ROM Hack Question Copy saves between users

D-Jay

High rulez
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2009
Messages
555
Trophies
0
Age
42
Location
Home
XP
530
Country
Germany
Hey guys n girls,

just a short and simple question: Is there a way to copy saves between user profiles?
Any tool or something else?

Thanks :-)
 

xXMafraXx

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 17, 2018
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
317
Country
Brazil
Yes, create a save on the profile you want to transfer the save to. Then backup both saves with Checkpoint. After that, on the pc, copy the save files from the original profile to the new one.
 
  • Like
Reactions: D-Jay

alkar

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2013
Messages
338
Trophies
0
Age
91
XP
998
Country
United States
The "easiest" way would be to backup your current legit NAND, go do your stuff it in airplane mode with Checkpoint, then when done backup the modified raw save from your NAND to your PC, restore legit NAND back, and copy the modified save back (that is in SYSTEM partition /save). It will work.
 
  • Like
Reactions: D-Jay

D-Jay

High rulez
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2009
Messages
555
Trophies
0
Age
42
Location
Home
XP
530
Country
Germany
Uhm... I think I was misunderstanding your hint.
Could you please explain how to copy the save files back to the Switch?

I've done a NAND backup with Hekate of the clean NAND.
After that I've made a backup of the saves with Checkpoint.

So... after restoring the clean NAND... how can I replace the saves exactly?
 

alkar

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2013
Messages
338
Trophies
0
Age
91
XP
998
Country
United States
you need to backup/mount your modified NAND and copy the raw modified save that is in the USER partition (not SYSTEM, sorry my mistake) to your PC. Then after restoring your clean NAND, copy it back (if it needs renaming to match the old save, rename it).
Usuually you can isolate the file by sorting the SAVE folder by date. The file name for the raw save should be something like 0000000000000XX (some numbers or letter).
 

alkar

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2013
Messages
338
Trophies
0
Age
91
XP
998
Country
United States
Use hacdiskmount.

Obviously you need to dump your bis keys too. Which is safe since it’s done by a payload in rcm and not by home brew.
 
Last edited by alkar,
  • Like
Reactions: D-Jay

D-Jay

High rulez
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2009
Messages
555
Trophies
0
Age
42
Location
Home
XP
530
Country
Germany
That worked, thanks so far.
My next question... Checkpoint gives me two files, a Common,bin and a File1.bin... so how do have to inject / convert them?
 

alkar

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2013
Messages
338
Trophies
0
Age
91
XP
998
Country
United States
extract the other save you wanna inject these to, replace the common.bin & file1.bin on the other save, and reimport these on the other save.

When this is done, do what i've told up above.
 
  • Like
Reactions: D-Jay

D-Jay

High rulez
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2009
Messages
555
Trophies
0
Age
42
Location
Home
XP
530
Country
Germany
OMG... I'm so sorry. I really didn't understand what you mean. After some coffee it's clear. Sorry for my foolishness!
 

wurstpistole

GBAtemp MVP
Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2015
Messages
4,526
Trophies
1
XP
4,518
Country
United Kingdom
How extremely inconvenient to go through all of this just because you fear being banned for homebrew.
Has anyone actually been banned for using homebrew only? No backups, no cheating, no illicit nsps. I don't think so.
 
  • Like
Reactions: D-Jay

D-Jay

High rulez
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2009
Messages
555
Trophies
0
Age
42
Location
Home
XP
530
Country
Germany
You're absolutely right. It would be a one time scenario because I played with the wrong user on my switch.
Doing this everytime would be a pain. ;-)
 

alkar

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2013
Messages
338
Trophies
0
Age
91
XP
998
Country
United States
It’s inconvenient indeed but that’s the only way to be 100% safe. Maybe it is not worth the hassle but let’s not take any risk if there is a 100% safe solution ?
 

D-Jay

High rulez
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2009
Messages
555
Trophies
0
Age
42
Location
Home
XP
530
Country
Germany
100% safe just if you don't play xci and install nsp images ;-)

And who knows if Ninty checks the hashes...
 
Last edited by D-Jay,

D-Jay

High rulez
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2009
Messages
555
Trophies
0
Age
42
Location
Home
XP
530
Country
Germany
Okay, the save copy method doesn't work for me.
I've copied the save and saveMeta folders, started the game and it stucks at the Nintendo / Switch logo loading screen.

As soons as I start the game the second time, the old saves were removed and I have to play from the scratch.
 
Last edited by D-Jay,
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: might damage your screen?