custom firmware for sega flashback 2018

Discussion in 'Other Consoles & Oldies' started by WD_GASTER2, Nov 17, 2018.

  1. kublai

    kublai GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    6
    May 29, 2008
    United States
    So is this firmware safe to use? Will the SDCard slot will still be available to load additional ROMS?
     
  2. rrifonas

    rrifonas GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    4
    Jan 28, 2009
    United States
    Yes, it is safe. It will replace the data partition with a clean one with SD Card support, if you have any save states they will be deleted.
    This is the way rockchip updates work, it replaces the entire partition.
     
  3. kublai

    kublai GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    6
    May 29, 2008
    United States
    I see. Thanks for sharing your knowledge as I'm just starting with this stuff.
     
  4. WD_GASTER2
    OP

    WD_GASTER2 I tinker and code.

    Member
    5
    Jun 17, 2018
    France
    so wait did they just release their own version that allows rom loading off the sd card?
     
  5. dcuk7

    dcuk7 Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    2
    Dec 17, 2018
    United Kingdom
    Yes. The 20181221 firmware has SD card support by default.

    Still doesn't allow spaces in the file names. Don't think it supports box art (I've tried all kinds of different naming conventions and even separate folders with no luck).
     
  6. WD_GASTER2
    OP

    WD_GASTER2 I tinker and code.

    Member
    5
    Jun 17, 2018
    France
    if that is the case i think ill remove my links. if its officially supported now i think its superfluous to have mine up.
     
  7. rrifonas

    rrifonas GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    4
    Jan 28, 2009
    United States
    Any of these changes would involve update the emulator / menu (and it's partition). This update doesn't touch anything besides the '/data' partition, where there is a file to enable SD Card support. This partition stores the save games, save states, and a couple of configuration files for the emulator.
     
  8. Steve_Rose

    Steve_Rose Member

    Newcomer
    1
    Dec 26, 2018
    United Kingdom
    Random question, if someone out of sheer curiosity (and stupidity) decided to randomly try to flash the 'Legends' flashback firmware to the 2018 Megadrive / genesis flashback unit which failed, and then the original firmware was reflashed... and boots fine BUT all the built in games have disappeared, any idea how to get them back? the unit still works and loads games from SD card but all the built in games have gone bye bye, and as it is a 2018 unit, I dont think its possible to ADB onto the unit?

    Steve
     
  9. Steve_Rose

    Steve_Rose Member

    Newcomer
    1
    Dec 26, 2018
    United Kingdom
    Don't worry about my previous question, I have got around the issue, turns out that my device also had an unfortunate hardware issue and required replacing.... (genuine) I now have a new unit and will not be D**king around with this one (beyond the SD and sega cd patches)
     
  10. rrifonas

    rrifonas GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    4
    Jan 28, 2009
    United States
    If you applied the legends update from the Atgames site you have installed an update that breaks the rom and data partition. Flashing the genesis update replaces the data partition but the rom partition will be broken until someone can share it (It can be applied as any other update).

    The legends flashback partitions are slightly different from the genesis flashback (emulator partition is larger), and it may partially brick the console.

    My recommendation is always apply the update for the right system.
     
    Steve_Rose likes this.
  11. ebey11

    ebey11 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Dec 25, 2018
    Canada
    I've updated the system with the official Atgames update and loaded roms to my sd card but the sd card option on the menu stays greyed out. Any ideas? They are .bin and have no spaces. I have them in the main folder as well as a "GAMES" folder

    Edit - nevermind realized the folder has to be "GAME" not "GAMES"
     
    Last edited by ebey11, Dec 28, 2018
  12. churchyjr

    churchyjr Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Dec 28, 2018
    United States
    Sorry if I don’t fully understand this, I went to AtGames firmware download page and downloaded the 132 MB file. I have a 2GB SD card and formatted it to FAT, FAT 32 also used SD Formatter and it formatted to FAT 16 (all of this on Windows 10). I changed the file name to sega_update.img and dragged it on the root with NOTHING on the card. I insert the SD Card before powering on (2018 model with no ADB support) and every time it loads the main menu with games. I NEVER get an update firmware screen. I don’t know what I’m doing wrong :(
     
  13. rrifonas

    rrifonas GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    4
    Jan 28, 2009
    United States
    SD Card should be formatted as FAT32.
    Try to create some save states and use the "Settings" in the menu to copy them to the SD Card. If this action works, the SD Card is being detected.
    Filename is correct, It's sega_update.img.
     
