1. capsterx

    OP capsterx GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2020
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    United States
    Command & Conquer (C&C) is a real-time strategy (RTS) video game franchise, first developed by Westwood Studios. The first game was one of the earliest of the RTS genre, itself based on Westwood Studios' influential strategy game Dune II and introducing trademarks followed in the rest of the series. This includes full-motion video cutscenes with an ensemble cast to progress the story, as opposed to digitally in-game rendered cutscenes. Westwood Studios was taken over by Electronic Arts in 1998 and closed down in 2003. The studio and some of its members were absorbed into EA Los Angeles, which continued development on the series.

    Vanilla Conquer
    No extras. No bloat. No major changes. Just the games on your favourite platform.

    This project aims to be a clean portable upstream for anyone wanting to mod the Remastered Collection or add features to the original standalone games.


    https://github.com/capsterx-switch/Vanilla-Conquer/releases/tag/v0-r6

    To install the game you need to unzip the release onto your sdcard. You will also need the original files from the CD. These are the ones I have
    AUD.MIX CCLOCAL.MIX CONQUER.MIX DESEICNH.MIX DESERT.MIX GENERAL.MIX LOCAL.MIX MOVIES.MIX SCORES.MIX SOUNDS.MIX SPEECH.MIX TEMPERAT.MIX TEMPICNH.MIX TRANSIT.MIX UPDATE.MIX UPDATEC.MIX WINTER.MIX WINTICNH.MIX
    they are in the directory /switch/cnc/

    For red alert the files should go in:
    sdmc:/switch/redalert/CD1/
    sdmc:/switch/redalert/CD2/

    NOTE: the github link for the red alert CD1 is not good (incomplete), CD2 is fine.

    (there is also CD3, CD4, RADVD, but I have not tested them). You will need. CD_LABEL file if you want to try, check the github release page for more info.

    You need https://www.moddb.com/games/cc-red-alert/downloads/red-alert-303-beta-english-patch
    I dont really know if they need to be in both CD1 and CD2 directories. The Vanilla code base pretty much only supports windows actual cdrom drives, so I had to make a bunch of changes to map the unix ones...only lightly tested. Not sure how to get to where I can test this. Looks for for *nix it supports just the "." directory. and you put the binary in each cd dir or something.

    I have not gotten to the point in the game where you have to swap disks, I guess the intro part works with either CD, best I can tell.

    There is a default keymapping in /switch/cnc/keymap.keys or /switch/redalert/keymap.keys
    I have them currently set to:
    TOUCH_MOUSE=TRUE
    DOUBLE_TOUCK_KEYBOARD=TRUE
    RSTICK_MOUSE=TRUE
    DPAD_ARROWS=TRUE
    LSTICK_ARROWS=TRUE
    MINUS=ESC
    PLUS=ENTER
    A=SPACE
    ZL=MOUSE_LEFT
    ZR=MOUSE_RIGHT

    NOTE: the key mapping is the same for both games in the same location, if this is an issue, let me know and i'll separate them

    For information on how the file format works, look at
    https://github.com/capsterx-switch/switch-utils

    Changelog
    r6
    Fix save/load for cnc. It sometimes worked due to a fluke, this replaces that save/load with a similar logic that redalert uses.

    r5
    Fix save/load for redalert

    r4
    merge in upstream fixes which should fix saving and a few other things

    r3
    Update switch-utils so that scancode works for text input and so mouse events can be set
    a hack that somewhat seems to make saving not crash but there is likely
    a bug somewhere
    Make it so each game can have it's own keymap
    Force game to use a menu even if the intro is skipped
    changed default keymap so ZL=left mouse ZR=right mouse

    r2
    Adding Support for redalert

    r1
    Initial Release
     
    Last edited by capsterx, Jan 2, 2021
  2. mathew77

    mathew77 Lovin' life.
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2019
    Messages:
    597
    Country:
    Kazakhstan
    Wow! Merci!

    Btw, all the Red Alert, Tiberian Dawn and Remastered games are supported am I right?

