Configurable USB Loader just stopped working.

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by BlazeWizard, Jan 14, 2010.

Jan 14, 2010
  1. BlazeWizard
    OP

    Newcomer BlazeWizard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    I recently installed the hybrid channel of Configurable USB Loader onto my Wii (the newest version, I think 48?), and it was working fine. But today, I tried to use it again and instead of loading the app, it simply gives me a black screen for a few seconds, then reloads the main menu.

    I installed it using WAD Manager 1.3 ( or .4 or .5, something very recent), and it worked the first few times without problem. What could have changed? I have made no other changes to the system, other than adding new games to my external HDD (using WBFS).

    Do hybrid channels require an SD card to load the app, or is it stored directly on the wii? I have no idea and this might the problem, as I do not have an SD card presently.

    Wii version 3.4, I believe. It's run backups flawlessly before when loading apps from an SD card, so I'm pretty sure my IOSs ad cIOSs are in order.
     
  2. helaciouscrumb

    Newcomer helaciouscrumb Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    United States
    Are you trying to load cfgUSB without a sd card in the wii, do you have all of the files on your external hdd then? I'm a little confused as to what's not working. Is it just your forwarder channel, or can you not load cfgUSB even through the homebrew channel?
     
  3. DVS

    Newcomer DVS Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Country:
    United States
    Unplug any devices(nunchuck, guitar) from the wii remote and see if that works. Some loader channels, have problems loading when something is attached to the wii remote. If that's the problem then try another channel/forwarder.
     
  4. BlazeWizard
    OP

    Newcomer BlazeWizard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    See, maybe that's my problem and I'm not understanding it.

    When I created the hybrid channel on my wii for cUSB, does that load the entire app onto my wii's memory, or does it simply give me a shortcut to the app, which still needs to be on an SD card? I have no SD card at the moment.

    If that's the case, is there any way to stick an app on the same HDD that the games are on?
     
  5. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    hybrid channels first look on your sd card, then your usb drive for the app to load under w/e path, if it doesn't find it, it launches the built in version of the app.

    if your hard drive is formatted as fat32 (or @ least 1 partition as fat32) , you can copy all your files from the sd card to it, and they will work in the same way
     
  6. BlazeWizard
    OP

    Newcomer BlazeWizard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    I see, but then why isn't the built-in app running? It definitely won't detect any apps on the SD card or HDD since neither have any
     
  7. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    maybe your hard drive is plugged into the wrong slot... maybe u have a priiloader black screen hack enabled by accident (does this happen when u launch ANY channel?), maybe your hard drive is asleep, try unplugging it then plugging it back in.

    Hybrid channels suck anyways, they're cool, but u may as well put the app on your sd card, then u can update easily

    honestly, i dont know what the problem is, but if i were in front of ur wii, i would delete your channel, and install my forwarder channel, and save the files to your sd card... that would solve the problem (still dont know what caused it, but i imagine u did something without realizing it, things dont stop working for no reason)
     
  8. tbgtbg

    Member tbgtbg Shaking the ring ropes up in the sky

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,951
    Country:
    United States
    First, make sure you copied all the loader's files from the SD card to the HDD, not just the apps folder.

    If you've done that, next try disconnecting the HDD, turning on the Wii, turning on the HDD (if it has external power supply), then plugging in the HDD last.

    Finally, if that doesn't work, try homebrew channel and see if that sees your HDD. If it doesn't, there's something keeping the wii from seeing the drive, it's not a problem with the loader or forwarder.
     
  9. BlazeWizard
    OP

    Newcomer BlazeWizard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    The app isn't loading in the first place, so the HDD being detected is the least of my worries.

    I bought an SD card to load it up, but I'll need to buy an SD card reader soon [​IMG]
     
  10. DGenerateKane

    Member DGenerateKane GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    330
    Country:
    United States
    Use ftpii to transfer files from your computer to your sd card in the wii.
     

Share This Page