Donkey Kong Jungle Beat = Black Screen

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by daddu3, Jul 8, 2012.

Jul 8, 2012
  1. daddu3
    OP

    Newcomer daddu3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    I'm quite experienced with modding my PAL Wii (done that for 1 year now). Anyway, I've tried to make Donkey Kong Jungle Beat work on my Wii from the newest USB Loader GX and Configurable USB Loader, but I always get a black screen. (Or Configurable USB Loader would hang loading the game)
    Tested them even in Neogamma but with no success!!! Even downloaded Hermes CIOS 222 and 223 but still, nothing helps.

    I was told to update my CIOS to d2x V8 and I did so, but it doesn't do anything. And nope, it's not because the game is a bad dump, I've downloaded two PAL versions and one NTSC-version and none of them will advance on past the black screen. So I think something's wrong in my wii.

    I have already IOS 53 by default (and also IOS 55). So why doesn't this game work for me?
     
  2. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I don't help pirates, and neither will most others on this site. Plus, the games sucks anyways.

    If you REALLY want the game to work then the most sure fire method is to use a retail disc.
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    The black screen means the FBI is onto you.
    If I where you, I would prepare a story for why you downloaded these games and why you posted this on gba temp.
    In a matter of hours they will be on your doorstep.
    Piracy is illegal....
    Unless you dumped you own copy offcourse.


    nah, just joking....or am I?

    Ps if you are so quite experienced, you would know that IOS 53 and 55 have NOTHING to do with your problem.
    Good luck.
     
  4. Maverick Lunar X

    Member Maverick Lunar X GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    327
    Country:
    United States
    Just because he downloaded it, doesn't necessarily mean he doesn't own a retail copy.

    Regardless of the grey area here, I'd suggest a syscheck to see what you may have missed.
     
  5. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    Well, technically, even if you own the game it is still illegal to download it. You may only have a backup that you created yourself. But regardless of that, even if he does in fact own the game, I HIGHLY doubt that he owns both PAL and NTSC versions even though he has mentioned downloading both. So no matter what, his actions are still classified as pirating.
     
  6. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Did you download those bongo controllers as well? :P


    In either case: you're talking about a gamecube game. Your statement that you're experienced with modding a wii kinda falls apart there, as it's pretty common knowledge that those don't run on a cIOS (or an IOS, for that matter) but on the MIOS.

    It used to be common knowledge that these couldn't be played on the USB drive either, but that's only very recently changed (okay, not really. But very recently updated and tweaked enough for the average user). Go find a guide on how to install and use Dios Mios, and you should be good to go.
    (you probably already have the USB loader).


    EDIT: oops...my bad. I just checked, and apparently there's a wii version of the game as well. Sorry.
     
  7. Maverick Lunar X

    Member Maverick Lunar X GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    327
    Country:
    United States
    Meh, I've seen enough legitimate cases of people's DVD drives no longer functioning, not that he said either way, but I just hate the piracy witch hunts that happen. I for one have recently had to download dumps of a couple of GC games because my copies (even though they work perfectly fine) will not install through the loaders.

    This is all off topic anyways.
     
    2 people like this.
  8. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    I don't do witch hunts, but when someone openly expresses that they are pirating a game then I will call them out and the only help I will give them is tell them to buy the game.
     
    1 person likes this.
  9. neotank19

    Member neotank19 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Country:
    United States
    Hey OP, try disabling IOS reload in your loader. Also make sure you have the latest cios (d2x) installed into slot 249 with a base ios of 56 and slot 250 with base ios 57.
     
    1 person likes this.
  10. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    walking the line...
     
  11. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    Have you tried the Gamecube edition? Just a thought.
     
  12. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You need the bongo's for that version
     
  13. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    Well to check if it also freezes this same way.
     
  14. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Unlikely at it is an entirely different loading method, without going into detail.
     
  15. Maverick Lunar X

    Member Maverick Lunar X GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    327
    Country:
    United States
    Again, run syscheck, or just rehack using ModMii. That alone solved 95% of the problems I was having.
     
  16. daddu3
    OP

    Newcomer daddu3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Did that and the game's working now. But now when I try to play SMG or Mario Kart Wii, both mess up (it's usually because the music stops at some point of the game and thus if I continue on, the game would freeze)
     

Share This Page