Does the 3DS read flashcards?

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by TheNewLeaf, Jun 27, 2017.

1. TheNewLeaf
    OP

TheNewLeaf Newbie

Newcomer
    Jun 27, 2017
    United States
    I'm a little new to the Homebrew community, and I am trying to find ways to launch Homebrew using an old 3DS, with the latest update. One of my thoughts was that I could probably put the Homebrew junk I need for launching onto a flashcard, and simply boot it up. Knowing Nintendo though, they probably wouldn't allow that to happen, but I don't know if they really do.
    TL;DR (For some reason, I guess), I am wondering if a 3DS will recognize flashcards on 11.4.

2. Pyra

Pyra GBAtemp Fan

May 7, 2017
    United States
    Ohio, USA
    They usually only work with CFW, so most of the time, not on stock.

Getting CFW on 11.4 is possible if you really want to, but using a flashcart on stock isn't, in almost every case.

Sent from my SM-G360T using Tapatalk

3. TheCyberQuake

TheCyberQuake Certified Geek

Dec 2, 2014
    United States
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    Any decent modern card will. The r4i gold card from nds-card.com works perfectly. Ones that won't work are older cards that are no longer being supported and updated.

slaphappygamer likes this.
  4. Pyra

Pyra GBAtemp Fan

May 7, 2017
    United States
    Ohio, USA
    Oh ok, don't listen to me then OP.

Sent from my SM-G360T using Tapatalk

5. lone_wolf323

lone_wolf323 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

May 27, 2011
    Canada
    you cannot load homebrew with using data put onto a flash cart, aswell old 3ds systems dont have working payloads on 11.4 to even boot homebrew apps

Quantumcat and Pyra like this.
  6. TheCyberQuake

Dec 2, 2014
    United States
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    Do you want to load 3ds homebrew or ds homebrew? Ds homebrew mostly works, but a ds flashcart would not give you access to 3ds homebrew. You were a bit vague about what you want OP

7. TheNewLeaf
    OP

TheNewLeaf Newbie

Newcomer