1. XpertNoobhacker

    OP XpertNoobhacker Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2019
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    United States
    Hello guys new to this forum. Really need the advice though
    I have a switch on atmosphere 10.x(really sorry not too sure and I'm not by my switch right now.)
    And the switch FW is on 9.1I belive.
    Anyway how to Update from here without a brick. Or indeed do I need to update
    I'm trying to play animal crossing I think the Base game may run as is but I'd like to know if updating is simple as replacing the atmosphere files

    Thanks in advance :)
     
  2. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    9,746
    Country:
    Italy
    You would need to update if you want to play newer games.
     
  3. XpertNoobhacker

    OP XpertNoobhacker Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2019
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    United States
    Okay and to do this I need to turn switch off and just replace atmosphere and Sept with new? Sorry I'm literally a noob with a switch I kinda feel like my nan with a phone :(
     
  4. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    9,746
    Country:
    Italy
    Yea typically when there is newer firmware, usually there is a requirement of a new atmosphere build, but you can do that through FTP or through homebrew apps that update Atmosphere and Signature patches.
     
  5. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    18,665
    Country:
    United States
    take this with a grain of salt as I know very little about the switch, but I think you can patch firmware version with nsc builder. I remember seeing that in there. if you've been to that dark site, I think they patch a lot of updates and dlc especially for lower firmware, which I'm pretty sure is the cause of the corrupt reading by nsp verify.
     
  6. XpertNoobhacker

    OP XpertNoobhacker Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2019
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    United States
    Okay makes sense. Well thank you so much Ive heard about choisomthing or other to update switch firmware without burning fuses? Didn't really see a difference as it's not like the exploit shouldn't work as it's hardware based?
    Anyway thanks for your time if I may just trouble you once more is Jits still around/ should I be able to connect to them even on older atmosphere
     
  7. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    9,746
    Country:
    Italy
    ChoidujourNX was the option to updating prior to release of Atmosphere own system updater app call Daybreak.
     
  8. XpertNoobhacker

    OP XpertNoobhacker Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2019
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    United States
    Ahh hello God reborn(recognise you from ps vitasection) yes I am in the boat of giving a cat a pc haha feel I'm in deep here even though people probably laughing at my noobness haha thanks for all the help everyone

    And I see thankyou that clears things up and helps alot guys :)
     
    Last edited by XpertNoobhacker, Aug 27, 2020
  9. fvig2001

    fvig2001 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    581
    Country:
    Philippines
    In your case:

    1. Backup atmosphere files (move to another folder in the SD card)
    2. Download latest atmosphere and extract to root of SD card
    3. Download sigpatches (if needed)
    4. Download latest update from some site and extract it to a folder in the SD card
    5. Launch CFW through your preferred method
    6. Go to homebrew menu
    7. Launch daybreak and select the update folder and install and restart the switch after
     
    XpertNoobhacker likes this.
  10. XpertNoobhacker

    OP XpertNoobhacker Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2019
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    United States
    Now that seems pretty fool proof thankyou I will. I read of so many bricked switches and I'm not sure I'd be able to find another exploitable one easy enough lol
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - update, switch,