ROM Hack Dragon Quest Builders 2

voltorben

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Denmark
Have you made any progress locating the files?
I've been looking too, and i thought i'd share my findings.

I'm very sure it's in the LINKDATA.BIN file.
I have successfully extracted the files from LINKDATA.BIN with quickBMS (using the "arslan.bms" script).
There is a ton of files and i have skimmed through the biggest ones with HxD and Notepad++ but i cannot see anything that resembles Japanese sentences or menus.
However, I have no experience with modding games, and i don't know Japanese, so i might have overlooked something.

Anyone have any idea how to go by looking through the files for Japanese language?

Last edited by voltorben,

masagrator

The patches guy
Developer
Trophies
XP
Country
Poland
Why with the biggest ones only? Text files may be splitted in hundreds of small files like in Zelda BOTW.
You should search whole unpacked game with text from game (f.e. main menu "New game") by Notepad++.

It can still be in binary file like
NULL N NULL E NULL W NULL NULL G NULL A NULL M NULL E
or compressed.
So searching it could be harder. Then you need to find files manually.

Last edited by masagrator,

voltorben

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Denmark
Why with the biggest ones only? Text files may be splitted in hundreds of small files like in Zelda BOTW.
You should search whole unpacked game with text from game (f.e. main menu) by Notepad++.

Because i'm a noob and have no experience modding ;)
There is literally thousands of files, all named an (seemingly) arbitrary number (like 0000056.bin, 0000057.szs, etc) so i really had no idea on how to start looking for the language files.
Any ideas are welcome, though! Sounds like you have some experience? How were the BOTW files organised, and was there any system? How was the files located?

One idea i haven't tried yet is finding a word/phrase from the game, eg. the menu, and searching through the files to find that word/phrase.