Dios Mios Issues

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by BLsquared, Nov 15, 2014.

  1. BLsquared
    OP

    BLsquared Game Programmer

    Member
    141
    66
    Nov 25, 2012
    United States
    The United States of America
    I have been using Dios Mios (Not Lite) in conjunction with CFG USB Loader to load Gamecube games from a 16 GB PNY Flash Drive. Things work fine when loading the games from there, but when playing most retail discs, the game freezes. This usually happens when loading a file or menu: for example, I can boot up Metroid Prime 2 just fine, but the game crashes when loading my save file. Do you guys have any ideas as to why this is happening, and how I may fix it? I have looked all over the internet for answers, but have found none.
    Thank you,
    BLsquared.

    UPDATE:
    To those who also have this issue, do the following:
    -Install a clean MIOSv10 over DIOS MIOS.
    -Install Nintendont (a GCN interpreter for Wii, vWii and WiiU that doesn't need the MIOS)
    -Edit the meta.xml for CFG USB Loader to enable AHBProt. See the Nintendont OP for details.

    Now you should be able to run retail discs fine, while still being able to play backups through Nintendont. Thanks to Cyan for helping me out!
     
  2. jiBYoNZ

    jiBYoNZ Member

    Newcomer
    12
    0
    Nov 22, 2014
    New Zealand
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    I may be wrong, but I think I did read somewhere that installing Dios Mios will stop you being able to play games in the disc drive. You should install the game then run it from usb.
     
  3. Makarew

    Makarew Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Jul 31, 2014
    United States
    Does your disc have a scratch? Try testing it on a different Wii or Gamecube.
     
  4. BLsquared
    OP

    BLsquared Game Programmer

    Member
    141
    66
    Nov 25, 2012
    United States
    The United States of America
    Thing is, it worked before installing Dios Mios, and Metroid Prime 2 is not the only game that suddenly doesn't work; in fact, only two of my retail Gamecube discs actually run, and they're much more scratched up than any of my others.
    I did try ripping MP2 as a workaround, but it kept failing, apparently due to "unclean disc". Will try again after a good cleaning.\
    But, when the real disc crashes during loading my game (or starting a new one), there is no "Clean Disc" message or anything as that; usually it would have one, right? Assuming cleanliness is suddenly the issue with all but two of my games...
     
  5. Makarew

    Makarew Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Jul 31, 2014
    United States
    Try installing lite then launching them. Lite should work with discs. I've had it installed for a while and my discs always work. If they launch, they should be able to be ripped. After they're ripped, you can switch back from lite.
     
  6. BLsquared
    OP

    BLsquared Game Programmer

    Member
    141
    66
    Nov 25, 2012
    United States
    The United States of America
    But Dios Mios Lite works only on SD cards; I have no SD cards larger than 2GB. Also, I found this thread while Googling: https://gbatemp.net/threads/dios-mios-works-with-retail-discs-or-not.338030/
    Sounds as my using CFG may be the problem; this guy suggusts using USB GX. I'll try that....
    On a side note, I tested my 4 Gamecube discs and found that 2/4 of them work:
    Don't Work:
    Disney's Extreme Skate Adventure
    Metroid Prime 2 Echoes
    Work:
    Lego Star Wars II
    Frogger: The Rescue

    Don't get why MP2 and Skate don't run; and they both stop when loading a saved file. Hmmm.... Still going to test out GX.
     
  7. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    18,292
    8,763
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    DIOS MIOS works with Disc only if you have the USB FAT32 inserted.
    because It first checks if the USB is present and try to mount it before checking the disc.

    I guess the same happen with DIOS MIOS Lite and SD Card.

    DIOS MIOS (Lite) from disc can be launched from two different methods:
    Disc channel : it works, but with all default settings.
    From a loader : You can set different options (like screenshot, debugger, etc.) but not all settings are working.


    The loader you use to launch gamecube games doesn't have any effect on the compatibility.
    All they are doing is tell the console to reboot in gamecube mode and delete itself from memory. Then the console reboots and load the data located in the MIOS slot (MIOS or DIOS MIOS or DIOS MIOS Lite) to read the disc or ISO. What matters is the version of the IOS file you installed in the MIOS slot.


    If you have an issue with a game when playing from disc, it's not because "it's not working with disc", but maybe because of the version you are using (did you try old one? 2.8 for example instead of 2.11). DM(L) doesn't have 100% compatibility, either from ISO or Disc. Maybe some games have issues.
    It could also be your disc, but if many games have this issue I suppose it's not the disc issue (maybe the drive?).


    If you are using a Retail disc from your own region, you can reinstall MIOS v10 to re-enable official disc launching.
     
