changing savefilename M3 Lite

Discussion in 'GBA - Flashing Hardware and Software' started by GameFreak_020, May 21, 2010.

May 21, 2010
  1. GameFreak_020
    OP

    Newcomer GameFreak_020 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    I noticed when I change the filename of a GBA rom and change the savefilename .dat the same, the M3 doesn't recognize the savefile anymore and all is gone [​IMG] .
    Is there a way to change the name without losing the savedata?
    The content of the save file gets resetted. The save file works, but every progress which is saved in the game is gone. As if it's using a new save file. So how can I change the savefilename without losing the content? If I change it back everything is back again?!? but I really want to change the name.
     
  2. WigWrm

    Member WigWrm GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    If you open your saves in notepad you'll see the original rom file name (it's either at the very top or bottom: can't remember). You probably just have to rename the file name in a hex editor. Only suggesting the hex editor because you don't want to change the size of the save file. I have a few other ways that you could go about changing the name but they're a bit involved.

    A nice freeware hex editor is available at http://www.chmaas.handshake.de/delphi/free...xvi32/xvi32.htm

    If you have any troubles let me know.
     
  3. GameFreak_020
    OP

    Newcomer GameFreak_020 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    I tried changing the name but it doesn't work everything is gone again. The hex editor and notepad also show boot DONKEY~4GBA for example with Donkey Kong Country. do I have to do anything with that?
     
  4. WigWrm

    Member WigWrm GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    I'm going to try out my previous suggestion on one of my saves and will let you know the results. And to answer your question, yes, you have to overwrite that 'DONKEY~4GBA' in a hex editor to the new name of your rom. If your rom has a long file name check out what it has been abbreviated to using the dir command in a command prompt window.
     

Share This Page