Homebrew RELEASE C&C - Vanilla Conquer

capsterx

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2020
Messages
147
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
436
Country
United States
Command & Conquer (C&C) is a real-time strategy (RTS) video game franchise, first developed by Westwood Studios. The first game was one of the earliest of the RTS genre, itself based on Westwood Studios' influential strategy game Dune II and introducing trademarks followed in the rest of the series. This includes full-motion video cutscenes with an ensemble cast to progress the story, as opposed to digitally in-game rendered cutscenes. Westwood Studios was taken over by Electronic Arts in 1998 and closed down in 2003. The studio and some of its members were absorbed into EA Los Angeles, which continued development on the series.

Vanilla Conquer
No extras. No bloat. No major changes. Just the games on your favourite platform.

This project aims to be a clean portable upstream for anyone wanting to mod the Remastered Collection or add features to the original standalone games.


https://github.com/capsterx-switch/Vanilla-Conquer/releases/tag/v0-r6

To install the game you need to unzip the release onto your sdcard. You will also need the original files from the CD. These are the ones I have
AUD.MIX CCLOCAL.MIX CONQUER.MIX DESEICNH.MIX DESERT.MIX GENERAL.MIX LOCAL.MIX MOVIES.MIX SCORES.MIX SOUNDS.MIX SPEECH.MIX TEMPERAT.MIX TEMPICNH.MIX TRANSIT.MIX UPDATE.MIX UPDATEC.MIX WINTER.MIX WINTICNH.MIX
they are in the directory /switch/cnc/

For red alert the files should go in:
sdmc:/switch/redalert/CD1/
sdmc:/switch/redalert/CD2/

NOTE: the github link for the red alert CD1 is not good (incomplete), CD2 is fine.

(there is also CD3, CD4, RADVD, but I have not tested them). You will need. CD_LABEL file if you want to try, check the github release page for more info.

You need https://www.moddb.com/games/cc-red-alert/downloads/red-alert-303-beta-english-patch
I dont really know if they need to be in both CD1 and CD2 directories. The Vanilla code base pretty much only supports windows actual cdrom drives, so I had to make a bunch of changes to map the unix ones...only lightly tested. Not sure how to get to where I can test this. Looks for for *nix it supports just the "." directory. and you put the binary in each cd dir or something.

I have not gotten to the point in the game where you have to swap disks, I guess the intro part works with either CD, best I can tell.

There is a default keymapping in /switch/cnc/keymap.keys or /switch/redalert/keymap.keys
I have them currently set to:
TOUCH_MOUSE=TRUE
DOUBLE_TOUCK_KEYBOARD=TRUE
RSTICK_MOUSE=TRUE
DPAD_ARROWS=TRUE
LSTICK_ARROWS=TRUE
MINUS=ESC
PLUS=ENTER
A=SPACE
ZL=MOUSE_LEFT
ZR=MOUSE_RIGHT

NOTE: the key mapping is the same for both games in the same location, if this is an issue, let me know and i'll separate them

For information on how the file format works, look at
https://github.com/capsterx-switch/switch-utils

Changelog
r6
Fix save/load for cnc. It sometimes worked due to a fluke, this replaces that save/load with a similar logic that redalert uses.

r5
Fix save/load for redalert

r4
merge in upstream fixes which should fix saving and a few other things

r3
Update switch-utils so that scancode works for text input and so mouse events can be set
a hack that somewhat seems to make saving not crash but there is likely
a bug somewhere
Make it so each game can have it's own keymap
Force game to use a menu even if the intro is skipped
changed default keymap so ZL=left mouse ZR=right mouse

r2
Adding Support for redalert

r1
Initial Release
 
Last edited by capsterx,

mathew77

Lovin' life.
Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2019
Messages
861
Trophies
0
Age
45
XP
1,923
Country
Kazakhstan
Wow! Merci!

Btw, all the Red Alert, Tiberian Dawn and Remastered games are supported am I right?

PS: could you please post MD5 and size of files that are needed to run it, 'cause I've got a black screen trying to start the game (my Command & Conquer version is Gold v1.06c rev3).
 
Last edited by mathew77,

capsterx

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2020
Messages
147
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
436
Country
United States
Wow! Merci!

Btw, all the Red Alert, Tiberian Dawn and Remastered games are supported am I right?

