Hacking Cannot load browser without upgrading firmware (GW mode failed)

gotchamm

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 19, 2015
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
52
Country
Switzerland
hi there, right now I got a problem:

Everything went well the day before yesterday (I can load browser, get into GW mode and so on)
BUT, TODAY WHEN I SWITCH ON MY 3DS LL, I CANNOT LOAD BROWSER, IT KEEP SAYING THAT: if you want to use the browser you must upgrade your 3DS via internet.
And so I just have no way to go into GW mode...can someone help plz?

What I have tried:
1, format the system, same issue (this picture just appears when I try to open the browser);
2, take off the battery, wait for a while and open up, same issue;
3, hold L+R+A+up button and switch on, choose not to upgrade and same issue.

My 3DS LL is 9.1.0 version(official).

2eee2c23dd54564e63dbf224b7de9c82d0584faf.jpg
 

satel

Luigi's Big Brother
Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2004
Messages
2,197
Trophies
1
XP
2,078
Country
Laos
i want to help you but i'm clueless when it comes to this exploit since i'm a N3DS owner but did you try the exploit offline mode via android device or does that too require the browser to be connected online ? sorry if i'm not making sense
 

otto888

I break things for a living.
Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2008
Messages
319
Trophies
1
Age
28
XP
1,061
Country
United States
Unless someone can make a GW loader with Cubic Ninja, I think you're SoL. IIRC you can only update/install the internet browser and online components by doing an online update. If you got a nand backup, you could try getting your LL modded and flash that back.
 

gotchamm

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 19, 2015
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
52
Country
Switzerland
i want to help you but i'm clueless when it comes to this exploit since i'm a N3DS owner but did you try the exploit offline mode via android device or does that too require the browser to be connected online ? sorry if i'm not making sense


well, I tried that offline approach (android app) but still same issue: u must upgrade via internet before connecting to the local address.
thanks anyway.
 

gotchamm

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 19, 2015
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
52
Country
Switzerland
Unless someone can make a GW loader with Cubic Ninja, I think you're SoL. IIRC you can only update/install the internet browser and online components by doing an online update. If you got a nand backup, you could try getting your LL modded and flash that back.


I keep a nand backup, yes I can do a flash work by soldering that pin and blah blah.. But still I want to know any other solutions before that final approach.
Thanks.
 

satel

Luigi's Big Brother
Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2004
Messages
2,197
Trophies
1
XP
2,078
Country
Laos
well, I tried that offline approach (android app) but still same issue: u must upgrade via internet before open browser.
thanks anyway.


what i don't understand is why it's doing this on your 3ds all of sudden or is it a required browser update for all 3ds users ?
 

gotchamm

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 19, 2015
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
52
Country
Switzerland
what i don't understand is why it's doing this on your 3ds all of sudden or is it a required browser update for all 3ds users ?

This is truly weird coz everything went on well just the day before yesterday.
Yes, all of a sudden.
It is not a required browser update for all users, since others are still having fun with their GW. And some friends kindly helped check this for me, they didn't get the issue here.
 

satel

Luigi's Big Brother
Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2004
Messages
2,197
Trophies
1
XP
2,078
Country
Laos
This is truly weird coz everything went on well just the day before yesterday.
Yes, all of a sudden.
It is not a required browser update for all users, since others are still having fun with their GW. And some friends kindly helped check this for me, they didn't get the issue here.


very strange indeed :unsure:

did you clear browser history/cache ?
 

gotchamm

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 19, 2015
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
52
Country
Switzerland
I cannot clear the browser
very strange indeed :unsure:

did you clear browser history/cache ?

I cannot clear the browser history/cache when I cannot open it..
And formatting can do the job. But after so many times of formatting, same issue.
Thanks.
 

satel

Luigi's Big Brother
Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2004
Messages
2,197
Trophies
1
XP
2,078
Country
Laos
I cannot clear the browser

I cannot clear the browser history/cache when I cannot open it..
And formatting can do the job. But after so many times of formatting, same issue.
Thanks.


oh i see,why don't you try sending email to the gateway team i'm sure they know the cause & they might have a fix for it. their email is on their website. http://www.gateway-3ds.com/contacts/
 

TeroZ

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Feb 20, 2015
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
107
Country
United States
I'm pretty sure gateway team will reply you SOON™, if not ignore you by the fact that site clearly states "Technical/support question will be IGNORED" .
Your best bet would be to do a nand recovery, saving you lots of time.
 

xdarkmario

Philosopher
Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
1,635
Trophies
1
Location
Mushroom Kingdom
XP
2,587
Country
United States
Hmm this issue scares me. I'm planning to buy a N3ds the the very moment that gateway...aka SOON™(lol) launches the update. But perhaps this is the issue they are faced with now why they maybe takeing so long...idk.
 

KidIce

Smart Ass
Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2005
Messages
969
Trophies
1
XP
2,556
Country
United States
A system format would require agreeing to the EULA again, right? Are you sure that's not what it's asking you to do?

Just grasping at straws here, not trying to be an ass... Which is rare for me, so be sure to mark it on your calenders.
 

LebaD1

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 14, 2014
Messages
19
Trophies
0
Age
46
XP
64
Country
France
When configuring the wifi parameters did you try the "Connection test" ?
Do you have the youtube app installed?
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1fvb1OnyL7A&t=148s