    PS: could you please post MD5 and size of files that are needed to run it, 'cause I've got a black screen trying to start the game (my Command & Conquer version is Gold v1.06c rev3).
     
    Last edited by mathew77, Dec 17, 2020
  3. Daggot

    Daggot GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    660
    Country:
    United States
    Awesome work.
     
  4. capsterx

    OP capsterx GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2020
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    United States
    I'm got the files linked in https://github.com/TheAssemblyArmada/Vanilla-Conquer
    Yes Red Alert should work, but it's another binary. It compiles but I have not tested it. In theory it should "just work"...

    MD5 (AUD.MIX) = 94e71c4caf3ceabda04a9df2b8f6a37d
    MD5 (C&C95.EXE) = aae55c89aa7927e5c0d4519ef9684a01
    MD5 (C&CNOTES.ICO) = cf577766cf77cf57f028056d6bddac29
    MD5 (CCGOLD.URL) = e8b21407e0f9da0768f5818519dc9f85
    MD5 (CCLOCAL.MIX) = fec87693c718042df615be2d359ec4de
    MD5 (CCSETUP.EXE) = 8b8db48dd7892a3462888e42e52cc36f
    MD5 (CONQUER.INI) = 0197e43fe3014fdbd39591b925a1efef
    MD5 (CONQUER.MIX) = 4f740b3a7aa0a8c82340f43eb22e0b4c
    MD5 (DESEICNH.MIX) = bb7555b68177013197b96d1289870129
    MD5 (DESERT.MIX) = e7066195b84c654d70fc77e940f2d043
    MD5 (DeIsL1.isu) = 4b45ac5017fd2da3663cafdcabcbba2e
    MD5 (DeIsL2.isu) = 11f7f26307b72238aacd9a8c95c348ea
    MD5 (GENERAL.MIX) = 27f129c2214ec16b7243ee59de0d7480
    MD5 (INSTICON.EXE) = 4229909b42ed89ff317793de5d5f956d
    MD5 (LOCAL.MIX) = cb492b7df9b5c170d7c87527940eff3b
    MD5 (Logo.VQA) = c1df8a3f5f8f3d99c0f122b40cd22807
    MD5 (Logo.VQP) = c2cd03c802837e28adb2b9c3c3c5d93c
    MD5 (MOVIES.MIX) = 259cff394b66a2bad612bd080d4f77de
    MD5 (README.WRI) = 1d97812a318d6219cebe7194756c6f46
    MD5 (REGISTER.EXE) = b93762a9b6cc5e67cec291ddf796482e
    MD5 (RESLIB.DLL) = 2563e31b5f4702f5ca7cfdb1bfbdccbb
    MD5 (SCORES.MIX) = ea8dc55de79faa1c3898c8fda0c9786d
    MD5 (SOUNDS.MIX) = c04c59faedbb52dab673953b4c7aaa5d
    MD5 (SPEECH.MIX) = 03503f68a1738a8ddf5138ae04cd36b2
    MD5 (TEMPERAT.MIX) = 1b854f50e6bd8e086a975c66ddf54c38
    MD5 (TEMPICNH.MIX) = ce1b049d7764bf60f878d4fe99f6c4f9
    MD5 (THIPX16.DLL) = e12fb371c3f90a422f774a6c67a72c59
    MD5 (THIPX32.DLL) = 9f6ba036ed491af7fbada6dcfdece71f
    MD5 (TRANSIT.MIX) = 6cf61431f99c0ce3b93d954c70553823
    MD5 (UPDATE.MIX) = 6ad32b7444865382267f0ee5af2178a3
    MD5 (UPDATEC.MIX) = 59615ed09ad59fe3b5524093a8638f66
    MD5 (VERSION.TXT) = 933222b19ff3e7ea5f65517ea1f7d57e
    MD5 (WINTER.MIX) = ba7c96e069fc384c511181266e1dbc64
    MD5 (WINTICNH.MIX) = f34af43bbb7ff719d38b699f20468702
    MD5 (how2use.pdf) = 5d0b4484b230ba5bd0a3e63c6c737bfc
    MD5 (keys.pdf) = 498f0bd854aed51dd01c786c0aaa9151
    MD5 (main.pdf) = 48d8429aa7654f1a8b8ba49125f221d6
    MD5 (manual.pdf) = 0ee93b333244bea5e6754567c52f9009
    MD5 (vanillatd) = 6aee76a5907ea899173f39fe527f5b8d
    MD5 (vanillatd.nro) = 00e4bdb6a53b9936eec06bfaa2073965
     