PS: could you please post MD5 of files that are needed to run it, 'cause I've got a black screen trying to start the game (my Command & Conquer version is Gold v1.06c rev3).

I'm got the files linked in https://github.com/TheAssemblyArmada/Vanilla-Conquer
Yes Red Alert should work, but it's another binary. It compiles but I have not tested it. In theory it should "just work"...

MD5 (AUD.MIX) = 94e71c4caf3ceabda04a9df2b8f6a37d
MD5 (C&C95.EXE) = aae55c89aa7927e5c0d4519ef9684a01
MD5 (C&CNOTES.ICO) = cf577766cf77cf57f028056d6bddac29
MD5 (CCGOLD.URL) = e8b21407e0f9da0768f5818519dc9f85
MD5 (CCLOCAL.MIX) = fec87693c718042df615be2d359ec4de
MD5 (CCSETUP.EXE) = 8b8db48dd7892a3462888e42e52cc36f
MD5 (CONQUER.INI) = 0197e43fe3014fdbd39591b925a1efef
MD5 (CONQUER.MIX) = 4f740b3a7aa0a8c82340f43eb22e0b4c
MD5 (DESEICNH.MIX) = bb7555b68177013197b96d1289870129
MD5 (DESERT.MIX) = e7066195b84c654d70fc77e940f2d043
MD5 (DeIsL1.isu) = 4b45ac5017fd2da3663cafdcabcbba2e
MD5 (DeIsL2.isu) = 11f7f26307b72238aacd9a8c95c348ea
MD5 (GENERAL.MIX) = 27f129c2214ec16b7243ee59de0d7480
MD5 (INSTICON.EXE) = 4229909b42ed89ff317793de5d5f956d
MD5 (LOCAL.MIX) = cb492b7df9b5c170d7c87527940eff3b
MD5 (Logo.VQA) = c1df8a3f5f8f3d99c0f122b40cd22807
MD5 (Logo.VQP) = c2cd03c802837e28adb2b9c3c3c5d93c
MD5 (MOVIES.MIX) = 259cff394b66a2bad612bd080d4f77de
MD5 (README.WRI) = 1d97812a318d6219cebe7194756c6f46
MD5 (REGISTER.EXE) = b93762a9b6cc5e67cec291ddf796482e
MD5 (RESLIB.DLL) = 2563e31b5f4702f5ca7cfdb1bfbdccbb
MD5 (SCORES.MIX) = ea8dc55de79faa1c3898c8fda0c9786d
MD5 (SOUNDS.MIX) = c04c59faedbb52dab673953b4c7aaa5d
MD5 (SPEECH.MIX) = 03503f68a1738a8ddf5138ae04cd36b2
MD5 (TEMPERAT.MIX) = 1b854f50e6bd8e086a975c66ddf54c38
MD5 (TEMPICNH.MIX) = ce1b049d7764bf60f878d4fe99f6c4f9
MD5 (THIPX16.DLL) = e12fb371c3f90a422f774a6c67a72c59
MD5 (THIPX32.DLL) = 9f6ba036ed491af7fbada6dcfdece71f
MD5 (TRANSIT.MIX) = 6cf61431f99c0ce3b93d954c70553823
MD5 (UPDATE.MIX) = 6ad32b7444865382267f0ee5af2178a3
MD5 (UPDATEC.MIX) = 59615ed09ad59fe3b5524093a8638f66
MD5 (VERSION.TXT) = 933222b19ff3e7ea5f65517ea1f7d57e
MD5 (WINTER.MIX) = ba7c96e069fc384c511181266e1dbc64
MD5 (WINTICNH.MIX) = f34af43bbb7ff719d38b699f20468702
MD5 (how2use.pdf) = 5d0b4484b230ba5bd0a3e63c6c737bfc
MD5 (keys.pdf) = 498f0bd854aed51dd01c786c0aaa9151
MD5 (main.pdf) = 48d8429aa7654f1a8b8ba49125f221d6
MD5 (manual.pdf) = 0ee93b333244bea5e6754567c52f9009
MD5 (vanillatd) = 6aee76a5907ea899173f39fe527f5b8d
MD5 (vanillatd.nro) = 00e4bdb6a53b9936eec06bfaa2073965
 

OmniBlade

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 17, 2020
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
52
XP
83
Country
United States
Hello, I'm one of the main devs working on Vanilla Conquer and I must say I'm amazed someone picked it up this quickly to develop a switch port after we more or less finished the SDL2 linux port work given we haven't even promoted the project beyond the C&C modding community yet.