  14. Steve_Rose

    Steve_Rose Member

    Newcomer
    1
    Dec 26, 2018
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for taking the time to reply, I'm not normally as stupid as to do this, but turns out on this occasion I was (I thing I assumed there would be some kind of check done on the image before it was applied)
    As mentioned, one of my controllers also developed a fault (which was fortunate) so I was able to return the device without feeling guilty about it!

    Its a shame that we cannot ADB to the unit at the moment, it would be nice to add games with box art etc and maybe have sub sections for sega cd etc.

    Im loving the unit and I have the wife distracted playing Spyro on our Snes mini with PSX running on it ;) so plenty of time to play lol.

    Thanks
    Steve
     
  15. rrifonas

    rrifonas GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    4
    Jan 28, 2009
    United States
    I think Atgames is "almost there" this year.

    The console is nice, the wireless controllers are fine and it can read cartridges.

    ADB doesn't work because it is running Linux instead of Android.

    It would be nice if atgames can port the last update from Legends Flashback to the Genesis Flashback as the emulation looks better. And I hope they can provide some way to use custom box arts in the SD Card...
     
  16. churchyjr

    churchyjr Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Dec 28, 2018
    United States
    I’ll definitely try the format method to FAT 32 later today. When you download the firmware update for the sega do you rename it after it’s downloaded or do you rename it while you are at the save as prompt? Doubt it makes a difference. Just wish there was a small video of how to actually update the firmware! Cuz once that’s set I can easily put a GAME folder and load up bins
     
  17. dcuk7

    dcuk7 Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    2
    Dec 17, 2018
    United Kingdom
    Doesn't matter how you rename it, just as long as the name is sega_update.img and it is on the root of the SD card. The card doesn't even have to be empty.
     
  18. churchyjr

    churchyjr Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Dec 28, 2018
    United States
    Ok officially stumped on just updating the firmware. I formatted the SD Card that I have of 2GB to FAT32 with windows 10. Then inserted it into the sega HD, played 2 games off it and saved them, went into settings and backed up to SD card to make sure the SD card is indeed reading the console. Loaded the SD card into PC and it created a data folder and inside were the 2 saved games. Ok so far so good. Now I took the sega_update.img file from the official Atgames website for the sega HD firmware the newest one and dragged that onto the root of the SD card right under the data folder (not inside it). Plugged the SD card into the unit BEFORE powering on and then powered on the system only to be brought to the main menu with the games. No screen of 'updating console'. I have no idea what Im doing wrong at this point if someone is kind enough to help out :)
     
  19. WD_GASTER2
    OP

    WD_GASTER2 I tinker and code.

    Member
    5
    Jun 17, 2018
    France
    use SD FORMATTER. it helps a lot.
     
  20. churchyjr

    churchyjr Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Dec 28, 2018
    United States
    SD Formatter did the trick!!! I also am using an iMac and it totally made a difference. Windows 10 for some reason just wouldn't do it I don't get why. When I was on Windows 10 it would detect the game saves in the data folder and when I dragged the .img file into the SD Card it just wouldn't boot on the Sega HD. Did the EXACT SAME process on my iMac and it worked. Go figure...
     
  21. churchyjr

    churchyjr Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Dec 28, 2018
    United States
    Ok now just wondering how to add artwork and also how to set the games in the SD Card to be alphabetical? I have 3 Ninjas and Beavis & Butthead and Aladdin for starters and its showing on the Genesis Beavis 1st Ninjas 2nd and Aladdin 3rd. Anyway to make them show in alphabetical order and add artwork?
     
Loading...