Converting Save Files

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by gundam126, May 3, 2011.

May 3, 2011

Converting Save Files by gundam126 at 7:43 AM (3,989 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. gundam126
    OP

    Newcomer gundam126 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    So I just made the switch from an Acekard 2 (Not 2i) to a SuperCard DSTwo and everything works fine and dandy on my 3DS. The problem is however, that the save files seem to need a conversion or something. I think. Or I'm doing something wrong. So, are there any sites or tools that can convert Acekard Save Files into DSTwo save files? Or will I have to replay all of my games and cry tears of despair and agony for having to play the Dragon Quest series all over again?
     
  2. 2-bias

    Member 2-bias GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    142
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
  3. OmegaVesko

    Member OmegaVesko GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    257
    Country:
    Yugoslavia
    No conversion needed man, the DSTwo uses the same save format as the R4 and Acekard.
     
  4. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I went the same way - from a Acekard (except it was a 2i) to a DSTwo & I didn't need to covert the saves either....(I'm only using a DSi though) BUT IIRC weren't there some games that 'had problems' with sav files ??

    I'm not sure but I think some games needed 'larger' SAV files - or something like that - for them to work properly.. (I'm not sure but for some reason I've got 'Bookworm' in my head as being one of these games)

    @ OP: what is happening exactly ?
    * Does the game(s) you trying to play keep saying something like 'Save file corrupt. Creating new' - or does it just not 'see' the existing sav file.
    * Does the DSTwo 'create' a new SAV file each time you start up (or only the first time) ??
    * Is it just the one game or several that don't 'see' your existing SAV files ??
     
  5. Buleste

    Member Buleste Old Fart

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    852
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I regularly swap game saves between my AceKard 2i and SCDS2 (sometimes you just need to save on battery life) and have had no problems although I do know that the SCDS2 does not like to create save files bigger than 512k.

    Try creating a save file for the problem games on SCDS2 first and then copy the AceKard .sav to the SCDS2 card. If you are asked by your computer if you want to replace the .sav then you know your AK .sav is correctly named so it may be file size, however if yo are not asked to replace then your AK .sav is named incorrectly which is why it doesn't work in which case just rename your AK .sav to exactly the same as the SCDS2 .sav and it should then work.
     
  6. gundam126
    OP

    Newcomer gundam126 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I found the problem. As it turns out, the Acekard 2 names the save file the exact same as the game itself, including the .nds . Which means I need to rename all of them. Crap.
     
  7. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ah hang on - forgot about that (not used a Acekard for a while)

    I'm guessing you mean that the sav file is something like 'Pokemon White.nds.sav' instead of 'Pokemon White.sav'
    IIRC there's an option in the Acekard for the type of SAV file (or is that only in AKAIO ??) where you can change from '.nds.sav' to .'sav'

    If so - try changing that
     

Share This Page