Circumventing the wii system menu

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by AlexM305, Jun 16, 2012.

Jun 16, 2012
  1. AlexM305
    OP

    Newcomer AlexM305 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    For a while now it has been a hassle trying to acsess Wii channels on my Wii. Even if I have no intentions of using motion or sensor controls(my sensor is also broken) I have to use the pointer to load homebrew or games. I have BootMii installed this allows me to access the homebrew channel without having to ever deal with the wiimote pointer. This means I can load my homebrew and games but sadly I can't access my Wii channels. I want to know if there is a homebrew out there that allows to load wii channels without using the system menu.
     
  2. huniper

    Newcomer huniper Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
  3. AlexM305
    OP

    Newcomer AlexM305 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    This looks good but I'm worried this will interfere or will not have the same options as BootMii. If I can load HBC and wii channels with this than I will disable auto boot for BootMii.

    Thanks for the info.
     
  4. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You can load HBC with BootMii, then load that homebrew from within HBC and then load channels using it. No need to change BootMii at all.
     
  5. Shano56

    Member Shano56 noobie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    877
    Country:
    United States
    You could try USB Loader GX as well, it can load nand channels, wii games, gc games, as well as emunand games. The pointer can be controlled by the nunchuch. You can install priiloader and have it auto-boot GX if you want. Btw you know the sensor bars are pretty cheap, or you could just go to an electronics store like radio shack and get some cheap infrared emitters/leds (thats all the sensor bar is, an infrared emitter)
     
  6. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A couple of candles will also do the job.
     
  7. Shano56

    Member Shano56 noobie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    877
    Country:
    United States
    huh? O.o
     
  8. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Anything hot will give off IR waves, which is all that is needed ;)
     
  9. AlexM305
    OP

    Newcomer AlexM305 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the help priiloader or postloader works wonders for launching channels on your wii without having to deal with the system menu. Also like you said give BootMii no problems. Thanks all who helped.

    If only there were a program/homebrew that I could use to change internet settings. I cant change them with a wii pointer.
     
  10. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,121
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    check this linky. Basically, the wiimotes sync to any two infrared positions on a certain distance of each other. The sensor bar's function is nothing more than that: provide two of those sensors on the right distance apart from each other.


    @[member='alex']: you don't really understand: postloader offers everything the HBC offers and more. It can launch your homebrew, your wii games (both on disc and on HD), gamecube games (using DML), channels end (very recently) directly boot gameboy, SNES, NES and genesis games.
    Just use priiloader to auto-boot postloader and you'll never even want the wii system menu again. Heck...it's been many months since I've seen that menu myself, and that was just to test out a homebrew that allows you to change some settings from the wii menu.

    EDIT: hmm...seems like you've found it out already. :) But I'll leave it here for anyone else to read. :)
     
  11. AlexM305
    OP

    Newcomer AlexM305 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States

    Yeah I'm not new to wii homebrew but I was away for so long. Now I'm just trying to get internet working. I don't know if its possible since my wiimote is out of the question. If only there was a homebrew...
     
  12. Shano56

    Member Shano56 noobie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    877
    Country:
    United States
    yeah sounds bit dangerous xD


    I already know that I just dont know why you would want to put to candles that close to your tv :P
     
  13. Anon10W1z

    Member Anon10W1z GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,112
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Country:
    United States
    Use Settings Editor GUI, it just got updated to v1.7. The news is on the front page of GBAtemp.
     
  14. tueidj

    Member tueidj I R Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,569
    Country:
    settings editor cannot change the internet settings.
     
  15. Anon10W1z

    Member Anon10W1z GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,112
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Country:
    United States
    Oh...really? That's a downer. (No offense should be taken, @JoostinOnline and @[member='stfour'])
     
  16. Shano56

    Member Shano56 noobie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    877
    Country:
    United States
    it can get you there quickly tho, and could probably put up two candles like sifjar said for a quick minute without melting your tv or someting :P
     
  17. AlexM305
    OP

    Newcomer AlexM305 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry I was away for a bit I will definitely check this out!


    I was almost worried! Thanks for the clear-up time to breakout the candles.... With this summer heat and the A/C blowing it will be a hassle setting this up. But it will only be for a few minutes to get my wii internet back (got a new router).
     

Share This Page