Cannot load browser without upgrading firmware (GW mode failed)

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by gotchamm, Feb 19, 2015.

  1. gotchamm
    OP

    gotchamm Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    1
    Feb 19, 2015
    Switzerland
    hi there, right now I got a problem:

    Everything went well the day before yesterday (I can load browser, get into GW mode and so on)
    BUT, TODAY WHEN I SWITCH ON MY 3DS LL, I CANNOT LOAD BROWSER, IT KEEP SAYING THAT: if you want to use the browser you must upgrade your 3DS via internet.
    And so I just have no way to go into GW mode...can someone help plz?

    What I have tried:
    1, format the system, same issue (this picture just appears when I try to open the browser);
    2, take off the battery, wait for a while and open up, same issue;
    3, hold L+R+A+up button and switch on, choose not to upgrade and same issue.

    My 3DS LL is 9.1.0 version(official).

    [​IMG]
     


  2. satel

    satel Luigi's Big Brother

    Member
    1,588
    605
    Nov 3, 2004
    East Timor
    i want to help you but i'm clueless when it comes to this exploit since i'm a N3DS owner but did you try the exploit offline mode via android device or does that too require the browser to be connected online ? sorry if i'm not making sense
     
  3. chemistryfreak

    chemistryfreak GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    419
    84
    Nov 8, 2008
    Never encounter this problem before.
     
    Last edited by chemistryfreak, Oct 13, 2015
  4. otto888

    otto888 I break things for a living.

    Member
    312
    42
    Mar 12, 2008
    United States
    Unless someone can make a GW loader with Cubic Ninja, I think you're SoL. IIRC you can only update/install the internet browser and online components by doing an online update. If you got a nand backup, you could try getting your LL modded and flash that back.
     
  5. gotchamm
    OP

    gotchamm Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    1
    Feb 19, 2015
    Switzerland

    well, I tried that offline approach (android app) but still same issue: u must upgrade via internet before connecting to the local address.
    thanks anyway.
     
  6. gotchamm
    OP

    gotchamm Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    1
    Feb 19, 2015
    Switzerland

    yep, maybe I can get a solution here..
     
  7. gotchamm
    OP

    gotchamm Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    1
    Feb 19, 2015
    Switzerland

    I keep a nand backup, yes I can do a flash work by soldering that pin and blah blah.. But still I want to know any other solutions before that final approach.
    Thanks.
     
  8. satel

    satel Luigi's Big Brother

    Member
    1,588
    605
    Nov 3, 2004
    East Timor

    what i don't understand is why it's doing this on your 3ds all of sudden or is it a required browser update for all 3ds users ?
     
  9. gotchamm
    OP

    gotchamm Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    1
    Feb 19, 2015
    Switzerland
    This is truly weird coz everything went on well just the day before yesterday.
    Yes, all of a sudden.
    It is not a required browser update for all users, since others are still having fun with their GW. And some friends kindly helped check this for me, they didn't get the issue here.
     
  10. satel

    satel Luigi's Big Brother

    Member
    1,588
    605
    Nov 3, 2004
    East Timor

    very strange indeed :unsure:

    did you clear browser history/cache ?
     
  11. gotchamm
    OP

    gotchamm Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    1
    Feb 19, 2015
    Switzerland
    I cannot clear the browser
    I cannot clear the browser history/cache when I cannot open it..
    And formatting can do the job. But after so many times of formatting, same issue.
    Thanks.
     
  12. satel

    satel Luigi's Big Brother

    Member
    1,588
    605
    Nov 3, 2004
    East Timor

    oh i see,why don't you try sending email to the gateway team i'm sure they know the cause & they might have a fix for it. their email is on their website. http://www.gateway-3ds.com/contacts/
     
  13. gotchamm
    OP

    gotchamm Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    1
    Feb 19, 2015
    Switzerland
    great advice, I will send them an email. cheers.
     
    satel likes this.
  14. satel

    satel Luigi's Big Brother

    Member
    1,588
    605
    Nov 3, 2004
    East Timor

    good move & good luck ;)
     
  15. TeroZ

    TeroZ Newbie

    Newcomer
    4
    1
    Feb 20, 2015
    United States
    I'm pretty sure gateway team will reply you SOON™, if not ignore you by the fact that site clearly states "Technical/support question will be IGNORED" .
    Your best bet would be to do a nand recovery, saving you lots of time.
     
  16. xdarkmario

    xdarkmario Philosopher

    Member
    1,324
    304
    Dec 30, 2010
    United States
    Mushroom Kingdom
    Hmm this issue scares me. I'm planning to buy a N3ds the the very moment that gateway...aka SOON™(lol) launches the update. But perhaps this is the issue they are faced with now why they maybe takeing so long...idk.
     
  17. Amadren

    Amadren SOMEBODY ONCE

    Member
    287
    127
    Dec 21, 2014
    France
    Paris, France
    This issue is only for some N3DS. It's when the additionals components weren't installed. Also, a game update don't fix this :/
     
  18. KidIce

    KidIce Smart Ass

    Member
    949
    261
    Dec 22, 2005
    United States
    A system format would require agreeing to the EULA again, right? Are you sure that's not what it's asking you to do?

    Just grasping at straws here, not trying to be an ass... Which is rare for me, so be sure to mark it on your calenders.
     
  19. LebaD1

    LebaD1 Member

    Newcomer
    18
    3
    Dec 14, 2014
    France
    Hi is it the same with a game update to update to 9.2 ?
     
  20. LebaD1

    LebaD1 Member

    Newcomer
    18
    3
    Dec 14, 2014
    France
    When configuring the wifi parameters did you try the "Connection test" ?
    Do you have the youtube app installed?