TEMPORARY MODE ENABLED
New posts, edits, and any changes will not be saved during the transition period.
Registrations are temporarily disabled until the migration is complete.

  1. Radiobread

    OP Radiobread Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    Hi guys, it's Radiobread here, your useless friend who's probably your enemy now because of how much knowledge he lacks!

    Well, yeah, I've just downloaded Citra 3DS emulator. First of all, I'm wondering if it will work okay on my laptop. It has a next-gen Intel i5 and 8GB RAM, but an integrated graphics card. It can't run GC/PS2 emulators.

    Also, I'm looking to play Pokemon X/Y as I've never played them before. I grew up playing a lot of Pokemon, but I can't justify buying a 3DS for one game. I found this download link but the file appears to be in two separate RAR files. How will I load this into the emulator? Also what format does Citra take because I know you can get CIA and 3DS?

    Thank you.

    P.S. Just noticed I'm an advanced member with 50 posts now! yippee! halfway to the trading forum!
     
  2. mustafag32g

    mustafag32g GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2014
    Messages:
    806
    Country:
    Argentina
    1. I do not think your pc can handle, though I am not sure...
    2. Citra cant play a complex game like Pokemon "yet". In the future probably yes.
    3. Watch youtube tutorials there are a lot :-)
     
  3. Radiobread

    OP Radiobread Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    That's fine, I understand. Any other 3DS emulators that may be able to handle Pokemon X/Y? I will look up youtube for how to install it. Thank you.

    UPDATE: It's not working, and I'm not wasting my time on it. I understand the ROMs are only available for flash cards at the moment and there aren't any good 3DS emulators. I could maybe ask my friend if he still has his OG3DS and if I could borrow it.

    Thank you for your help, @mustafag32g.
     
    Last edited by Radiobread, Dec 21, 2015
  4. mustafag32g

    mustafag32g GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2014
    Messages:
    806
    Country:
    Argentina
    Actually there is one 3ds emulator called citra 3ds look it up on youtube all others are fake! It can play a lot of games actually but they are quite slow :-)
     
  5. Radiobread

    OP Radiobread Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    That's the emulator I was using, and when I said it 'didn't work' I meant that I was getting about 2 FPS. :P
     
  6. WooHyun

    WooHyun GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    132
    Country:
    Well, nobody can tell you at this moment if any computer will be okay for citra. It's not optimized yet. It still has opengl plugin and many other optimizations to be implemented and nobody can tell how heavy it would be when it is optimized. 3DS itself is somewhere around PS2/GC's specs, but it still doesn't exactly mean citra's requirement is going to be similar to pcsx2/dolphin.
    You might have to wait for years to see citra running some games playable. All we can play for now are DeSmuME - NDS emulator.;)

    P.S. I wonder if it's okay to link a rom hosting site here...
     
  7. Radiobread

    OP Radiobread Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    I just linked the Reddit thread which contained that link. And yes, I understand it's still in beta/still being developed.
     
  8. TheCasketMan

    TheCasketMan Keyblade Apprentice
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Messages:
    938
    Country:
    United States
    I remembered when DeSmume and jcpsp ran like sh!#, and then out of nowhere they ran like butter even on smartphones and my old laptop due to optimization and dynarec. The same applies for 3ds, 360, and wii u emulation. Heck, the Xbox One can run 360 games at full speed due to the optimized emulator it got. And the One has a horrible Jaguar CPU, which your i5 destroys entirely.
     
    Deleted-236924 likes this.
  9. Radiobread

    OP Radiobread Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    That's because it's native emulation - the same way the PSP can run PS1 games so nicely. I'm sure you already know that, though.
     
  10. TheCasketMan

    TheCasketMan Keyblade Apprentice
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Messages:
    938
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think the XONE has 360 hardware inside, unlike the PSP, which literally had a PS1 inside of it.

    It is just regular emulation, and why certain games like Mass Effect have worse framerate when running on the XONE.
     
  11. Radiobread

    OP Radiobread Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    ah okay. Well there I go being a numpty again! :P
     
  12. Psi-hate

    Psi-hate GBATemp's Official Psi-Hater
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,743
    Country:
    United States
    Turn on Hardware Renderer and Shader JIT to make it faster.
     
  13. Radiobread

    OP Radiobread Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    I've deleted it now. I'm sure it still would be far from playable on my PC even with shading. Thanks though
     
  14. Psi-hate

    Psi-hate GBATemp's Official Psi-Hater
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,743
    Country:
    United States
    well my laptop was far worse than yours yet it ran half speed. :P
     
  15. Radiobread

    OP Radiobread Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    Half speed =/= bearable. What game(s) were you trying to play?
     
  16. Psi-hate

    Psi-hate GBATemp's Official Psi-Hater
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,743
    Country:
    United States
    Ocarina of Time. Not to mention that the recompiler branch adds about 50% speed boost (there isn't a compiled version out yet, but when it is merged to master, then it should run full speed.)
     
  17. Radiobread

    OP Radiobread Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    IIRC Ocarina of Time was a launch title, and Pokemon X/Y came out around 2 and a half years later. A 3DS emulator that can't play Pokemon X/Y isn't much use to me. Anyway, Ocarina of Time on Nintendo 64 can be emulated no problem!
     
  18. mustafag32g

    mustafag32g GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2014
    Messages:
    806
    Country:
    Argentina
    i get half speed with super mario 3d land
     
  19. Psi-hate

    Psi-hate GBATemp's Official Psi-Hater
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,743
    Country:
    United States
    The reason why Pokemon X/Y/AS/OR is because they use CROs which are a feature still being worked on. Project64 took a few years to get pretty playable/perfected, like any emulator, so you can't really judge. But yeah, just get a 3ds and pirate if you want to play games so much. XP
     
  20. GalladeGuy

    GalladeGuy Cool and Epic
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    2,687
    Country:
    United States
    There's always 3Dmoo! :P
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - emulator, Citra,