Hacking Does 3D Dot Game Heroes still require an external drive?

random_human_being_

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2016
Messages
129
Trophies
0
Age
77
XP
257
Country
Italy
According to this guide 3D Dot Game Heroes is the only PS3 game that has to be stored in an external drive in order for it to work properly (as in, storing it as an ISO won't fix anything). Is that information still true, or is it outdated?

---------------------

EDIT - Apparently there's a bad dump floating around. If you're using that popular website to download games for PS3, it will provide two links for 3D Dot Game Heroes. The one from Google Drive works fine, but the one from Mega has issues: 7zip will complain about bad headers when extracting it, and it will just show a black screen on PS3.

I'd report it, but they only allow Facebook comments - f**k those.
 
Last edited by random_human_being_,

Rikua

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2014
Messages
203
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
1,726
Country
United States
According to this guide 3D Dot Game Heroes is the only PS3 game that has to be stored in an external drive in order for it to work properly (as in, storing it as an ISO won't fix anything). Is that information still true, or is it outdated?
I find that EXTREMELY odd as 3d dot Game Heroes was the 1st game I ripped when the 3.41 jailbreak launched (Ahhh using an ipod mini with rocketbox, good times). I ripped it to both external and internal and they both played fine, at least for the 20 mins I played the internal version. If worse comes to worse and its the only game you want to play, grab an old thumb drive lol Pretty sure the game is small.
 

random_human_being_

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2016
Messages
129
Trophies
0
Age
77
XP
257
Country
Italy
I find that EXTREMELY odd as 3d dot Game Heroes was the 1st game I ripped when the 3.41 jailbreak launched (Ahhh using an ipod mini with rocketbox, good times). I ripped it to both external and internal and they both played fine, at least for the 20 mins I played the internal version.

The page I linked states that it is prone to freezing and various glitches when run from the internal HDD, whether 20 minutes should be enough to encounter one I have no clue.

If worse comes to worse and its the only game you want to play, grab an old thumb drive lol Pretty sure the game is small.

Oh, sure. Mine is not an issue in any sense of the word, I'd simply rather have my whole collection in a single HDD.
 

qqq1

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
210
Trophies
1
XP
2,011
Country
United States
I ripped the game in ye olden hack times and only just now played it with the new hack. Worked fine for the hour I played.
 

random_human_being_

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2016
Messages
129
Trophies
0
Age
77
XP
257
Country
Italy
I ripped the game in ye olden hack times and only just now played it with the new hack. Worked fine for the hour I played.

I eventually got around to try it myself, but the game won't load - or rather, the screen just goes black, but the console doesn't crash, and I can close the game as usual.

I've used both Webman and Multiman, both ISO and folder, to no avail. I'm on Rebug 4.82 Lite, using Cobra. Did your setup differ in any meaningful way from this?
 

qqq1

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
210
Trophies
1
XP
2,011
Country
United States
I eventually got around to try it myself, but the game won't load - or rather, the screen just goes black, but the console doesn't crash, and I can close the game as usual.

I've used both Webman and Multiman, both ISO and folder, to no avail. I'm on Rebug 4.82 Lite, using Cobra. Did your setup differ in any meaningful way from this?

I didn't do anything special to run it. It was years ago that I got it and never ran it until the new hack came out. All I have is exactly what was said to install in the hack tutorial and multiman.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
    Doctor-Masu @ Doctor-Masu: ahjjj