wrong if you accidentally turned them thinking they were screws or maybe just the previous screen needed them set differently (I'm not exactly sure how they work, but I assume it varies by screen as their adjustable), when they're set wrong it causes the screens to look all white and interlacey, I think like you're having. VR1 seems to be the top and VR2 the bottom.

They're in the bottom right from this POV:
D6jD6OGIIu5DcBNn.huge.jpeg
 
  • Like
Reactions: IC_

End_of_Line

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Oct 20, 2020
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
51
XP
14
Country
United Kingdom
Did this ever get sorted ?
I found my DS Lite a while back, started playing it again but after a couple of weeks my top screen is doing something similar. After a while the screen just goes black ?
Any thoughts

Cheers.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0114.jpg
    IMG_0114.jpg
    639.9 KB · Views: 199

Amez

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 8, 2019
Messages
47
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
97
Country
United Kingdom
Did this ever get sorted ?
I found my DS Lite a while back, started playing it again but after a couple of weeks my top screen is doing something similar. After a while the screen just goes black ?
Any thoughts

Cheers.
What happens when you move the top screen back and forward while it's switched on? if the picture changes while you move it then it's a damaged LCD flex so the top screen would need replacing,
 

Vacatedboat

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jun 2, 2020
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
48
XP
34
Country
Australia
I have a similar image on my bottom screen. Did this fix the error?
I cant get even the colors to display correctly. I have made tiny adjust vr2 but cant get it right.
Thanks
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim: i love how the crowd still cheered when thousand miles played lmao