CFG USB Loader help

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by DrueM, Jan 22, 2010.

Jan 22, 2010

CFG USB Loader help by DrueM at 4:01 AM (2,679 Views / 0 Likes) 30 replies

  1. DrueM
    OP

    Newcomer DrueM Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Ok. So whenever i open Configurable USB loader on my wii, it just sits on the opening screen where it says "Configurable USB Loader" and theres a power switch. Nothing happens.
    Is that a normal problem? Can someone help me out?
     


  2. cup9192

    Newcomer cup9192 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    are you using a forwarder, or loading from the homebrew channel?

    did it work previously?

    can you use back-up discs (through neogamma or other loader?)
     
  3. DrueM
    OP

    Newcomer DrueM Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States

    Loading from homebrew


    No


    No idea what that means
     
  4. nitrostemp

    Member nitrostemp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,272
    Country:
    Australia
    probly cant read the hard drive
     
  5. DrueM
    OP

    Newcomer DrueM Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States

    But if it couldn't read the hard drive wouldn't it say "Make sure your HD is connected" or something like that?

    It just does nothing. It sits on that screen and does nothing
     
  6. nitrostemp

    Member nitrostemp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,272
    Country:
    Australia
    ive had the same problem if you turn the hard drive off it shows a count down, then you turn it back and it begins to read
     
  7. cup9192

    Newcomer cup9192 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    If it couldn't read the hard drive, it would still get past the splash screen and simple fail to mount the device after 30 sec.

    Judging by his answers, I would assume that his wii is new, he's new to the scene, and did not fully complete the stub removal or fakesigning in DOP-IOS during the mod.

    xzxero's "modify any wii 4.2 and below" thread was terrific when I first modded my wii in Nov (had used flat-mod for six months beforehand because I have a LU-65+ and am generally impatient when it comes to these things). However, when I modded my brother's new wii three weeks ago, I apparently missed a step in DOP-IOS (at the time, instructions were a bit vague compared to when I modded my own wii using TBR) and came across the same problem that he has: CFG Loader would hang during splash screen and most homebrew apps would lose connection with the wii remote once booted. NeoGamma would load but return a green screen when we tried disc loading. xzxero's instructions may be more clear now, and I recall some extra information towards the last few pages of that thread. My advice, go back to xzxero's sticky, read all posts over the last couple days or so, and repeat the step involving DOP-IOS and make sure that you follow it through... completely. You'll hit "A" a lot. This should fix your problem.
     
  8. DrueM
    OP

    Newcomer DrueM Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States

    I cant turn my HD off, when it's plugged in its on, when its unplugged its off.

    But i tried unplugging and plugging it in and still nothing
     
  9. nitrostemp

    Member nitrostemp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,272
    Country:
    Australia
  10. cup9192

    Newcomer cup9192 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    nitrostemp is right. You can't fail with this guide - almost. You simply must be thorough. Go to the end of the thread and read back a few weeks. You'll find your answer, DrueM.
     
  11. DrueM
    OP

    Newcomer DrueM Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States

    Yeah that's what happens.

    I'll go back to it and try.


    It says "Keep pressing A until it takes you back to the IOS selection screen.
    Choose IOS36 and start the stub removal process if any are installed."

    When i did it, my only option was IOS60 or something like that. So i didnt chose anything
     
  12. cup9192

    Newcomer cup9192 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    holding the wii remote like a wand, pressing left/right changes the IOS.
     
  13. DrueM
    OP

    Newcomer DrueM Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States

    Yeah... just figured that part out when i went back to it =(
     
  14. cup9192

    Newcomer cup9192 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    you might have to do it for IOS249/222/223. I don't remember exactly. Only used that method once and that was 3 weeks and countless beers ago... [​IMG] Just toggle left/right, keep pressing A and don't quit the program until you're sure it's done this time.

    Hope this helps.
     
  15. DrueM
    OP

    Newcomer DrueM Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States

    Thanks alot it worked. It loaded up this time and found my HD...Now i just need to get it to format to WBFS, cause WBFS manager doesnt work on my computer.

    I can format it in CFG USB loader right?
     
  16. nitrostemp

    Member nitrostemp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,272
    Country:
    Australia
    you could just use NTFS or FAT
     
  17. DrueM
    OP

    Newcomer DrueM Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States

    NTFS is fine? then why the hell do i keep getting people telling me to make it WBFS
     
  18. nitrostemp

    Member nitrostemp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,272
    Country:
    Australia
    the new cfg loader supports ntfs, and its the best option for anyone
     
  19. cup9192

    Newcomer cup9192 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
  20. DrueM
    OP

    Newcomer DrueM Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States

    Yeah i partitioned it and made it 60 NTFS and 90 unallocated. And i think i just formatted it with CFG, maybe...
     

Share This Page