    Deleted User and mathew77 like this.
  5. mathew77

    mathew77 Lovin' life.
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2019
    Messages:
    597
    Country:
    Kazakhstan
    @capsterx
    Got it, works fine for now, thank you!
     
  6. capsterx

    OP capsterx GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2020
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    United States
    What was missing?
     
  7. mathew77

    mathew77 Lovin' life.
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2019
    Messages:
    597
    Country:
    Kazakhstan
    I guess my version of the game resources was completely wrong, the right one with your posted MD5 hashes (Wiki-page) works flawlessly!
     
    Last edited by mathew77, Dec 17, 2020
  8. OmniBlade

    OmniBlade Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Hello, I'm one of the main devs working on Vanilla Conquer and I must say I'm amazed someone picked it up this quickly to develop a switch port after we more or less finished the SDL2 linux port work given we haven't even promoted the project beyond the C&C modding community yet.

    We haven't even implemented a proper no-cd solution yet to allow copying data from both discs and allowing access to both campaigns. You should only need the *.MIX files from the CD's but to have everything available as the code currently stands you will need to merge the contents of some of the mix files that differ between discs.
     
    angelhp, Ninn, DSwizzy and 3 others like this.
  9. Purple_Shyguy

    Purple_Shyguy GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,364
    Country:
    System Shock and C&C in last 24 hours!

    Amazing work.
    M9Tpo88iE.png
     
  10. capsterx

    OP capsterx GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2020
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    United States
    Posted a Red Alert version, lightly tested, it did not "just work" but I think I got it hacked around enough.
     
    mathew77 likes this.
  11. cucholix

    cucholix Banners guy
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    2,575
    Country:
    Chile
    Red Alert was my first rts game, I was asking for a console port since forever, you rock sir!
     
  12. capsterx

    OP capsterx GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2020
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    United States
    One of mine also, but I didnt have the computer to handle it, or the money, so i transfered it disk by dis
    The people who made Vanilla-Conquer (https://github.com/TheAssemblyArmada/Vanilla-Conquer/graphs/contributors) are the real heros, I just made tweaks to their code.
     
  13. cucholix

    cucholix Banners guy
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    2,575
    Country:
    Chile
    Last edited by cucholix, Dec 18, 2020
  14. capsterx

