Do I Need a Disc?

Discussion in 'PS3 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by Play Time, Oct 4, 2011.

  1. Play Time
    OP

    Play Time Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Oct 4, 2011
    United States
    Hi guys

    I'm new to all this softmodding so I've been reading loads of guides...

    The problem is that my dvd drive doesn't always work (one of the reasons why i want to softmod it) and all the guides I've read say that in order to play games off the hard drive or usb, that there must be a ps3 game in the dvd drive.


    Am i just reading very old guides or is this still the case?


    Also can someone point me to the most up to date guide?


    Thanks guys [​IMG]
     
  2. Ryupower

    Ryupower Brood

    Member
    2,905
    426
    Oct 8, 2007
    United States
    most game need a ps3 game disc in the dive to work
     
  3. Play Time
    OP

    Play Time Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Oct 4, 2011
    United States

    Thanks for the quick reply [​IMG]

    Is there a list of games that can be played ?
     
  4. mehrab2603

    mehrab2603 GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    341
    25
    Sep 29, 2008
    Bulgaria
    Dhaka
    Most games need discs in drive to play, but there is a workaround to that. You can use modified Eboots to launch games directly from the XMB, thus not needing any backup launcher like MultiMan and no need for disc in tray either.
     
  5. Play Time
    OP

    Play Time Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Oct 4, 2011
    United States


    Wow thanks


    Now what does all that mean......lol

    Is there any good step by step guides you recommend (that are up to date)?
     
  6. Play Time
    OP

    Play Time Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Oct 4, 2011
    United States
    Aren't we allowed to talk about guides on here?
     
  7. steve-p

    steve-p GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    503
    0
    Apr 13, 2009
    if you download multiman there is a utility in the rar that can convert the eboot to xmb mode - like psn stuff.

    what it means is that the games show in the main menu - i dont know if they work from the usb drive like that though - you may have to keep them on the internal drive.
     
  8. Play Time
    OP

    Play Time Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Oct 4, 2011
    United States

    Thanks ill look in to what all this means [​IMG]


    How would i go about getting the games onto the internal hard drive?

    Would it be a case of putting the game iso onto a usb stick then copying it from there to the hard drive?

    BTW.... I've just checked my firmware version and it says I'm on version 3.15 is that good?





    .
     
  9. Play Time
    OP

    Play Time Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Oct 4, 2011
    United States
    ??
     
  10. ilman

    ilman Gbatemp's Official Noise Eraser

    Member
    1,130
    243
    Jul 25, 2010
    Shibuya
    Don't double post. [​IMG]
     
  11. azoreseuropa

    azoreseuropa GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    5,598
    790
    Nov 6, 2002
    Portugal
    Proud to be Portuguese but I am in USA.
    Not true. Some game need a ps3 game disc in the drive to work. Not most of them. Here:

    http://www.ps3jblist.com/

    Its old but you got an idea. [​IMG]

    I got most games are discless and I am using WD External Hard Drive.. Some of them require to be playable in Internal Hard Drive like God of War 3 (you can use basketball disc to run this game in internal hard drive to be playable [​IMG])
     
  12. alex_0706

    alex_0706 darknessblade

    Member
    244
    21
    May 8, 2010
    Netherlands
    dont mod you ps3
    this will ban you from the ps network
    and totally not because you are an rookie at this

    just for imformation
     
  13. Play Time
    OP

    Play Time Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Oct 4, 2011
    United States

    I'm shocked to hear that from someone on here as from reading on other sites, it seems that gbatemp are the pros.

    I never play any of my consoles online. In fact i think the last time i did was with mario kart on the wii....lol

    I've modded about 5 wii’s in the past but i cant seem to find a good up to date guide on toing the ps3 [​IMG]
     
  14. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    17,675
    8,288
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    3.15 is fine (don't go past 3.55).

    The best choice is to upgrade to 3.55 (with a cfw).
    You have a tutorial to install Kmeaw cfw 3.55 in the sticky topics here.


    Then, you can use a game manager to backup games to HDD (internal or external).
    I made a guide to learn how to use multiMAN. It's not covering the latest version, but it's working the same way, you just have more feature in the last version.


    I also made a tutorial to create "PSN like" games icon which appears on the XMB.
    It's in the guide and tutorial forum too. (I guess you didn't look very hard, stickied topics and tutorial forum are easy to find in a second! and they are still "up to date", there's no new way to do it.)

    Recently, like few days ago, Dean also released a tool to play PS3 games from burned disc (DVD or BD), no game manager or payload required (only clean cfw without payload, like kmeaw).
    http://www.ps3hax.net/2011/10/released-discboot-play-ps3-games-from-dvdblu-ray/