We haven't even implemented a proper no-cd solution yet to allow copying data from both discs and allowing access to both campaigns. You should only need the *.MIX files from the CD's but to have everything available as the code currently stands you will need to merge the contents of some of the mix files that differ between discs.
 

Purple_Shyguy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2008
Messages
1,771
Trophies
1
Age
32
Location
Republic of Ireland
XP
3,059
Country
System Shock and C&C in last 24 hours!

Amazing work.
M9Tpo88iE.png
 

capsterx

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2020
Messages
147
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
436
Country
United States
Wow! Merci!

Btw, all the Red Alert, Tiberian Dawn and Remastered games are supported am I right?

PS: could you please post MD5 and size of files that are needed to run it, 'cause I've got a black screen trying to start the game (my Command & Conquer version is Gold v1.06c rev3).

Posted a Red Alert version, lightly tested, it did not "just work" but I think I got it hacked around enough.
 
  • Like
Reactions: mathew77

capsterx

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2020
Messages
147
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
436
Country
United States
Red Alert was my first rts game, I was asking for a console port since forever, you rock sir!

One of mine also, but I didnt have the computer to handle it, or the money, so i transfered it disk by dis
Red Alert was my first rts game, I was asking for a console port since forever, you rock sir!

The people who made Vanilla-Conquer (https://github.com/TheAssemblyArmada/Vanilla-Conquer/graphs/contributors) are the real heros, I just made tweaks to their code.
 

capsterx

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2020
Messages
147
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
436
Country
United States
@capsterx I'm getting "an error has ocurred, closing software" with RA
I copy MAIN.MIX from CD1 and the files you pointed https://www.moddb.com/games/cc-red-alert/downloads/red-alert-303-beta-english-patch into CD1 and CD2.

Here is what I have
MD5 (./CD2/HIRES1.MIX) = e433a0eede6af2d904e35106d37aa160
MD5 (./CD2/MAIN.MIX) = ea710c4e61896e5347f31158b30f9ad4
MD5 (./CD2/CD_LABEL) = f4d422c43598179451595e3a4b4ac736
MD5 (./CD2/EXPAND.MIX) = 336eaf636e7c0b9022987cec5521873d
MD5 (./CD2/REDALERT.MIX) = 7debf2e9480f64984eb8f93d6ff80af3
MD5 (./CD2/LORES1.MIX) = 5fd3503f58da678f96cfc5e36f5c74e0
MD5 (./CD2/AUD.MIX) = 0553c90b6015f48c41d1cf587777f88c
MD5 (./CD2/SETUP.MIX) = 2761b266dfd1875baa82adbd7777105b
MD5 (./CD2/EXPAND2.MIX) = 71acb2e797ffb2a8382dd360a44a781e
MD5 (./CD2/WOLAPI.MIX) = 4aca2343c04aa29091f1ba620dc17ced
MD5 (./CD1/HIRES1.MIX) = e433a0eede6af2d904e35106d37aa160
MD5 (./CD1/MAIN.MIX) = 2efce9daf9c169d945b9110705fa83ae
MD5 (./CD1/CD_LABEL) = d9ec58e3c0928d74555ec5d0117fc518
MD5 (./CD1/EXPAND.MIX) = 336eaf636e7c0b9022987cec5521873d
MD5 (./CD1/REDALERT.MIX) = 7debf2e9480f64984eb8f93d6ff80af3
MD5 (./CD1/LORES1.MIX) = 5fd3503f58da678f96cfc5e36f5c74e0
MD5 (./CD1/AUD.MIX) = 0553c90b6015f48c41d1cf587777f88c
MD5 (./CD1/SETUP.MIX) = 2761b266dfd1875baa82adbd7777105b
MD5 (./CD1/EXPAND2.MIX) = 71acb2e797ffb2a8382dd360a44a781e
MD5 (./CD1/WOLAPI.MIX) = 4aca2343c04aa29091f1ba620dc17ced
MD5 (./vanillara.nro) = 2032176b51c68a31e619360816ee7fef
MD5 (./REDALERT.INI) = bd683a1c204e1284995f36f537985a0d
 

cucholix

00000780 00000438
Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
2,989
Trophies
1
Age
42
XP
4,357
Country
Chile
Mmhhh still crashes the app, "an error has ocurred, closing software" :/
I'm using full access, not applet mode, atmosphere 0.16.1.
Disabled all sys-modules but still crashes...