    OP capsterx GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2020
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    United States
    Here is what I have
    MD5 (./CD2/HIRES1.MIX) = e433a0eede6af2d904e35106d37aa160
    MD5 (./CD2/MAIN.MIX) = ea710c4e61896e5347f31158b30f9ad4
    MD5 (./CD2/CD_LABEL) = f4d422c43598179451595e3a4b4ac736
    MD5 (./CD2/EXPAND.MIX) = 336eaf636e7c0b9022987cec5521873d
    MD5 (./CD2/REDALERT.MIX) = 7debf2e9480f64984eb8f93d6ff80af3
    MD5 (./CD2/LORES1.MIX) = 5fd3503f58da678f96cfc5e36f5c74e0
    MD5 (./CD2/AUD.MIX) = 0553c90b6015f48c41d1cf587777f88c
    MD5 (./CD2/SETUP.MIX) = 2761b266dfd1875baa82adbd7777105b
    MD5 (./CD2/EXPAND2.MIX) = 71acb2e797ffb2a8382dd360a44a781e
    MD5 (./CD2/WOLAPI.MIX) = 4aca2343c04aa29091f1ba620dc17ced
    MD5 (./CD1/HIRES1.MIX) = e433a0eede6af2d904e35106d37aa160
    MD5 (./CD1/MAIN.MIX) = 2efce9daf9c169d945b9110705fa83ae
    MD5 (./CD1/CD_LABEL) = d9ec58e3c0928d74555ec5d0117fc518
    MD5 (./CD1/EXPAND.MIX) = 336eaf636e7c0b9022987cec5521873d
    MD5 (./CD1/REDALERT.MIX) = 7debf2e9480f64984eb8f93d6ff80af3
    MD5 (./CD1/LORES1.MIX) = 5fd3503f58da678f96cfc5e36f5c74e0
    MD5 (./CD1/AUD.MIX) = 0553c90b6015f48c41d1cf587777f88c
    MD5 (./CD1/SETUP.MIX) = 2761b266dfd1875baa82adbd7777105b
    MD5 (./CD1/EXPAND2.MIX) = 71acb2e797ffb2a8382dd360a44a781e
    MD5 (./CD1/WOLAPI.MIX) = 4aca2343c04aa29091f1ba620dc17ced
    MD5 (./vanillara.nro) = 2032176b51c68a31e619360816ee7fef
    MD5 (./REDALERT.INI) = bd683a1c204e1284995f36f537985a0d
     
  15. capsterx
    This message by capsterx has been removed from public view by Issac, Dec 19, 2020, Reason: Please don't share warez.
    Dec 18, 2020
  16. cucholix

    cucholix Banners guy
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    2,575
    Country:
    Chile
    Mmhhh still crashes the app, "an error has ocurred, closing software" :/
    I'm using full access, not applet mode, atmosphere 0.16.1.
    Disabled all sys-modules but still crashes...

    Attached crash logs
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by Issac, Dec 19, 2020
  17. capsterx

    OP capsterx GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2020
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    United States
    The best way to help me diagnose this would be to run it via nxlink. https://devkitpro.org/wiki/Getting_Started
    On osx I run
    /opt/devkitpro/tools/bin/nxlink -a <switch ip> -s vanillara.nro

    I dont know how it works in windows but I assume it's similarish.

    Im running 10.1.0|AMS 0.14.4|E in emmunand mode.
     
  18. cucholix

    cucholix Banners guy
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    2,575
    Country:
    Chile
    I get
    Code:
    C:\>nxlink.exe -s vanillara.nro
    pinging switchSending vanillara.nro, 9559646 bytes
    3545008 sent (37.08%), 301 blocks
    starting server
    server active ...
    connected to hostd
    init finished
    Run SETUP program first.
    
     
  19. capsterx

    OP capsterx GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2020
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    United States
    Do you have a file sdmc:/switch/redalert/REDALERT.INI ?
     
  20. cucholix

    cucholix Banners guy
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    2,575
    Country:
    Chile
    Yes, it's
    Code:
    [Intro]
    PlayIntro=no
    
    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Wait, I got another dump
    Code:
    C:\>nxlink.exe -s vanillara.nro
    pinging switchSending vanillara.nro, 9559646 bytes
    3545008 sent (37.08%), 301 blocks
    starting server
    server active ...
    connected to hostd
    init finished
    8 joysticks on system
      - joystick 0 (controller) : Switch Controller
      - joystick 1 (controller) : Switch Controller
      - joystick 2 (controller) : Switch Controller
      - joystick 3 (controller) : Switch Controller
      - joystick 4 (controller) : Switch Controller
      - joystick 5 (controller) : Switch Controller
      - joystick 6 (controller) : Switch Controller
      - joystick 7 (controller) : Switch Controller
    thread running
    Unable to load key mapping
    exiting ...
    
     
  21. capsterx

    OP capsterx GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2020
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, that is a bug, it crashes when it cant find the key mapping. Though it's not very useful without one.
    The kemap is located in sdmc:/switch/cnc/keymap.keys
    due to a shared codebase and I have not separated them out yet. It should be in the package zip.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Vanilla, Conquer,