Can anyone help me with IPS patching?

Discussion in 'General Gaming Discussion' started by raptir, Apr 12, 2010.

Apr 12, 2010
  1. raptir
    OP

    Member raptir GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Country:
    United States
    So, I'm trying to play Shin Megami Tensei in english. I have the ROM and the IPS. I put them both in my snes9x directory and boot it up... and it doesn't work. It loads, but crashes as soon as any text should be displaying. Any idea what I could be doing wrong?
     
  2. supersonic5000

    Member supersonic5000 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    My house
    Country:
    United States
    Patch the rom on your computer using LIPS. It will ask you for the rom and the ips patch and make a patched rom.
     
  3. raptir
    OP

    Member raptir GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Country:
    United States
    When I do that, I get a "bad checksum" and "corrupt ROM" and it won't load at all.

    Any idea as to what I might be doing wrong? I thought snes9x supported IPS patching on the fly, and it's clearly recognized the IPS file since something happens. I'm using it on the v1.0 of the ROM, as it says in the instructions.
     
  4. Ivoire

    Newcomer Ivoire Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United States
  5. raptir
    OP

    Member raptir GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Country:
    United States
    I tried IPSWin before, no dice. It seems like a straightforward process, I don't see how I could mess it up, but it's not working. I found a prepatched ROM that I've been using, but there are a couple patches I'd like to be able to apply myself (for ROM hacks instead of just translation patches).
     
  6. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    depending on what the hack is doing you might not be able to apply two patches to the same rom.

    always patch a clean rom. contact the hacker and find out if the patch can be applied to a pre-patched rom. if the file is IPS use Lunar IPS. small, simple, and works.

    http://www.romhacking.net/utils/240/

    -another world
     
  7. raptir
    OP

    Member raptir GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Country:
    United States
    I was using a clean japanese ROM and just trying to apply the language patch.
     

Share This Page