Hacking Does updating mess up D2CKey?

zidanej

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 3, 2006
Messages
37
Trophies
0
XP
175
Country
United States
I've been out of the loop with wii modding and I got my Wii modded two years ago with the D2CKey and I think my version is still on 3.3 or something around there. I noticed that the newest version seems to be 4.2 so I was just wondering if any of the new updates disabled modchips. Been thinking about playing the new beatles rockband but it requires an update and I don't want it messing up my Wii.
 

Krestent

What to post?
Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2009
Messages
3,953
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
340
Country
United States
It disables region free for all modchips. Forget updating, just use GeckoOS! It bypasses all updates. The only reason not to use it is if you want to see the banner in the disc channel
 

linuxares

I'm not a generous god!
Global Moderator
Joined
Aug 5, 2007
Messages
10,190
Trophies
2
XP
12,645
Country
Sweden
tattar8 said:
It disables region free for all modchips. Forget updating, just use GeckoOS! It bypasses all updates. The only reason not to use it is if you want to see the banner in the disc channel

+1
 

jeanrmarques

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 28, 2009
Messages
80
Trophies
0
Age
43
Location
Pelotas - RS - Brazil
XP
63
Country
Brazil
I got a D2CKey and updated to 4.2u, NTSC-U games keep working fine, I cant tell about the region free thing since its not enabled on my chip. But yeah, I heard it breaks region free on all modchips (I used to patch games with Region Frii, but it doesnt work on newer games)

Hope it helps
 

dai-a

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 16, 2009
Messages
351
Trophies
0
Age
28
Location
Springville Utah
Website
www.facebook.com
XP
115
Country
United States
Just do this. Update to 4.2 with the modify any wii guide. Then just follow the downgrade to 4.1 in that same guide.
smile.gif
 

jakelee

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 23, 2008
Messages
28
Trophies
0
XP
51
Country
United States
I did the update by accident and confirm that the region is locked. Looks like we need to downgrade to 4.1 - any decent downgrading guide? Thanks...
 

wadzinsky

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 16, 2009
Messages
98
Trophies
0
Location
Uranus
XP
190
Country
United States
Hells Guardian said:
It is possible to restore region free capabilities in system menu 4.2......

I'm using USB Loader GX with a USB drive (obviously) on a system menu 4.2u. I am using 2 PAL games so far and they work just fine. I just have to enable 'force pal50' for them to load. I think mod chips are a thing of the past. I used to not think so until I tried a USB loader. You're much better off.
 

wadzinsky

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 16, 2009
Messages
98
Trophies
0
Location
Uranus
XP
190
Country
United States
DeadlyFoez said:
wadzinsky said:
Hells Guardian said:
It is possible to restore region free capabilities in system menu 4.2......

I'm using USB Loader GX with a USB drive (obviously) on a system menu 4.2u. I am using 2 PAL games so far and they work just fine. I just have to enable 'force pal50' for them to load. I think mod chips are a thing of the past. I used to not think so until I tried a USB loader. You're much better off.

There are things that modchips are still useful for, like making any disc be able to auto boot from the recovery menu, burned or retail (besides SSBB). It can help you get out of certain types of bricks when it is a last resort. DriveKey is best for this.

smile.gif
i've got a cyclowiz v2. Not sure if the autoboot recover works on mine. It was one of the first ever released. But this was never covered as a selling point or an option when I bought it.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
    susbaconhairman @ susbaconhairman: i got warned for "spamming" in the chat and commenting on an old post, not for calling the mods...