cIOS rev5 problem

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Jm9760, Oct 21, 2008.

Oct 21, 2008

cIOS rev5 problem by Jm9760 at 7:27 PM (1,645 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. Jm9760
    OP

    Member Jm9760 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    228
    Country:
    United States
    So I uninstalled dvdx and my previous cIOS to install the new rev5 one by waninkoko. It gave me a ret error when I tried to install it, so I used anytitledeleter to delete ios36, thinking it was my old cIOS. Now I am being told that I shouldn't have done that and it's going to cause problems. How do I fix that issue and get the new cIOS to install? Thanks!
     
  2. azeazezar

    Newcomer azeazezar Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    Belgium
    this wont cause problems, any game that needs it will reinstall it (SSBB i think)
     
  3. Jm9760
    OP

    Member Jm9760 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    228
    Country:
    United States
    Oh, alright. Thanks. Any idea why the new cIOS won't install?
     
  4. Jm9760
    OP

    Member Jm9760 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    228
    Country:
    United States
    Anyone?
     
  5. WiiShizzza

    Member WiiShizzza Graphics juggler

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Country:
    Germany
    it should possibly install after u uninstalled the old one using cIOS uninstaller...
    maybe try deinstalling dvdx...
     
  6. GhostSonic

    Member GhostSonic GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    188
    Country:
    United States
    Bah, i forgot that the game would just reinstall it. It would kind of help if you told us EXACTLY what the error was (the number or what ever)
     
  7. Jm9760
    OP

    Member Jm9760 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    228
    Country:
    United States
    @WiiShizzza: I uninstalled both dvdx and the previous cIOS.

    @GhostSonic: The error is "ret = -1"
     
  8. WiiShizzza

    Member WiiShizzza Graphics juggler

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Country:
    Germany
    then you should put the file IOSxx-xx-xxxxx.wad in the root of your SD and install it trough the cIOS installer.
     
  9. GhostSonic

    Member GhostSonic GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    188
    Country:
    United States
    Do you have the IOS 36 wad (the name of the wad file being IOS36-64-v1042.wad) (i'm pretty sure you need it, correct me if I'm wrong)
     
  10. Jm9760
    OP

    Member Jm9760 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    228
    Country:
    United States
    Oh, wow. Thanks a lot. I feel retarded.
     
  11. WiiShizzza

    Member WiiShizzza Graphics juggler

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Country:
    Germany
    You also could open your wii system menu and search for an update. just in case something is missing. if so, the there should be an update available.
     
  12. Jm9760
    OP

    Member Jm9760 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    228
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, thank so much for your help!
     

Share This Page