DQIX and AceKard 2i

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by loxolot, Jul 11, 2010.

Jul 11, 2010

DQIX and AceKard 2i by loxolot at 11:28 PM (2,886 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. loxolot
    OP

    Newcomer loxolot Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    Hey all,

    My Acekard 2i is probably waiting at my doorstep as we speak (i'm on vacation). Just wondering how everyone was finding Dragon Quest IX on AKAIO 1.7 on their Acekards. I'm hoping the clean rom will work perfectly, but I've heard murmurs of lag on most carts.

    Is this true? Lemme know what you have experienced so far.
     
  2. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    AKAIO 1.7.1 should be out soon. Given that this game was released after AKAIO 1.7, I don't see that there can be any complaints if this game doesn't work 100%.
     
  3. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    I believe people confirmed it worked with the Xenom release clean because it was precracked.
     
  4. loxolot
    OP

    Newcomer loxolot Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    @tk_saturn You're the bomb, bro. You're all over this forum, and you're extremely helpful. Props.

    BTW: When do you think we'll se 1.7.1
     
  5. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    They have a beta which is being tested, and Smiths has come of hibernation and fixed the WiFi plugin. So Soon.

    I know, I should have better things to do...
     
  6. tenja

    Newcomer tenja Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Singapore
    So far the only problem i see is slowdown when you have 4 man party.....but is it flashcart problem or will the retail game have it as well?
     
  7. doyama

    Member doyama GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    If you get the clean rom then just apply the cheat from the Temp version of cheats.gbatemp.net. Get the one dated July 10th

    It contains a cheat that patches the game to work so you can keep a clean version of the game.
     
  8. gumbyx84

    Member gumbyx84 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    512
    Country:
    United States
    From what I have read in the DQ 9 thread at cheats.gbatemp forums, that code doesn't work and has been removed from the database.

    http://cheats.gbatemp.net/forum/nds/(nds)-...23367/#msg23367
    http://cheats.gbatemp.net/forum/nds/%28nds...23322/#msg23322
     
  9. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    If that's so than you can also download the clean Bahamut release and patch it with the patch from this site. Find the DQIX spoiler and there should be a patch for Bahamut.
     
  10. Ssseth

    Member Ssseth GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    221
    Country:
    Canada
    Anything wrong with using the Xenom release besides the goofy intro screen it adds?
     
  11. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well, as it's been patched it may not work with AKAIO 1.7.1 correctly if DQIX is included in the loaders. So get the clean release and if you can't wait for AKAIO 1.7.1, patch it.
     
  12. Outrager

    Member Outrager GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    102
    Country:
    United States
    I was looking at the Giantbomb.com Quick Look of DQIX and the guy said he experienced slow-downs in his retail copy when he had a 4 player party and other 3D objects around like in town.
     
  13. Linkmaster111

    Newcomer Linkmaster111 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I have the retail copy and their are slow downs with a 4 man team and other 3D objects all on screen at once.
     
  14. Ssseth

    Member Ssseth GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    221
    Country:
    Canada
    Brutal.

    They had a full year to fix that since the Japan release and it's still there? Wow.... that being said, I'm still going to play the hell out of this game. [​IMG]
     
  15. Ninja Kn1ght

    Newcomer Ninja Kn1ght Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    I've had a few random crashes playing DQIX on my AceKard 2i with The Xenom version on both Akaio 1.6RC2 and 1.7. Sometimes I can play for hours just fine and other times it could crash after 10 minutes. I'm not sure if it's the ROM or my card although I haven't seen crashes on anything else. I might try a clean ROM to see if that helps. Is there any way to convert a save from the Xenom version of DQIX to work with a clean ROM?
     

Share This Page