Hacking CIOSCORP killed GameCube mode

MrBubbles

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
323
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
USA
XP
250
Country
United States
Can't run even my purchased GC games. Anyone else having trouble with this? If worst comes to be I'll have to do the 3.4 update to have the IOS back to normal. I didn't backup my IOS, not a big deal.
 

MrBubbles

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
323
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
USA
XP
250
Country
United States
Wind Waker wouldn't load.
Melee had no video but sound.

I'm on the fence about updating to 3.4

Can anyone else with CIOSCORP try to run an actual GC game? If so, are you running component cables?
 

FRanatic

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
277
Trophies
0
XP
55
Country
Netherlands
When booting a gc game the wii reboots in gc mode. In this mode none of the installed ios' are used. Like marcan called in on 25c3: The wii runs in sandbox mode (meanign the wii runs, but no calls are made to ios', thus it's a contained system at that moment)
Just the mIOS as said before.
So the gc mode is not affected in any way by the altered ios'.
Maybe you also have preloader installed with some faulty gc hacks.
 

MrBubbles

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
323
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
USA
XP
250
Country
United States
FRanatic said:
When booting a gc game the wii reboots in gc mode. In this mode none of the installed ios' are used. Like marcan called in on 25c3: The wii runs in sandbox mode (meanign the wii runs, but no calls are made to ios', thus it's a contained system at that moment)
Just the mIOS as said before.
So the gc mode is not affected in any way by the altered ios'.
Maybe you also have preloader installed with some faulty gc hacks.

Looked into, I had something about GC games mode installed in Starfall. It works now.

Sorry 'bout that everyone, I don't even know why that was installed to begin with (the GC mode patch in starfall), but it's fixed now. CIOSCORP isn't the culprit.
 

WiiPower

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2008
Messages
8,165
Trophies
0
XP
345
Country
Gambia, The
And to revert your ios files, just use wufe. Why use a method which will stop working in the future with a new update by nintendo?
 

hetoan2

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 3, 2007
Messages
64
Trophies
0
XP
183
Country
United States
find an MIOSv4 (earlier than v5, but better compatibility plus old GCN Action Replays work) and that will fix all your issues. Since starfall patches and the like that can actually ruin your GC mode use MIOSv5 you can install v4 over with no side affects.

you can get it by using Wii Update File Extractor (WUFE) on Pokemon Battle Revolution or Metroid Prime 3, and Yes you can get it from ISO's too (WUFE will not work with backups)
 

Screemer

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2008
Messages
1,248
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
143
Country
Gambia, The
not a very good idea. i think you'll get spanked by a mod
wink.gif
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ: :rofl2: