Dolphin crashes on dedicated graphics, but doesn't on integrated

Discussion in 'Computer Programming, Emulation, and Game Modding' started by ilman, Oct 9, 2012.

  1. ilman
    OP

    Member ilman Gbatemp's Official Noise Eraser

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Location:
    Shibuya
    Country:
    Bulgaria
    I've got myself a Lenovo Ideapad Y580 and I'm trying to use it for some wii emulation considering the powerhouse it is and the fact I sold my wii a week ago.
    So I download the emulator, launch it, start a game and I get greeted with a very low framerate.
    I went over the Nvidia Control Panel and, wouldn't you know, the emulator was running on Integrated graphics.
    So, I switched them with the Dedicated ones and I launch the emulator again.
    I went over to the graphics tab to turn on some sweet Anti-Aliasing and Upscaling, but the emulator crashed.
    So I turned on the emulator again and tried to run some game, but it crashed again.
    So I decided to google this problem, but the only topic of this sort I found was one saying I should stay away from beta drivers.
    But i have official, non beta drivers, so there shouldn't be issues?
    I don't want to run the emulator on low resolution and 1/2 of full speed when I know my laptop can perform better.

    Is there any way to fix this?








    All help will be appreciated.
     
  2. fgghjjkll

    Member fgghjjkll GBATemp MegaMan

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,038
    Country:
    Australia
    Are your drivers up to date? Sleeping Dogs repeatedly crashed for me, but after a driver update, it works fine.
     
  3. Midna

    Banned Midna Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,336
    Country:
    Albania
    >i7-3630QM
    I suggest you give up immediately. Dolphin is the most CPU intensive program I have ever used. My 3.4GHz 3570K desktop processor paired with a GTX 680 could not run games with DSP LLE enabled at full speed. I had to overclock it to a whopping 4.3GHz to get everything running perfectly.
    You're running a mobile processor. A new, decent mobile processor, but still a mobile processor. Even if you get your GPU issues settled, I don't suggest you get your hopes up regarding performance

    I'll leave my opinions on "gaming laptops" out of this I suppose.
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Their CPU: 8910 on passmark.
    Your CPU: 7720 on passmark.

    They actually win. Laptops are not the Pentium-4 machines they used to be.
     
  5. Midna

    Banned Midna Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,336
    Country:
    Albania
    Passmark's fucking up then, because that's just not happening.
    They claim that mobile i7s are rivaling $1000 Xenons and hexicore i7s.
    Yeah, not happening.
     
  6. ilman
    OP

    Member ilman Gbatemp's Official Noise Eraser

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Location:
    Shibuya
    Country:
    Bulgaria
    I actually had the emulator running properly before my re-installation of windows and the emulator was running fine with 720p upscaling and 4x AA so hardware isn't the problem.
     
  7. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Per-core performance is more important for tasks the average user does, and the Xenons are built for different tasks anyways, and tend to score poorly on normal-user tasks like gaming.

    Just because something's expensive doesn't mean it's the right tool for every job.
     
    1 person likes this.
  8. ilman
    OP

    Member ilman Gbatemp's Official Noise Eraser

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Location:
    Shibuya
    Country:
    Bulgaria
    Ok, back to the problem.
     
  9. ilman
    OP

    Member ilman Gbatemp's Official Noise Eraser

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Location:
    Shibuya
    Country:
    Bulgaria
    A new update for the Nvidia drivers was just released, I updated and it didn't do a single thing. :(
    Still haven't got a solution to my problem.
     
  10. Ron

    Member Ron somehow a weeb now.

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,837
    Location:
    here
    Country:
    Canada
    I've had success using these builds (1080p screensize, 2x internal resolution, OpenMP) with Skyward Sword, constant 30fps.

    I've also tested The Last Story, but not very deeply, for the record, constant 30fps as well. Everything else beyond this part is irrelevant, so just give those builds a try.

    This is on a 3.3Ghz i5 2500k Desktop processor with 16GB RAM on a Radeon HD 7770.
     
  11. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,175
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    Try turning off AA.

    Also, try using a known good build, like 3.0.
     
  12. fastnick94

    Newcomer fastnick94 Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    Mashpee, Massachusetts
    Country:
    United States
    Hi, I signed up just so I could post an answer to this for everyone. I have a Lenovo Y580 and the problem is Nvida Switchable graphics. Simple fix: Go into Nvidia control panel, goto manage 3d setting, add dolphin emulator to the list of applications and select Nvidia high performance graphics as the preferred device to run this game. You should now be able to select the GTX 660m under Direct3D9 in dolphin emu and emulate wii games successfully. This fix will probably work for most people with switchable Nvidia graphics.
     

Share This Page