CycloDS vs Supercard II

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by lucablight, Oct 2, 2010.

Oct 2, 2010

CycloDS vs Supercard II by lucablight at 2:52 PM (3,129 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. lucablight
    OP

    Newcomer lucablight Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Australia
    With the lack of updates on the CycloDS site and their website going down altogether I was thinking of changing from the CycloDS to a Super Card II. From my understand this is currently the best DS flashcart around in terms of features. Just a few questions.

    1.) Is it possible to convert my CycloDS save files so that the Supercard II supports them?

    2.) Can I run GBA games through the DS without emulating them with a Supercard II (I have an ez flash v 3 in 1)

    3.) How does the support for the Supercard compare to the CycloDS? Does it run games like Pokemon black and white, last window if I use a clean dump?
     
  2. Clookster

    Banned Clookster Your Clookster

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    710
    Location:
    Suisse Romande
    Country:
    Switzerland
    I really don't understand these CycloDS fans.

    When you think that CycloDs is the best: Why don't you try to support your card?

    The DSTT has (almost) no support, but it gets updates from the community. From real Nintgendo fans that care for each other. And for a simple $5 card.

    And you simply don't care? Now you simply switch to the "second best" DS card, just because it's the most expensive one? [​IMG]
     
  3. Gariscus

    Member Gariscus Former Team Cyclops Mod

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Country:
    Australia
    1. No need to convert.

    2. Yes

    3. Support is great, Pokemon B/W work. I don't think Last Window works yet... I could be wrong however. [​IMG]
     
  4. tajio

    Member tajio GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    403
    Location:
    Northern Ireland, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    1. It is possible.

    2. Hmm ... I don't know about this one, but I think it is possible.

    3. The support is very good, if not excellent. Pokemon Black and White run perfectly.

    Final: Get the SCDS2! It is currently the best flashcart out (feature wise).
     
  5. Isaac_GS

    Newcomer Isaac_GS Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    United States
    1) No need, Most DS saves are cross-compatible between cards. Unless you mean Real-Time Saves, those aren't.

    2) I don't know. You might want to keep your Cyclo for this, switching between Supercard and Cyclo as needed.

    3) The Supercard DSTWO's built-in processor "emulates" the actual retail DS cart, so many games with AP don't need to be patched on the DSTWO. Examples are Dragon Quest IX, Pokemon Black and White Versions, and others that I don't remember. Pokemon BW I specifically remember not needing to patch because it was the only card that worked completely before the patches were made. You might remember that Cyclo also worked without a patch for DQIX (U), but it was the ONLY Exception, and I think that's because they already fixed the AP for the Japanese version. The DSTWO has a much higher success rate, and is still being supported.
     
  6. EJames2100

    Member EJames2100 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    494
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The 3in1 can only be used by using Rudolph's Homebrew I think.
     
  7. impizkit

    Member impizkit Lazy Lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    943
    Country:
    Australia
    This isnt true. There is a plugin for gba use through the 3in1. Or you can just use the GBA Emulator.
     
  8. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,674
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Actually, I've heard that Last Window works clean on the DSTwo, it's one of the first posts on the release thread [​IMG]
     
  9. Overlord Nadrian

    Banned Overlord Nadrian Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,671
    Location:
    Riviera
    Country:
    Belgium
    Most new games work with AP just work on the DSTWO without any kind of patch, because of the way the DSTWO patches ROMs when loading them (or rather, doesn't patch them).
     
  10. pichon64

    Member pichon64 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    321
    Country:
    Uruguay
    What? We have to start a personal crusade to 'save' a flash card each time the support team disappear? No, thank you. If CycloDS is gone, as customers we should move to another product. Most people that 'supports' the DSTT is because they can't afford another card. Sorry for them.

    And Supercard DSTwo is the best, no matter the price.
     
  11. TifasRevenge

    Newcomer TifasRevenge Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Hey now, I'm moving off of the CycloDS just because it's been abandoned like a stepchild. If there's no longer any support team, wouldn't you do the same thing? Besides, I've had my CycloDS for a while, it is just a matter of upgrading as I would my computer from an Intel P4 to a Quad Core. It's the same thing as going from Windows 98 to XP, no different. The only difference is that Microsoft supports their older products longer, such as XP, even though I'm running Windows 7, but small development teams such as Cyclops Team usually lose support quickly because they have competition, and not enough support for themselves. It's just all a matter of business. Besides, the original poster probably didn't think that the Cyclo is the best right now, you totally read his post wrong thinking he didn't care (or maybe you could just be trolling).
     
  12. Black_Knight_666

    Member Black_Knight_666 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Its a bit of a no brainer! scds2 is easily the best fc available!
     
  13. EJames2100

    Member EJames2100 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    494
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There is ?

    I wasn't aware of anything like this, link ?
     
  14. lucablight
    OP

    Newcomer lucablight Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks to everyone who answered my questions.

    lol what? Teamcyclops are the ones that haven't updated the firmware for the latest popular releases. Teamcyclops are the ones who haven't logged onto their forums for months. Teamcyclops who charged their users premium dollars and then didn't even have the courtesy to issue a statement before disappearing.
    I don't understand what point you're trying to make? Is buying a card that is still actively supported over one that appears to be dead some kind of betrayal?
    You can continue your blind support if you want. I'll move onto another cart where it looks like the developers still give a damn.
     
  15. nl255

    Member nl255 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,998
    Country:
    1. No need to convert, however your game save must be in the same directory/folder as the rom so you might have to move the save files around if you use the alternate save. As for text files, the DSTwo works best with unmodified text files, not ones run through LineBreaker.

    2. Yes, but you will need to use the GBA Exploader homebrew app, which works fine except for the soft reset. You can put it on the plugin menu if you want. Rumble is supported natively and there are cheat codes to let the browser work with the 3 in 1's ram.

    3. Support is great. They had a fix for DSi firmware 1.4.1 within a day of it's release. Not only that, but unlike the CycloDS you don't have to update the firmware much if at all (there has only been one firmware update) as the firmware is seperate from the GUI and game loader. All of the game fixes are contained within the EOS which is loaded from the SD card which makes updating easy (just download the newest EOS and get the newest ndspatch). Unfortunately, their documentation is not very good and it took quite a bit of trial and error to figure out how to use some of the features.
     
  16. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    link
     
  17. hullo8d

    Member hullo8d GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    501
    Country:
    United States
    That plugin only supports Commercial GBA games and GBA flashcarts, since the 3in1 is just RAM it'll just freeze at the GBA logo or play the last game you mounted using GBA Exploader.
     
  18. nl255

    Member nl255 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,998
    Country:
    The 3 in 1 has two modes, RAM (limited to 16MB, but fast) and NOR (very slow to write, but can play any GBA ROM). The GBA Plugin will run the last ROM you flashed to NOR, just like if you had removed the cart and used it on a real GBA (assuming you could get it to fit right).
     
  19. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    didn't know this, sorry, I dont' have a 3-in-1 [​IMG]
     

Share This Page