Custom Images for Wii Settings

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by 56killer, Feb 1, 2009.

Feb 1, 2009

Custom Images for Wii Settings by 56killer at 6:00 PM (11,478 Views / 0 Likes) 55 replies

  1. 56killer
    OP

    Member 56killer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    137
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    So I started poking around some Wii System files and changing some stuff and came up with this. I will if I can make a list of every image and what is his function on the Wii. Also will see if I can see what is the resolution of every image.

    [​IMG]

    Some Info:
    This has the save risk of brick like a custom health warning because can be install using SoftMii Tweaks.
    Will see how much I can change by tonight to upload another picture.

    Progress:
    1.Been able to change the Wii Remote cursor.
    2. Change the system Clock well at leas the font.
    3. Change Wii Channels Shape. My Favorite by far.

    So I started helping Ften making the wii system image charts.
    Here

    List:
    Cursor.ash Image BreakDown
    Chanttl.ash Image Breakdown
    Sofkeybd.ash Image Breakdown
    Setupsel.ash Image Breakdown
    Setting.ash Image Breakdown
    Setupbg.ash Image Breakdown
    Setupbtn.ash Image Breakdown
    Address.ash Image Breakdown
    Balloon.ash Image Breakdown
    Credits to ften For letting us use his site to host the charts and for making the majority of the charts so far.

    WARNING!
    You shouldn't mess with the system menu. You could brick your Wii. DON'T DO IT MAN![​IMG]
    If you really really want to mess with it you have to have preloader and know what you are doing.[​IMG]
     


  2. HaniKazmi

    Member HaniKazmi GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,657
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm trying a similar thing. Where exactly did you find these images?
     
  3. Adr990

    Member Adr990 To boldly go where no man has gone before!

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,469
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Woah, Nice man!

    Witch files are these? (where, and named)
    And witch size Images?

    Thanks for sharing!
     
  4. masterjoel201

    Member masterjoel201 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Country:
    United States
    Nice, keep up the good work!
     
  5. HaniKazmi

    Member HaniKazmi GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,657
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    the files are in 00000001.app/html/iplsetting.ash
     
  6. Adr990

    Member Adr990 To boldly go where no man has gone before!

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,469
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Ah, I saw that one...
    Just... I can't view them so I don't know the sizes... [​IMG]
    That is the only this refuse us to change them ATM right?
     
  7. HaniKazmi

    Member HaniKazmi GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,657
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you can replace them, even though you cant view them
     
  8. Adr990

    Member Adr990 To boldly go where no man has gone before!

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,469
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Just with any size Image?
    -> no brick / error if install (Via SoftMii Tweak of course)
     
  9. HaniKazmi

    Member HaniKazmi GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,657
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    not sure, the above info is what 56killer told me and i havent tried it myself yet. He's using 60*60 images
     
  10. bebs

    Member bebs GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    216
    Country:

    loool abraaa cadabraaaa!



    EDIT: which/witch not the same thing...
     
  11. Adr990

    Member Adr990 To boldly go where no man has gone before!

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,469
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    W/e... Spam...
     
  12. Blue-K

    Member Blue-K No right of appeal.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Helvetica
    Country:
    Switzerland
    All I can say is:

    Thank you and keep it going [​IMG]. I'm ready to start at a "Skin", and can't wait to start!!!
     
  13. Don Killah

    Member Don Killah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,127
    Country:
    France
    At this rate, will have a custom system menu in no time.
    Keep up the great stuff guys!
     
  14. forbore

    Member forbore GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    247
    Location:
    /dev/canada/quebec
    Country:
    Canada
    Good job! THis is very promising! Soon, we won't even recognize the SM! [​IMG] Good job!
     
  15. Adr990

    Member Adr990 To boldly go where no man has gone before!

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,469
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I can't extract the iplsetting.ash with ASH.exe from Crediar...
    "This is not a vaild ASH file"
    Other ASH files are able to extract...
    (Both U8Tool.exe and U8extr.exe -> the .app)
     
  16. icefireicefire

    Member icefireicefire GBATemp Fails.

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    961
    Country:
    United States
    it is a u8, not an ASH, even though the file name is ASH.

    I reccommend parse-U8.c for U8 unpacking and U8Tool for packing everything but U8's with TPLs in them.
     
  17. houseonfire

    Member houseonfire GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    285
    Country:
    United States
  18. robiul

    Member robiul GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    538
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United States
    Is there anyway we can have a custom background on the channel selection screen with the channels in the foreground?
     
  19. nicksasa

    Member nicksasa GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,410
    Country:
    Belgium
    i can view the tpl's but not with tplconv but with tpledit from howardc i already have a fully modified menu totally in blue [​IMG]
     
  20. robiul

    Member robiul GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    538
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United States
    Could you get a custom image?
     

Share This Page