  8. BLsquared
    OP

    BLsquared Game Programmer

    Member
    141
    66
    Nov 25, 2012
    United States
    The United States of America
    Thanks; I cannot get GX to work (Freezes at "init USB Device"), and I was using DM 2.8 awhile back and it failed to work with GX. Back to CFG it is.
    The drive is a 16GB PNY USB 2.0 Flash Drive. I think it's on the list of working things; plus, this is the only place I have issues with it.
    I'll look at other DM versions and see what I can come up with...
     
  9. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    18,292
    8,763
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    if USBLoaderGX freeze at init USB, you can try to boot without USB. It will tell you that it's going into "channel mode" and deactivate USB listing.
    Then go to settings > Loader Settings > Loader's IOS : set to 58
    reboot the loader, then re-enable USB (4th icon at the top, select either Wii or gameCube listing), and next time you reboot with the USB connected it should work.


    But if CFG or Wiiflow works for you, that's fine too.
    Like I said, it shouldn't matter what loader you are using.
     
  10. BLsquared
    OP

    BLsquared Game Programmer

    Member
    141
    66
    Nov 25, 2012
    United States
    The United States of America
    OK, will try; I'll also install DM 2.10, see if that changes anything.

    EDIT:
    OK, tried changing IOS to 58; says I have no IOS58 and changes it to 200. Guess I don't have 58 installed...?
     
  11. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    18,292
    8,763
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    latest version is 2.11 (but it adds only an ISO access speed feature), it shouldn't affect disc loading.
     
  12. BLsquared
    OP

    BLsquared Game Programmer

    Member
    141
    66
    Nov 25, 2012
    United States
    The United States of America
    OK. I'll go with 2.11 then; assuming I don't already have it...

    EDIT:
    Already have 2.11 installed. What now? Guess I'll install ios58 for good measure. Looks like its for USB; maybe that's my issue?
    Re-EDIT:
    Already have IOS58. ugh....
     
  13. BLsquared
    OP

    BLsquared Game Programmer

    Member
    141
    66
    Nov 25, 2012
    United States
    The United States of America
    OK: back to square 1. Time for a recap:
    Dios Mios 2.11- installed
    IOS58 - installed?
    USB Loader GX - Does not work; says I don't have IOS58, but IOS58 Installer fails (But the corner of the screen says I'm running IOS58 already)
    CFG Loader - Works fine
    YAWMM - Fails to install anything: error after selecting WAD. Thus I cannot install old Dios Mios versions.
    Metroid Prime 2 Disc - Still doesn't work, and cannot be ripped (Will give Disc Dirty error or altogether freeze and corrupt my flash drive)
    Might try running someone else's backup of MP2 and see if it works; if it does, than it must be an issue with my disc. If it doesn't, than it's a DM compatibiliy issue.
    Any other ideas?
     
  14. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    18,292
    8,763
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    it's strange that you have so many issues.
    Did you use pimpmywii ?


    if you have IOS58, USBLoaderGX should work (you are using r1233? or old 3.0 r1180?)
    YAWMM should work (even without IOS58) if you have latest version.
    IOS58 is not needed for DIOS MIOS.
     
  15. BLsquared
    OP

    BLsquared Game Programmer

    Member
    141
    66
    Nov 25, 2012
    United States
    The United States of America
    Nope; never used pimpmywii. Should I?
    Anyways, I'll pass on USB GX since CFG seems to be working as normal. Still have yet to test the backup of MP2; Thanksgiving and all.
    I'll look more into the YAWMM thing too.
    Thanks for all your help thus far.

    EDIT:
    I saw an alternate loader called nintendont; do you think that maybe I could use it as an alternative to Dios Mios, or should I not since, it being an interpreter, it may not have the compatibility and speed of Dios Mios?
     
  16. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    18,292
    8,763
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    No, don't use pimpmywii without understanding what you need (it will mess up your softmod).

    Yes, you should definitely try Nintendont instead of DIOS MIOS.
    DM is not working with all HDD and is harder to setup. Nintendont is easier and supports more features, no installation required (just copy to SD and launch it)


    I still don't know why GX is not working. Sorry.
     
  17. BLsquared
    OP

    BLsquared Game Programmer

    Member
    141
    66
    Nov 25, 2012
    United States
    The United States of America
    OK. Looked into Nintendont:
    It does not support retail discs.
    So, here's the new plan:
    Re-install old Mios.
    Install Nintendont for backup loading.

    Theoretically, this should fix everything!

    EDIT:
    Yup, that fixed it! I ended up using MMM to install the old clean MIOSv10 wad, (turns out I was loading the wrong IOS!) and installed Nintendon't and set up CFG USB Loader to use it instead. I can not only run the MP2 retail disc properly now, but I can even run it's backup from Nintendon't just fine!
    Yay! I'll update the OP to better inform others with this issue.

    Thank you so very much for your help, Cyan!
     
    Margen67 likes this.