Could I get some help getting backups to work?

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by yakuza281, May 27, 2011.

  1. yakuza281
    OP

    yakuza281 Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    May 27, 2011
    United States
    Hello, and thank you for opening the topic to help me out.

    I've tried running Darkcorps and the Backup Launcher from Wiigator (is that right?), I made sure to uninstall Darkcorps before trying the other Backup Launcher because I thought it would conflict. Could I get some help trying to get this to work? I have HBC of course, and my Wii was updated a few months ago, so I'm not sure the version.
     
  2. machomuu

    machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Member
    8,441
    599
    Sep 4, 2009
    United States
    The Courtroom
    Ok... what's not working? You never really stated what the problem was. Are the backup loaders not working? Is Darkcorp not working?
     
  3. yakuza281
    OP

    yakuza281 Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    May 27, 2011
    United States
    Quite sorry, but the backups just aren't working. Before I updated (Netflix kind of forced me to when they stopped using the disc) Darkcorps worked fine from the disc channel with backups. I tried installing Darkcorps now, and it doesn't recognize the disc. I then uninstalled Darkcorps and tried using the Backup Launcher from Wiigator. The cIOS installer gave a BAD HASH error, and the backup launcher won't start at all if I try.
     
  4. yakuza281
    OP

    yakuza281 Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    May 27, 2011
    United States
    No advice?

    I'll edit in that the Wii is 4.3u with HBC on it, now that I realized how stupid I was and missed the version in the Wii menu.
     
  5. ddetkowski

    ddetkowski GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    1,141
    56
    Jun 15, 2009
    United States
    United States
    Re - hack it with Modmii
     
  6. yakuza281
    OP

    yakuza281 Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    May 27, 2011
    United States
    I'll try doing that, thanks.
     
  7. yakuza281
    OP

    yakuza281 Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    May 27, 2011
    United States
    I successfully re-hacked using ModMii, now I would just have one final question, what would be the suggested way of playing backups on the Wii? As in, what is the current recommended loader to play backups? I don't have a USB hard drive, so I'm mostly using discs here, plus being able to load Gamecube backups would be a plus too.
     
  8. JoostinOnline

    JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Member
    10,974
    3,758
    Apr 2, 2011
    United States
    The Twilight Zone
    I strongly recommend you get a HDD and use Cfg USB Loader. Backup discs wear down your drive's lens and USB is a lot faster. Besides, you won't be saving much money by playing backup discs since you have to keep buying new ones each time one gets scratched, a game is burned wrong, or you want to backup a new game. If you go with a HDD, pick one from here:
    http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/USB_Devices_Compatibility_List
    If you decide to use discs, try NeoGamma. It's the best disc loader IMO.
     
  9. yakuza281
    OP

    yakuza281 Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    May 27, 2011
    United States
    I'll probably get a HDD sometime in the near future mostly for the advantages you listed, but for right now I'm mostly just stuck using Discs. I'll try out NeoGamma, thanks for the advice.