Attached crash logs
 

Attachments

  • ams_logs.rar
    3.7 KB · Views: 178
Last edited by Issac,

capsterx

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2020
Messages
147
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
436
Country
United States
Mmhhh still crashes the app, "an error has ocurred, closing software" :/
I'm using full access, not applet mode, atmosphere 0.16.1.
Disabled all sys-modules but still crashes...

Attached crash logs

The best way to help me diagnose this would be to run it via nxlink. https://devkitpro.org/wiki/Getting_Started
On osx I run
/opt/devkitpro/tools/bin/nxlink -a <switch ip> -s vanillara.nro

I dont know how it works in windows but I assume it's similarish.

Im running 10.1.0|AMS 0.14.4|E in emmunand mode.
 

cucholix

00000780 00000438
Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
2,989
Trophies
1
Age
42
XP
4,357
Country
Chile
The best way to help me diagnose this would be to run it via nxlink. https://devkitpro.org/wiki/Getting_Started
On osx I run
/opt/devkitpro/tools/bin/nxlink -a <switch ip> -s vanillara.nro

I dont know how it works in windows but I assume it's similarish.

Im running 10.1.0|AMS 0.14.4|E in emmunand mode.
I get
Code:
C:\>nxlink.exe -s vanillara.nro
pinging switchSending vanillara.nro, 9559646 bytes
3545008 sent (37.08%), 301 blocks
starting server
server active ...
connected to hostd
init finished
Run SETUP program first.
 

capsterx

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2020
Messages
147
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
436
Country
United States
I get
Code:
C:\>nxlink.exe -s vanillara.nro
pinging switchSending vanillara.nro, 9559646 bytes
3545008 sent (37.08%), 301 blocks
starting server
server active ...
connected to hostd
init finished
Run SETUP program first.

Do you have a file sdmc:/switch/redalert/REDALERT.INI ?
 

cucholix

00000780 00000438
Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
2,989
Trophies
1
Age
42
XP
4,357
Country
Chile
Do you have a file sdmc:/switch/redalert/REDALERT.INI ?
Yes, it's
Code:
[Intro]
PlayIntro=no

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Wait, I got another dump
Code:
C:\>nxlink.exe -s vanillara.nro
pinging switchSending vanillara.nro, 9559646 bytes
3545008 sent (37.08%), 301 blocks
starting server
server active ...
connected to hostd
init finished
8 joysticks on system
  - joystick 0 (controller) : Switch Controller
  - joystick 1 (controller) : Switch Controller
  - joystick 2 (controller) : Switch Controller
  - joystick 3 (controller) : Switch Controller
  - joystick 4 (controller) : Switch Controller
  - joystick 5 (controller) : Switch Controller
  - joystick 6 (controller) : Switch Controller
  - joystick 7 (controller) : Switch Controller
thread running
Unable to load key mapping
exiting ...
 

capsterx

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2020
Messages
147
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
436
Country
United States
Yes, it's
Code:
[Intro]
PlayIntro=no

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Wait, I got another dump
Code:
C:\>nxlink.exe -s vanillara.nro
pinging switchSending vanillara.nro, 9559646 bytes
3545008 sent (37.08%), 301 blocks
starting server
server active ...
connected to hostd
init finished
8 joysticks on system
  - joystick 0 (controller) : Switch Controller
  - joystick 1 (controller) : Switch Controller
  - joystick 2 (controller) : Switch Controller
  - joystick 3 (controller) : Switch Controller
  - joystick 4 (controller) : Switch Controller
  - joystick 5 (controller) : Switch Controller
  - joystick 6 (controller) : Switch Controller
  - joystick 7 (controller) : Switch Controller
thread running
Unable to load key mapping
exiting ...

Ah, that is a bug, it crashes when it cant find the key mapping. Though it's not very useful without one.
The kemap is located in sdmc:/switch/cnc/keymap.keys
due to a shared codebase and I have not separated them out yet. It should be in the package zip.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: https://youtu.be/Ueu-y2rE16k